I’m a Joke

As a commenter stated so eloquently earlier this month,

Your struggles would be amusing if you weren’t so frustrated.

The only thing that keeps my struggles from being funny is my pain.  Let’s face it – I’m a joke.

I’ve shared myself honestly in this blog in the hopes of helping other people struggling to regain their health.  I doubt I’m helping anyone, because I have no answers.  I’m less healthy, heavier, more depressed, and less happy than I was 2 years ago when I started this blog.  I do notice a negative correlation between the amount of time I spend on the computer and my level of contentment in life.  I think I need to log off for a while altogether.

Maybe I’ll go stomp around in the snow.

Or not.

10 thoughts on “I’m a Joke

  1. Stomping around in the snow would just raise your estrogen! To be serious you assume you would be better off the last two years on SAD which we know is not true. For starters you would be a full blown diabetic based on your numbers. Slowly multiple organ system damage starts. Lots of serotonin trash talking inside your head. When you get it down you will fell better. Like the saying goes “Pain is temporary. Quitting lasts forever…”.

  2. Several things:
    1. Why would stomping in snow raise estrogen?
    2. I’m diabetic now.
    3. I am having a hard time believing Peat who is the only one in the world saying serotonin is bad and everyone else says raising it is good. I can’t concentrate on anything. I don’t remember how to get it down anyway. Can you tell me again?

  3. Peat said when they exposed a monkeys arm to cold the venous blood return had more estrogen. No ovary necessary! Stressed tissues raise estrogen not just the ovaries. What would your diabetes do on SAD? Cereal plus sugar in the morning plus whole wheat sandwiches plus something similar for dinner. What would your numbers run? You have a reasonable lid on your blood sugars without meds for now. Maybe try the RS thing for better glycemic control.

    Look up serotonin syndrome and carcinoid tumors that secrete serotonin and see the effects. Then you can see somehow we were brainwashed into thinking its a happy hormone when its not. Kind of the way estrogen is used for hot flashes when progesterone can do the same safely without the myriad side effects.

  4. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3152192/

    heres an example of something that raised dopamine and opposes serotonin as an adjunct to daibetes. So while serotonin makes diabetes worse dopamine does the opposite.

    “Specifically, temporal changes in the interaction of two distinct circadian neural oscillations, mediated in part by dopaminergic and serotonergic neurotransmitter activity, with reduced dopaminergic and enhanced serotonergic activity are believed to be responsible for the obese / IR phenotype.”

  5. I’m not trying to be contrary, but I do have a few things to say… Regarding stomping around in the snow, we up here in the great white North dress so we don’t get cold, even when outside in the snow. It’s no fun being cold. I have no interest in that.

    I’m very familiar with serotonin syndrome – it’s a risk when you’re taking two different antidepressants, both of which increase serotonin. So basically, it’s the result of way too much serotonin. That doesn’t mean some serotonin is bad though – as an analogy, too much sugar in the blood is bad, but that doesn’t mean ALL sugar in the blood is bad.

    Nothing is working for me and I’m done trusting people. Just Ray Peat saying something isn’t enough for me anymore. I really need to see results.

  6. You are not a joke! You’re an extremely honest person that is sharing her experience to help others and as an outlet. Just because you don’t feel that you’ve been “successful” doesn’t mean you haven’t helped someone. You’ve helped me! We all have different dietary needs, I think that’s why we all argue about it so much. For me, I feel the best when I’m on a low carb diet, even if it’s not the keto level. Now, staying on that diet is possible but can be difficult long term, due to our culture, addiction, hormones. But I found my particular health issues were reduced on keto/low carb including blood sugar and LDL small particle density labs. Apparently my brain/body work better on fats/ketones than glucose. Disclaimer: I don’t/didn’t have diabetes so my issues are slightly different than yours.

    What way of eating made you feel the best over a matter of months?

    I think it’s important for each of us to find a way of eating that makes us feel good (helps our labs) and stick to it, and then let the food choices meld into the background of our lives. It’s a difficult balance but I do sometimes feel I’ve achieved it. Mostly in the summer though.

  7. Thanks. 🙂 I guess my body felt best eating low carb. At least it was no drama – no ups and downs, no digestive issues, no blood sugar craziness. My labs weren’t great though, eating low carb, but maybe that could be remedied by supplementing T3 or pregnenolone. Thanks for your nice words. I really appreciate it! It’s given me something to think about.

  8. My cholesterol (LDL) went up, my thyroid function went down (more reverse T3, lower t3) and my cortisol labs indicated advancing adrenal fatigue. I was thinking about your comment yesterday – about what diet made me feel best. It’s true that I felt really good for the first 5 or 6 months on low carb (no ups/downs, etc) but after that I started to feel less good, having lots of cravings for carbs and feeling irritable and tired. I was under a lot of psychological stress too, so I didn’t attribute it to the diet, but I did find the diet impossible to stick to after a while, and I started eating more carbs. I also started drinking more alcohol, which I now realize was my body’s way of saying it wanted sugar. Now that I’m eating carbs I don’t crave alcohol at all. While I was following a pretty complete Ray Peat inspired diet (lots of carbs, moderate protein and fat) I felt great, but then I realized I have diabetes and the party was over. 😦 Welcome to my current dilemma. I’d still love to read your ebook so I will email you. But still working on the diet that will be suit my current needs. Thanks for the nice words. 🙂

Leave a Reply

