Learning the Hard Way

Had CB #15 on Saturday.  It was 61 deg F going in, 63 when I came out after 30 minutes, with skin temps of 64.  It felt cold…started shivering at about 20-25 minutes.  It’s not as much fun when I shiver in the water.  It wasn’t too bad warming up afterwards though – took an hour total, I think.  I think this is the first time I’ve actually shivered in the water…I have shivered after the tub a few times.

So we got our ice problems solved, I think.  Bought a freezer on Craigs List for $100 – David drove about an hour and a half each way to get it, and then brought it home and cleaned it up for me.  Love that man.  Anyway, it’s big enough to hold lots of gallons of water.  I figure I’ll freeze 5 or 6 gallons and put them in the tub in the morning – then it’ll be nice and cold when I get home from work.  It’s time to get the tub down to 50 deg.  At the price of bagged ice, this thing will pay for itself in 25 days.  Plus I can use it to store meat that I buy in bulk and hopefully pay less for it per pound.

Yesterday I felt like crap.  I tried to follow the Dave Asprey Bulletproof Coffee plan – nothing but coffee in the morning. I even have Dave’s Upgraded Coffee beans to give it a real test.  Drank 2 big mugs of the stuff, with lots of butter and coconut oil in it…and I was hungry an hour later.  Didn’t bother waiting till lunch…I just ate, because I wasn’t about to be hungry for 5 or 6 hours.  Even after eating I felt like eating more.  I ate a bunch of stupid junk like an entire 86% chocolate bar (like 3 oz) and some french fries.  I have no interest in eating a bunch of crap normally anymore…this experience really supports the power of the BAB.  Back on track this morning – 9oz of pastured pork and mushrooms sauteed in ghee.  Ah…I feel much better.  No more coffee for breakfast.  I don’t care what’s in it.

I’ve gotten sloppy lately by eating dairy (cheese – a few oz a week) and regular butter, as well as onions and other nightshades on occasion.  I need to stop that.  I felt sick to my stomach yesterday.  Just meat and veggies for a while.  I think I’ll even cut out the recreational coconut oil/cream for a little while.

Dr. K says that when you’re Leptin Sensitive it doesn’t matter how many calories you eat because your body will get rid of the excess through heat.  It does matter how many calories you eat when you’re Leptin Resistant, however, as the body isn’t that efficient.  Colder water, fewer overall calories.  These are my immediate goals for now.  I have a lot of damage to undo, and I believe these to be the right way to do it.

6 thoughts on “Learning the Hard Way

  1. LANIE!!!! WHAT were you thinking?? Just because Dave Asprey can go on only butter for breakfast doesn’t mean YOU can! LOL, honestly girl!

    Now then, you get right back in line with Dr. K. {{hugs}}

    /lecture mode

    OTOH isn’t that buttered coffee to DIE for? The first week I fixed it that way I was drinking 3 mugs a day with 4TBS butter in each one. mmmmm mmmmmm mmmmmmmmm

    I’m now down to 1 or 2 a day. Usually just one.

    I’m finding that I can eat lots of fat with no problem. BPC for breakfast along with eggs & bacon, a whole avocado at lunch, olives with dinner. I’m lovin’ this!

  2. I know! I guess I forgot just how crappy I can possibly feel so I decided to remind myself! Well…lesson learned. And yes, the BPC is truly yum. Thanks for the {{hugs}}!

  3. Thanks, BenG! I love weight loss shows, even though they piss me off. I just heard about this one on NPR but hadn’t managed to look it up yet – so thanks for the link!

  4. Yeah, I guess I didn’t expect much when I saw that Kaiser Permanente and the US government were producing it…but still I love documentaries. Every now and then I like to be reminded about what the common man thinks. Maybe not for 4 hours though.

Leave a Reply

