Labs and Docs

I thought first off I’d share my most recent hormone labs, ordered by the PA in the interest of getting baseline data before BHRT.

Here they are:

Reference Range
Lab Me Follicular Mid-Cycle Luteal Post-Menopausal
Progesterone <0.5 <1.0  2.6-21.5 <0.5
Estradiol 66 19-44 64-357 56-214 < or = 31
Lutenizing Hormone (LH) 11.5 1.9-12.5 8.7-76.3 0.5-16.9 10-54.7
Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH) 21.5 2.5-10.2 3.1-17.7 1.5-9.1 23-116.3

Also:

Lab Me Ref.
Testosterone 10 (2-45)

So clearly I’m a lay person and don’t know what all this means, but here’s what I’ve learned so far via Google:

  • I’m probably not far from menopause (as Dr. K. said).  Check out that FSH – that’s almost menopausal!  Apparently the higher your FSH is, the fewer number and lower quality eggs you have left.  When I got pregnant with my daughter my FSH was 3.5.  And I was struggling with infertility back then.
  • My Progesterone is non-existent this month and these were drawn on Day 17 of my cycle.  Typically women ovulate around day 14.  The non-progesterone indicates either I didn’t ovulate this month (cuz I’m old and peri-menopausal and apparently women shoot blanks for a while before menopause) or I hadn’t yet ovulated.  I was wrong yesterday when I said my cycle started (I know, right? Don’t you think I would be able to tell that?  It was just spotting.)  Soo..long story short, I don’t know if I was pre-ovulatory when this test was done or if I was non-ovulatory this past cycle.
  • Estrogen is in the very-low normal range for mid-cycle (which is probably where I was).
  • Testosterone is about normal (not high, which would be expected if I had PCOS.  I don’t seem to meet the diagnostic criteria.)

Well, that’s about it.  I’m waiting for the PA to call me.  Still.  Maybe I’ll call her today.  My email prompt yesterday did nothing.

My husband is still waiting for his email consult results from Dr. K.  I think they were misplaced or overlooked.  The turnaround time was supposed to be 24 hours.  Dr. K. needs a better business manager.  Or he needs to check his email.

I’m getting tired of everything again.  I need some hormones.  And some cortisol.  I wish my entire endocrine system wasn’t so broken and exhausted.

Plus, I’m still coughing.  This has been going on for 2 weeks now.  I’m going to the doc today, if she can see me.  That primary care physician should be good for something, right?

3 thoughts on “Labs and Docs

  1. Hang in there. One day hopefully we will get to “normal”. Looking forward to it.

  2. Yeah. My initial elation at seeing the success stories at MDA turned to despair as I was getting nowhere. Exercise (even 10 minutes) would just exhaust me and burn me out and just eating paleo wasnt doing much either. On a positive note joint pains have disappeared completely. One small victory. Hope renewed after reading Jacks blog.

Leave a Reply

