Virgin Diet – Day 4

For the first time this week I really wanted carbs today.  I suspect this is related to drinking wine last night.  Didn’t give in though – still adhering closely to the rules of the Virgin Diet.  I have learned a couple of things about myself in the last few days.

I’ve always loved sushi – today I found out it’s not nearly as delicious when it’s not drenched in soy sauce (which is made of wheat and soy – 2 items banned by this diet).  Still good though, but not head-exploding good as it usually is for me.  Also, I learned that when I accidentally let my blood sugar get too low it takes me a long time to recover and for the next several hours – even after eating and after feeling relatively full – my appetite stays high.  A couple days ago it was 5 or 6 hours after breakfast – I was enjoying not thinking much about food and just sort of let it ride and skipped lunch.  Then around 3PM my blood sugar dropped quickly and I felt ravenous.  I was at a store and there was nothing on-plan to eat with me or in my car.  I was feeling pretty bad by the time I actually got to eat – my blood sugar had dropped further and I was really irritable.  I ate shrimp and vegetables and a broth-based soup – enough that I should have been full…but I just wanted to keep eating.  I ate probably the equivalent of another dinner over the next several hours – I just felt driven to keep eating.  It was like my body was programmed to stock up to avoid the inevitable next famine.   Anyway, I stayed on plan with everything I ate, and the next day the scale was the same.  If I had eaten even one piece of bread though, I know it would have all been stored as fat.

The scale today was down another pound – so that’s 2 pounds since I started this, and I’m not attempting to eat low carb/ketogenic/low salt – I’m just avoiding those 7 foods.  I’m eating rice and potatoes and drinking wine.  The loss today could be dehydration from drinking wine last night, so we’ll see what happens tomorrow.

So far it’s a tentative thumbs up for the Virgin Diet.

What I’ve eaten today:

Breakfast: Wild-caught salmon fillet sauteed in coconut oil and 1/2 of an avocado.

Lunch: 2 grass-fed hot dogs with dijon mustard

Snack: sushi (minus soy sauce but with rice and wasabi)

All I drink is water.  I do use caffeine pills – not the greatest thing ever if you have adrenal fatigue, but I don’t care.  I take in the equivalent most days of one cup of coffee.  I actually think my adrenal fatigue is getting better.  When I was in California and for the first few weeks after getting back here I had a very hard time getting out of bed in the morning.  Now it’s much easier – closer to how it was before we went West. I also get tired earlier at night.  This indicates to me that my cortisol is higher in the morning and lower at night again.  So things seem to be turning around for the better.

3 thoughts on “Virgin Diet – Day 4

  1. Cool! I never really knew what Tamari Sauce was. Coconut Aminos is also really good – but I don’t have any at the moment.

  2. I’m on day 4 of phase 1. I’m hungry most of the time but I’m drinking more water. I have coffee, but no cream/milk, but I use Truvia in it. I’m learning to like unsweetened coconut and almond milk, mm! I didn’t know I can have sushi, thanks!!

Leave a Reply

