More Steps

Got my labs drawn yesterday.  I don’t know if they’ll be covered by insurance.  It doesn’t matter.  I don’t understand insurance.  If labs are drawn by the clinic I go to for my primary care but are ordered by a doctor who may or may not be covered, then are the labs covered?  I don’t know.  I figure I’ll be notified if I owe some dough.

Sorry for my extremely whiny post yesterday.  I have been feeling sick and run down this week.  I was diagnosed with Asthma 10 years ago and have had very few issues with it over the last 3 years or so…but this week I’m having a hard time breathing.  I thought I was getting sick but all it is is trouble breathing.  I brushed the dust off of my Albuterol inhaler yesterday and using it seemed to help, so I’m wondering if I’m having an allergic reaction to something.  I do live in farm country and we haven’t had much rain.  Could be lots of dust in the air.  All I know is if I can’t breathe nothing feels right.  I’ve arranged to take a day off work this week to get caught up on other things and to rest.

It occurs to me that if I start hormone therapy I won’t be able to do CT for quite a while.  The PA will be monitoring my hormone levels for 2-3 months at least, and it’s going to cloud the picture if I’m releasing extra estrogen into my system via CT.  Well, that’s ok I guess.  I miss doing it but also I suspect my cold tolerance will be better when my hormones are optimal.

In the interest of adrenal recovery, I borrowed an emWave from a friend so I can try out biofeedback.  I’ve experimented with it just a little in past years, but never with any real intention or motivation behind it.  Now that I know what my health issues are I feel very motivated to fix them.  Stress and cortisol management are clearly among them.

I’ve been reading lately that hormonal problems can lead to fatigue, as can adrenal/cortisol issues.  My energy picked up quite a bit just by doing the Leptin Reset.  Before I could barely scrape myself off the couch after work, and always needed a nap.  If I couldn’t take a nap for whatever reason I would just cry with frustration.  Now it’s better but I still wish I could just lie around a lot more than I do.  My husband thinks it’s normal to feel that way when you have  2-year old and a job.  I think it might be typical, but that doesn’t mean it’s normal.  Previous generations were busy all day long finding food, cooking, cleaning, and teaching and raising their kids instead of plopping them in front of the TV.  There’s a certain level of energy that human beings should have but don’t, and we don’t even question it.  I want to have energy all day long and feel lit up about life. I don’t want to need caffeine to function.

The PA emailed me yesterday to let me know she’ll contact me after she receives my labs.  I appreciated that, and I’m very glad she’s open to communicating via email.  I was so busy complaining yesterday that I forgot to mention, I did really like the PA.  She seems to be confident she can help me, and in fact was in the same situation when she was my age, about 5 years ago.  I’m looking forward to working with her.

Leave a Reply

