Changes to Come

“The only constant in life is change.”- Heraclitus, Greek philosopher

Today is my 44th birthday.  I’ll be spending the day packing, and tomorrow we’re moving again…to Wisconsin this time.

My health isn’t great.  My weight is the highest it’s ever been – 204.

I’ve got cortisol testing in the works, and I predict it’ll tell me my adrenal fatigue has advanced since the last time I tested it.  I’m tired all the time.  I thought things were getting better since I quit that ridiculous job in California, and they probably have. Back in February I was having trouble getting out of bed.  Now I’m just generally lethargic most of the day.

I have a 3 year old and can’t afford to be lethargic.  I grew up with depressed parents.  I don’t want to do that to my daughter.  I don’t want her to feel like she’s not worth playing with.  I also don’t want her to lose out on experiences to grow and learn because I didn’t have the energy to leave the house.

I’ve tried multiple times to get back to eating Paleo and to follow the Leptin Rx again.  It just doesn’t feel good to me anymore.  I feel better now – more energy – when I eat some carbs. I suspect this has something to do with thyroid function.  Maybe ketogenic is just not for me.  Or maybe it is for me, in conjunction with thyroid medication or iodine supplementation.  I plan on trying one or both of those, depending on my Adrenal function tests.  My T3 was on the low end of normal, and Stop The Thyroid Madness recommends keeping it in the upper quartile of the range.  Apparently some people use T3 to treat low adrenal function too.  So maybe that’s the direction I’ll go at some point.

My husband asked me what I wanted for my birthday.  I told him “A 23 and Me test!”  So that’s on the way too.

I know this post sounds a little negative.  I’m tired.  But still optimistic.

6 thoughts on “Changes to Come

  1. Happy birthday!!! Your thyroid numbers are much better than the previous one. Your reverse T3 has come down. I dont think its your thyroid anymore. Lets see what the diurnal cortisol shows up.

  2. Thanks N2P 🙂 I agree. I think that’ll be telling. I realized something today – I’ve been hoping it’s thyroid and not adrenal problems because I’m really not sure if there’s anything that can be done about the adrenals. I’m afraid I’ll have to give up caffeine – the only thing that keeps me going right now. I’ll just have to hope there’s more to treating adrenal fatigue than I know right now.

  3. Happy birthday Lanie!

    I don’t know if this will help but here’s what I decided to do.

    I don’t care what anyone in the paleosphere says, calories DO count. Just not the way most people think they do. So I decided to go back to Atkins. I’m using MyPlate from livestrong.com to track what I eat. I’ve set my base goals at 1200 calories per day and (from FOOD)

    90g fat
    75g protein
    30g carbs

    I do NOT include any ADDED fat such as from my bullet proof coffee which, with 2 TBS butter and 2 TBS high octane MCT oil is about 460 calories (50g) of fat all by itself. If I make tuna or chicken salad with mayo I ignore the mayo (although I don’t drown the salad in it, by any means).

    Since I started doing this last week I’ve dropped 4 pounds. Too bad I’ve gotten a jones going for ice cream because even the sugar free stuff makes me retain water and I went back up a pound because of it. naughty me. But it appears to be the right way to go. I just haven’t been able to quite get my protein up where I want it.

    I have to play games with myself on MyPlate so I don’t freak out … I never add in the BPC until the end of the day. My totals have stayed below 1600 since I started doing this.

    I don’t know if this would work for you or not. I think Paleo is ok but really, Atkins had it right. some of us just cannot handle carbs … I figured I didn’t need to do induction since I’ve not had grains or sugar (well 99.9% of the time on the sugar) for nearly 2 years. I just skipped to OWL (ongoing weight loss) which starts you at 30g carbs per day. THAT is the hard part.

    for example … omg it’s summer and cherries are coming into season. I could eat a pound of them without a second thought. ARGH. I limited myself to TWELVE this morning with breakfast. That was 17g of carbs right there. Then I was naughty and had one of the Mexican coconut bars as a snack which I shouldn’t have done, knew I shouldn’t have and knew I shouldn’t have bought them. So that makes my daily total plus a couple extra. No more carbs for me today.

    So there’s my new attempt. The leptin reset? Bullshit. total bullshit. You DO know that Jack lost that weight simply by switching to a meat based diet. Did you see the personal story on Mark’s Daily apple last week? another guy lost a similar amount of weight by … eating paleo. As I read his story I saw he also kept a close watch on how much he ate.

    That’s when I realized it’s super easy to overeat. Too damned easy. I’m finding I’m not hungry most of the time … I’m bored or (usually) tired. Which is why tracking calories is helping me control things.

    HTH.

  4. Well, firstly I wish you a happy birthday a little late but; problems with thyroid are product of adrenal fatigue so its important to firstly address the adrenal fatigue and heal adrenals before treating thyroid. In your case as I see your primary problem is adrenal fatigue but it started to effect thyroid a bit, anyways when you’ll heal adrenals your thyroid levels will be completely normal. Well about treating adrenals, important thing is to avoid food that has high levels of potassium – such a potatoes (that is why you feel worse after the potato diet), bananas, figs, plums, raisins etc. Potassium levels rise by itself cause kidneys extract sodium with urine when you have adrenal fatigue. I suggest you to take 500 mg of Vitamin C in the morning with high protein food such as eggs and whole wheat bread to have also carbs balanced. Eat frequent small meals high in protein like chicken meat and slow digesting carbs food like whole wheat bread along with vegetables. Also importantly go to bed before 11 pm and try to sleep in the morning till 9 am as many times as possible. When you’ll start feeling a bit better try to go on short walk 10-15 minutes or ride stationary bike at light pace, as adrenal glands need a bit of stimulation also to heal. I wish you all the best with your recovery.

Leave a Reply

