Progest E and Milk

My cycle is super screwed up.  If you’re male or otherwise offended by discussion of my period, I give you permission to leave.

Ok, where was I?  Yeah.  My cycle.  In the last 2 months I’ve had my period 3 times.  And before that it was 10 weeks with no period.  So a bit unpredictable.  I’m not sure what’s up with the current extremely short cycles I’ve been having lately – 3 of em! – since October 1st…but I’ll tell you what.  I don’t like it.  And it’s not like they’re these cute little 3-4 day jobs either – no, they last 7 or 8 days each.  So I pretty much have my period, have a 10 or 12 days off, and then I have another one.  Awesome!

It wasn’t always like this.  For a long time I had 25-day cycles.  Every 25 days I’d get my period.  It was a bit shorter than most people – I guess the average cycle for most women is 28 days – but it was predictable.  Then almost 3 years ago I had a miscarriage.  Since then they’ve been all over the place…sometimes long cycles, sometimes short.  It makes it very hard to predict exactly when I’m going to be really really moody.

Well today was 10 days after day 1 of my most recent period.  My mood was not good.  I felt like killing someone.  I had a headache.  These are not common things for me anymore, especially since I started eating Peat-style.  I took a guess and decided that maybe I’m ovulating today – it’s exactly halfway through a 20 day (ridiculously short) cycle, so maybe…?  I just ordered Progest E, which Dr. Peat recommends for balancing excess estrogen in the system, particularly beginning on ovulation day and throughout the rest of the cycle.  So today I took 3 drops of it.  My wanting to kill someone went away within 10 minutes.  All of my other obnoxious hormone-related symptoms went away within a couple hours.  I feel back to normal.  Placebo effect?  Maybe.  Or maybe it actually did what it’s supposed to do.  I’ll keep taking it for the next 10 days.

In other news…my fasting blood glucose was 129 today – higher than I like it, of course – but I’m not surprised.  I find it’s higher in the AM if I don’t eat in the middle of the night, due to the release of stress hormones.  Still, my body isn’t storing enough glycogen to get through the night.  It’ll come in time I’m sure.  But today I decided to test my post-prandial blood sugar to see if I’m actually showing signs of insulin resistance.  From what I understand, you want your blood sugar to be below 140 after 2 hours.  So I ate breakfast (orange juice with sugar added and cheese), and tested it 2 hours later – it was 118.  Oh good.  Well, I’m not too worried then.  I’ll keep tracking my fasting blood glucose though because it makes a nice graph.

So I took my little girl off of milk about 6 months ago.  I did this because Jack Kruse told me to and I trusted him without requiring much explanation or proof.  I no longer feel that he’s trustworthy, and I now realize there are a lot of nutrients in milk that she should have access to.  So I’ve been gradually introducing dairy again into her world – first with butter, then with cheese, and a few days ago I started mixing regular cow’s milk in with the flax milk she currently drinks.  In the last few days she’s developed skin problems – 2 different rashes on her face and a small rash on her arm.  She tolerated the cheese and the butter really well, so I think there’s some additive in the milk that isn’t working for her.  I hope that’s all it is.  I’ve been giving her liver to make sure she has enough Vitamin A – and oh my god, she loves it!  She never asks for more meat, and she asked for more liver twice!

Speaking of Jack Kruse, I prowl around his forum now and then to see what he’s up to.  He seems to be recommending the use of crystals now.  *shm*  I could say more, but it seems pointless and a little mean.  I will say this though – several of the regulars over there have been complaining of iodine supplementation causing thyroid problems.  Be careful with that stuff, people.  High TSH is not as meaningless as some people would have you believe.  (To Jack’s credit, he doesn’t recommend iodine supplementation, so I can’t point the finger at him for that one).

11 thoughts on “Progest E and Milk

  1. Your progesterone levels are probably falling off a cliff when you feel that bad.

    Isnt it interesting your blood sugar levels fall after orange juice and cheese. Try a little milk with honey in the middle of the night and see if you can fall asleep again and see what that does to your FBS. Yay on the liver. Try goat milk for her its less troublesome.

  2. Well you’re a doc – you probably know this – but when a woman stops ovulating, she may continue having periods but no longer have the progesterone release from the ovulation itself. Shooting blanks, my Reproductive Endocrinologist used to call it. Anyway, this is all very interesting. I’d rather not have to wake up in the middle of the night, but I’ll do it in the name of science. LOL. Do you think goat’s milk is necessary when she tolerates cheese and butter ok? I’m wondering what kinds of additives are added to milk….vitamin D…anything else? I’ll investigate.

  3. Yeah. Lack of corpus luteum. I am assuming your FBS is high from stress hormones and its lower after breakfast for that reason. Meaning you must be running out of glycogen sometime at night right?
    Cheese is better anyway as the whey is separated. Goat milk might be easier to digest and its A2 for what thats worth.

  4. What’s the significance of having the whey separated? Is there something in whey that people have trouble tolerating?

  5. “Whey has been promoted as a protein supplement, but it contains a slightly higher proportion of tryptophan than milk does. Cheese (milk with the whey removed) contains less tryptophan. Some people have been encouraged to eat only the whites of eggs, “to avoid cholesterol,” but the egg albumin is rich in tryptophan.” RP plan is to keep tryptophan low so you can lower your serotonin.
    Also the lactate may be a problem if your energy levels are low.

  6. There do seem to be some loyal followers, despite nagging health problems that won’t resolve. Of course it must be their “field” and therefore their fault for living in a bad environment. Convenient.

Leave a Reply

