Paleo + Juicing: Day 1

Breakfast: 5 oz salmon and 3 eggs cooked in coconut oil.

Lunch: Mean Green juice from Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead

Recipe:

  • 6 Kale Leaves
  • 1 Cucumber
  • 4 Celery Stalks
  • 1 Green Apples (reduced from 2, which is the original recipe from Joe’s movie)
  • 1/2 Lemon
  • 1 piece of ginger

Mmmm…green goodness.

Dinner: Red Tornado Juice:

  • 3 tomatos
  • 1 red pepper
  • 1/4 small red onion
  • 1/2 lime
  • 2 stalks celery
  • 1 cucumber

I did get hungry around 7 and ate about 3-4 oz tuna.  I don’t see any reason to be hungry.  I think my objective will be to get in 2 pints of vegetable juice daily, and I’m going to stop eating after dinner.  But hunger sucks.

 

 

8 thoughts on “Paleo + Juicing: Day 1

  1. Jack never said you should go hungry. I see a lot of people on his forum complaining about hunger while on the leptin Rx. He never said you SHOULD skip meals but that if you weren’t hungry it was OK to skip. When I read one of those posts I want to bang my head on my keyboard.

    What he actually said was that if one is leptin resistant then you should NOT SNACK. He never said you should go hungry. If you eat enough BAB it should get you through 4 to 5 hours until next meal. Same thing with that meal. If you get hungry between you are not eating enough.

    I don’t get why people need to make things so complicated.

    That’s all just my way of saying for crying out loud if you are hungry EAT!!! 🙂

  2. I know Jack never said you should go hungry. This was more a conversation with myself. I’m glad you’re feeling better, Darleen. You do appear to have come alive. 🙂

  3. On the subject of hunger, though….

    Darleen, after reading your blog I’m amazed at how little you eat. If I ate that quantity of food I’d be starving most days. Different health problems cause different symptoms (obviously) – you don’t seem to have health problems that cause hypoglycemia. I do. If I go too long without eating or if I don’t eat enough at a meal my day is likely to be awful in about 3 hours…and I bring others down with me. Hunger is a big part of my symptom profile, and probably is for those others you refer to on the forum. The fact that one experiences hunger does not necessarily mean one didn’t understand the program. Blood sugar management is harder for some of us (me) than others (you). I need to eat about 10 oz (80g) of red meat at breakfast to make it 6 or 7 hous without eating. I need to do that again at lunch. And there’s dinner too – never got to a point where 2 meals were enough. That’s a lot of food, and it pisses me off I need to eat so much to feel ok. Sometimes, for example when the work crew goes out for lunch, it’s difficult to find 10 oz of meat without looking like a complete pig (I’ll have 3 whoppers please…). Judge not, my friend. We don’t share all the same struggles.

  4. Lanie how about you add some coconut milk to the juice to combat hunger? If you are hungry on paleo I think you may not be as ketogenic as you think you are. Use ketosticks to check if you are. You might need less protein and more fat. Hunger levels are usually low when you are running on full bore ketosis.

  5. I could try less protein and more fat…though I’m sure I’ve done that. I was eating coconut oil off a spoon for weeks at a time back in March and April, asking for the fattiest cuts of meat, etc. Anyway, I’m combating the hunger for now by adding more food. I didn’t initially plan it this way, but if my goal is just to evaluate the effect of adding micronutrients, I don’t need to go without anything – the juice is an addition, not a substitution for food. Trying this for now. If no change, maybe I’ll go higher fat lower protein and see what happens.

  6. Wow, N2P – that’s a great video. I’m totally that guy doing beginner yoga! I’m gonna go paste this on Facebook. Thank you. You and the others who comment here have been so immensely helpful to me.

  7. Pingback: Everyday Paleo Lifestyle

Leave a Reply

