Bulletproof

OMG.  I just tried Bulletproof Coffee.

It’s fabulous!

Here’s the recipe, quoted from Dave Asprey’s site:

Recipe

  • Start with 500 ml (2 mugs) of black coffee brewed with mold-free beans (important)
  • Add 2 Tbs (or more, I prefer 80 grams, about 2/3 of a standard stick of butter) of Kerry Gold or other UNSALTED grass-fed butter
  • Add 30 grams of MCT oil for max energy, weight loss and brain function (optional if you have none)
  • Blend with a pre-heated hand blender, Magic Bullet, or (best) counter top blender until there is a creamy head of foam

For other dumb Americans (like myself) who are easily confused by the metric system,  here’s what I put into it:

  • 2 mugs of black coffee (I ordered the mold-free beans but until I get them I’m just using whatever coffee is in my kitchen.  Hard to believe this could actually get better.)
  • 3 Tbs unsalted grass-fed butter
  • 2 Tbs coconut oil

After drinking half of it I reblended the remainder with about a teaspoon of cocoa powder and 1/2 teaspoon of Truvia (erythritol).  It was even more like a gourmet coffee drink with these added, but I probably won’t use them in the future, as I liked the regular recipe just as much.

How come the butter and oil don’t separate from the coffee?

It was delightful.

Leave a Reply

