Labs

So here are the lab results I’ve received so far:

Test Me Range
T3 Uptake 32 24-39
T4 7.9 4.5 – 12.0
Free T4 0.94 0.76 ‑ 1.46
Free Thyroxine Index 2.5 1.2 – 4.9
TSH 1.68 0.358 ‑ 3.74
Cortisol 12.8 2.3 – 19.4
TPO 8 0-34
Antithyroglobulin Ab <20 0-40
Glucose 98 65-99
Cholesterol, Total 222 100-199
Triglicerides 107 0-149
LDL Cholesterol 147 0-99
HDL Cholesterol 54 >39
Vitamin D 34.2 30-100
HS C-Reactive Protein 8.65 0-3.00

So I’m obviously no expert when it comes to interpreting this stuff, and I only have about 10 minutes before I have to go to work.  But here’s what I’ve surmised so far:

My thyroid appears to be functioning normally.  The TPO and Antithyroglobulin Ab test indicate that I test negative for Hashimoto’s or other autoimmune thyroid problems. Since my thyroid seems to be ok, I’m guessing it’s stress/adrenal fatigue/high cortisol causing the hypothyroid symptoms I have.  I’m still waiting for my hormone panel, including 4x/day cortisol testing.  Hopefully that will show up soon.

My total cholesterol has improved since it was last tested 2 weeks prior (no…I don’t plan on testing my cholesterol every 2 weeks…it just worked out that way!).  But seriously, it dropped from 238 to 222 in 14 days of eating meat and fat!  My LDL dropped from 165 to 147.  That’s an 11% drop in the “bad” cholesterol in 2 weeks!  HDL is up a bit too.

I love knowing the truth about saturated fat!

Ok, but that’s where the good news ends.

Vitamin D is on the very low end of normal, and that’s with supplementing about 3000 IU/day for the last month or so.  I’ll be upping it to 10K units.

And the worst news…my HS CRP – 8.65.  That’s some serious inflammation!  Anything over 3.00 is highly correlated with heart disease.  I guess I’m about to keel over from a coronary right now!  I wish I had a baseline from before I started the Leptin Rx…this might actually represent an improvement from where I started.  I know other markers of inflammation are coming down (blood sugar, cholesterol), so this may have been really out of control 2 months ago.  In any case, I need to get that number down.  I’ll be continuing to address possible leaky gut issues and increase Omega 3 and seafood.

Would like to stay here and talk about my blood all day.  Must go to work.

3 thoughts on “Labs

  1. Your Trigs to HDL ratio isn’t bad, so it’s mostly light/fluffy HDL. Figure 10 ng/dl per 1000 IU for Vit-D. HS-CRP. Hard to tell the main cause, but leaky gut quite possibly. Probably follow his leaky gut Rx. Only other advice is CT. Also, he’d say no nightshades till HDL >70. Dairy/Casein could also cause autoimmune inflammation in some people. Up anti-inflammatories like Green Tea, Tumeric, Omega-3, Vitamins B,C,D,E, K2, etc.

  2. I do need to look into more antiinflammatories…I’m doing everything else except CT. That may be next. My 8 week experiment is almost up!

Leave a Reply

