One Blog

Ok, back to having only one blog.  And all is right with the world.

I have many things on my mind today.  Most importantly, numbers. Labs.  I wanted to get a lipid panel done because I think I’m at a unique time in my life where my stress level is unusually low.  I’m working part time from home (like, 10-15 hours per week) and I’m a mom to a preschooler, but aside from that my stress is gone.  For the first time in my adult life I’m not working full time or pursuing a degree.  I get to spend 4 days a week doing nothing but playing with a 3-year old.  And the other 3 days I do a job from my living room that I actually enjoy.

Stress had a significant impact on my thyroid labs, sending my rT3 into orbit last November.  I was wondering if stress was also having an impact on my cholesterol, triglycerides, and c-reactive protein (hs-CRP).  If you’ll remember, my hs-CRP was ridiculously high back then.  It was over 8, whereas a “normal” or acceptable reading is less than 3.  What does that mean?  It means my body is inflamed.  And that I’m at high risk for heart disease.

Well I got some lab results today.

Check it out:

3/27/2012 11/14/2012 9/6/2013
Ref
Glucose 98 98 117 mg/dL 65-99
Uric Acid, Serum 5.9 5.2 5.4 mg/dL 2.5-7.1
BUN 19 25 18 mg/dL 6-24
Creatinine, Serum 0.69 0.73 0.57 mg/dL .57-1.00
eGFR 108 101 113 mg/dL >59
BUN/Creatinine Ratio 28 34 32 HIGH 9-23
Sodium, Serum 138 139 139 mmol/L 134-144
Potassium, Serum 3.8 3.8 4.5 mmol/L 3.5-5.2
Chloride, Serum 103 104 103 mmol/L 97-108
Calcium, Serum 9.3 9.2 9.4 mg/dL 8.7-10.2
Phosphorus, Serum 3.6 4.1 4 mg/dL 2.5-4.5
Protein, Total, Serum 6.8 6.9 7.2 g/dL 6.0-8.5
Albumin, Serum 4.3 4.4 4.4 g/dL 3.5-5.5
Globulin, Total 2.5 2.5 2.8 g/dL 1.5-4.5
A/G Ratio 1.7 1.8 1.6 1.1-2.5
Bilirubin, Total 0.2 0.3 0.3 mg/dL 0.0-1.2
Alkaline Phosphatase, S 63 64 70 IU/L 25-150
LDH 142 137 137 IU/L 0-214
AST (SGOT) 20 14 12 IU/L 0-40
ALT (SGPT) 25 17 18 IU/L 0-32
GGT 14 14 27 IU/L 0-60
Iron, Serum 66 81 116 ug/dL 35-155
Cholesterol, Total 222 297 270 mg/dL HIGH 100-199
Triglycerides 107 203 288 mg/dL HIGH 0-149
HDL Cholesterol 54 56 43 mg/dL >39
VLDL Cholesterol Cal 41 58 mg/dL HIGH 5-40
LDL Cholesterol Calc 147 200 169 mg/dL HIGH 0-99
T. Chol/HDL Ratio 4.1 5.3 6.3 HIGH 0.0-4.4
Estimated CHD Risk (Tot. Chol/HDL) 1.4 1.8 HIGH 0.0-1.0
C-Reactive Protein, Cardiac 8.65 8.12 13.58 mg/L HIGH 0.00-3.00

Yeah – check out that hs-CRP now.

13.58.

Yes…the decimal is in the right place.  That says 13.58.

13 point five freaking eight!

Am I on the brink?

(In case I’m speaking in code, that’s really really not good.)

WTF is going on with my body?

Oh and check out those triglycerides.  Awesome.  That’s eating low carb most (but not all) days. I haven’t been tracking religiously but I can tell you I’ve been gluten free for over a month and I probably take in on average 50 or fewer grams of carbohydrate per day. Those trigs are sky-high!  As if I’m living on doughnuts!

What else…HDL is down…not good…and small dense LDL is up….more non-awesomeness.

My metabolism is officially broken.

And did you see that fasting blood glucose?  Yes.  117.

Here’s my current FBG (fasting blood glucose) graph, just cuz I love making graphs:

Untitled1

Juicing seems to be maintaining my blood sugar at a high level. Not. Awesome.

So stress does not seem to be playing a significant role.  It seems I’m completely fucked…even without the stress!

I’m discouraged.

I’m not giving up though.

I’m determined to hack my physiology and find what works.

Tired now…going to bed.

28 thoughts on “One Blog

  1. Just from my perspective … when I reduce carbs to nearly nothing my FBG skyrockets. Like to 185. That’s happened, that I know of, twice now. I am now eating carbs again. As in a salad for lunch or dinner, a serving of fruit at breakfast. That kind of carbs.

    Juicing … is that a lot of fruit you’re juicing? Because that would explain the higher FBG.

    HS-CRP could be from an infection. If it were me I’d be talking to my doc or PA. Maybe get checked to see if you have some kind of auto-immune disorder because that would cause it to go up.

    But honestly, the way your diet has been all over the map this summer I think I’d be looking at that.

    I have given up. No more diets. No more “advice” and no more following what everyone else is doing. No more ketosis strips, no counting fat grams or carb grams. Real food. And surprise surprise surprise. The more I eat like this the more energy I’m having the more I feel like getting off my butt and doing things.

    I am eating. Because NOT eating is my biggest downfall. I’d been skipping meals the last two months because it was hot and my appetite disappears in the heat. That was when I checked my FBG to see how it was and it was 185. Now that I’m eating 3 meals and 2-3 snacks a day it’s been as low as 85 but hovers near 100 because I keep forgetting that bed time snack. The longer I go without eating the higher the number goes.

    As I told my sister … you can’t drive your car if the gas tank is empty.

  2. wowzer. you must be freaking out. Am travelling right now. I will get back to you with my thoughts later. want to give Ray Peat a try? maybe you can get an email consult.

  3. Tell me again why you’re digging on Ray Peat? Has his advice been of benefit to you? I am interested in finding what works for me (of course) but listening to all his podcasts and reading all his articles sounds like a huge task. I went through that with Jack Kruse and I don’t like where that ended up. JK told me if I got my E2/Pg levels up all my problems would be solved. Wrong. Months of research, hundreds of dollars, and a hormonally screwed up body later, and I’m leery about trusting another person who claims to have all the answers. If you think it’s the right way to go I might be convinced though. Travel safe.

  4. the simplicity is very appealing. give the cell glucose thyroid, carbon dioxide, calcium magnesium and let it fix itself. organs come from cells and when cells get better everything gets better. reminds me of when i listen to Ron Paul. very simple and refreshing.after listening to a couple of podcasts i couldnt stop. i listened to them all. i plugged in fructose in the query for glycemic index and saw an answer of less than 20. why was i worried about fructose again? everything he said seemed so common sense. my labs got worse on eating seafood at every meal. now they look stellar on almost no seafood and plenty of milk and orange juice and t3. my head got clear after the food allergy test. thats not a ray peat thing . so far so good. i can follow some recommendations but not all. i am not having milk and orange juice for breakfast. not going to happen but you seem more adventurous.

  5. I’ll tell you my viewpoint of test results and give you a recommendation. Few things are clearly seen and those are your liver and kidneys are very healthy. Your blood sugar swings a bit and its on higher end. Also your CRH protein levels are high which indicate inflamation in body and your LDL levels are higher than they should be. So if we put all this things together I come to conclusion that omega-3 fatty acids will help you with all this. I presume that you don’t eat enough food rich in omega-3 fatty acids, omega-3 fatty acids also reduce inflamations in our bodies and lower bad cholesterol – LDL and increase good cholesterol – HDL, another thing that omega-3 does is it increases sensitivity to insulin and as result your blood sugar levels will lower.
    I hope my advice helps a bit.

  6. I’m up for a challenge (always), and I too appreciate simple logic. Can you send me one link from Ray Peat that you think might make a difference for me. Your results since starting T3 have been awesome. I’m awaiting a delivery of the same, and will update with results of course.

  7. Do you think my kidneys are healthy even given the high BUN/Creatinine ratio? I’m not sure what that means – I’ve heard it means I’m dehydrated, but I don’t trust that source. Does it mean I eat too much protein and I’m taxing my kidneys? Anyway, thank you for the recommendation. I do eat seafood probably 3-4 times a week, but I gave up fish oil supplements when Jack Kruse decided it was no good (after recommending it to everyone wholeheartedly, I might add). I’ll add it to the regimen. My husband takes it so I’ll just snag his. haha. Thanks again. 🙂

  8. For kidney health Creatinine level is best indicator. For the BUN/Creatinine ratio I don’t know, but I guess its not so alarming as are high Creatinine levels. Drinking enough water is important yes as you know water flushes toxins out of our bodies and human body is basicly 70% water so the importance of staying well hydrated is high. Also keeping electrolyte levels at adequate range is important, but I see your pottasium level is perfect, sodium level is perfect also, so just continue taking magnesium supplements and omega-3 and within about month or so I presume all parameters that were out of range on this test will get better. Although if I were you I would visit doctor first and ask about high LDL levels, don’t worry too much tho but better to start treating high LDL soon enough to avoid any heart troubles in future.

  9. Lanie this is exactly why I have stopped listening to everyone. Unless they have a medical degree and a bunch of others and years of practice what you’re (that’s the universal “you” not to be taken personally) getting is OPINION.

    Another thought here is that you are doing what I was doing … you are trying to micromanage yourself. My strong advice is to STOP IT right now! 😉

    You know what’s healthy to eat and what isn’t, just as much as I do. So eat. Quit worrying about calories, grams, carbs, fats, proteins, should I do this should I do that.

    LET IT ALL GO.

    Just breathe. Fix a meal and sit down and enjoy it.

    17 years ago I read “Enter the Zone” by Barry Sears. I followed his “diet” and lost 2 pounds a week for 8 weeks straight. Then I kind of fell off the wagon. But I kept that weight off for a year without even trying. I always said his diet was wonderful. Until the other day.

    It finally dawned on me that the reason it worked was because I was actually EATING 3 meals and 2 snacks a day. It had nothing to do with anything else. DUH.

    Since I gave up the whole “diet” mentality and decided to just LIVE with my fat self and accept it is the way I am I have been eating 3 meals and 2 snacks a day. I don’t think I’ve lost so much as an ounce but my energy level is coming up. You see, I’ve spent my ENTIRE adult life trying to starve my body into thinness. They say that insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Well, color me insane. Until now. I let go of all those nutty expectations.

    One last thing. I never really know when I’m hungry. My clue is that I get TIRED. It’s like I told my sister … you cannot drive your car if the gas tank is empty.

  10. Darleen – I’m glad you’re doing something that gives you peace. I think you and I must have VERY different physiological issues. I’m always hungry – even any small amount of lemon juice in my water (or any other fruit for that matter) makes me ravenous. I have never forgotten to eat in my life. If I was healthy and fat things might be different – working on my attitude might be well-placed energy. But I’m not healthy – I have metabolic syndrome and twice the risk of heart disease (according to 23 and me). I am almost (or already) diabetic. I have to fix this. I’m not done looking for answers. Again though, I really am glad you’re doing well. I miss your blog posts though!

  11. Just a note … I wasn’t trying to tell you what to do (something I am prone to inadvertently do) or compare you to me. I just have noticed a lot of similarities in our issues.

    So here’s another unasked for suggestion. One you’ve probably already looked into or even done. Would your doc be amenable to sending you to an endocrinologist for a full work up? Assuming, of course, you have decent insurance.

    You must have missed my last blog post. It’s a doozy. 😉

  12. Hey Darleen – I don’t have good insurance. I’m paying cash for everything I do right now. If I get cancer there’s a chance insurance might cover some of it. Fingers crossed for cancer!! Not funny, really. Sorry about your face plant and your kritty krat. Happy to see the new furbaby in your life though. That should bring some joy.

  13. Insulin levels probably need to be low for converting fats into fatty acids then burning them. this is probably why Atkins works mostly. You probably need some thyroid help along with low enough insulin so you can keep your thyroid happy and be able to burn fat. High insulin skews the pathways towards fat storage. Starches work that way.

  14. A little t3, milk, orange juice, raw carrot salad, cheese….what could go wrong?! famous last words…..

  15. Whoa Nelly! 2 quarts of milk and a quart of OJ? WTF? This is gonna be interesting. Your boy sure uses lots of words. It’ll take some time for me to learn about this and think it through.

  16. Ha yes. But its all good to have references plus audio interviews. Plug those milk and OJ numbers into your calc. I doubt you would be able to handle all those calories initially. Calories dont matter when your mitochondria is wasteful. Aspirin will help waste calories and suppress your worries on cancer. Once you get some t3 going and then t3t4 combo for maintenance you should be able to bump up calories. Right now I think even 1800 calories is too much for you if I remember your trials.

  17. This is interesting. I’m not sure how to make it actionable and he’s unwilling to make recommendations (which I admire actually…better a conservative approach to making recs on the internet than a careless one). Do you know how to take advantage of this information?

  18. look at the comments section for ideas. in the september 05 2009 comment he makes some recommendations. maybe you can try that. i just wonder where that HSCRP is coming from. you have mentioned no sources of infection even teeth. I was also thinking the Ray Peat carrot salad combines the natural antibiotics from carrots with coconut oil and vinegar. coconut oil is antibacterial and if vinegar can loosen the biofilms if you have any then maybe the HSCRP can come down cheaply.

  19. Just saw the post about using fructose. NO NO NO NO NO. Fructose goes straight to your liver and starts churning out triglycerides to store as FAT.

    Also just started a new book by a neurologist … Dr. David Perlmutter. Title is Grain Brain. Great companion to Wheat Belly. I’m recommending it highly.

  20. I’m not sure what to believe about fructose anymore. From a strictly common-sense viewpoint, it’s hard to believe something in fruit could be bad for you. I’ve always doubted that. I’m not sure it’s the best thing for me in my current state of high blood sugar though. Lots to ponder.

  21. It isn’t that fructose (in it’s natural packaging) is BAD for you. It is, however, important to understand the evolutionary implications. Before we had supermarkets and canning, fruits came and went in season. A short season. As hunter-gatherers we had to compete with all the other animals for the fruit. Since winter meant a scarcity of food, it was to the body’s advantage to pack on extra pounds in the summer to carry you through the lean winter months.

    Honestly I cannot remember now where I read this information about fructose but it was a very reliable source or else I would have even mentioned it.

    Eating an occasional piece of fruit is OK but to spoon pure fructose into your food is madness. After I read the above information I tossed out a package of fructose I had in my cupboard.

    The key to everything is to eat natural food, not prepackaged crap. Since I started my “I give up” journey and have been eating 3 meals and a couple of snacks a day my FBG has dropped daily. Today it was 93. 🙂 I am limiting fruit to a single serving in the morning with my eggs and bacon just so I can have some carbs. But I’m going to change even that to tomato slices or sauteed veggies. I can live quite nicely without fruit.

  22. forgot to mention that fruits today are MAMMOTH compared to what they were before scientists began mucking about with them in the genetics lab. Grapes are now the size of plums, plums are the size of apples, and grapefruits are the size of melons.

    Size does matter, after all.

    The bigger the fruit and the sweeter it is, the more fructose it has. So when I buy apples I buy the organic jobbies which, if you are paying attention, are about half the size of the rest of the apples. THAT is a normal sized apple.

    A couple of years ago Costco had these humongous gala apples … they were literally the size of a normal grapefruit. And they were beyond sweet. They were about 3 apples packed into one.

    Frankenfruit. Not good for anyone.

Leave a Reply

