Estrogen Sucks, Part 2

Have I mentioned that estrogen sucks?  Why yes…yes I did.

It has become very clear that high estrogen is one of my biggest health issues. I’m mad at myself for exacerbating this by ADDING estrogen  (BHRT)…for a period of 8 months (See blog posts between July 2012 – March 2013 for details and to watch my transformation from high-functioning full-time working 182 pound adult to demoralized part-time working 203-pound adult).  On the other hand I’m glad I know what’s really going on with my moods, and now what there is to do is treat it.  I’ve started supplementing with DIM and milk thistle, and have ordered calcium D-glucarate.  Each of these is instrumental in eliminating excess estrogen.  I’m continuing the progesterone (Progest E, 2 doses a day of 10mg each).  Over a period of 2 days my headaches went away, my breast soreness has diminished about 90%, and my dark mood has lifted.

What I don’t understand is why the effects of estrogen have recently gotten so bad.  I’ve never had breast soreness within the first week of my cycle before, I’ve never had headaches associated with hormone changes before, and usually my depression is pre-menstrual, not mid- or post-menstrual.  Why is this happening now?

Bottom line, I’m not sure.  I don’t think it has anything to do with adding progesterone a month ago. This really seems to be an estrogen problem, and progesterone makes it better almost immediately after dosing.  The other thing I changed in the past month is I changed from skim milk to 2% milk for a few weeks, and then gave milk up completely after I realized it was making me asthmatic. I have continued eating cheese though, which doesn’t cause as many problems with my breathing.

I’ve been doing some research:

This study says dietary fat in dairy is a source of estrogenic hormones. This one says that goats milk has much less estrogen than cow’s milk (both regular and organic). This study says both estrogen and progesterone are increased after drinking commercial milk, and this one says there is a “considerable quantity of estrogens” in milk produced from pregnant cows, and that intake of animal products (especially milk and cheese) are highly correlated with hormone-related cancers. (On the other hand, this one is a meta-analysis which indicates dairy product consumption does not lead to breast cancer, and that estrogens in dairy are minute.)

Maybe it’s time to give up cow dairy altogether.  I think it’s also time to add more fiber to my diet – it helps eliminate estrogens so they don’t get reabsorbed into the bloodstream.

Unfortunately, the more I experiment with Ray Peat’s recommended dietary approaches, the more problematic my own symptoms become. I can’t conclusively tie my recent high-estrogen problems with dairy, but I don’t know what else would have caused them.

I think it’s time for me to follow a more conventional high-vegetable/fiber moderate calorie diet, and get a lot more exercise to manage my blood sugar.

Next post: Resistant Starch.  Another experiment in the works.

8 thoughts on “Estrogen Sucks, Part 2

  1. Yeah I am sure the estrogen supplementation didnt help. But thats in the past. Forget it. Move on. Progesterone tends to fall off a cliff as you age. Low progesterone causes estrogen to be more intracellular which makes the serum estrogen level lower that it actually is. HRT then based on serum levels would be unfortunate.

    Allergies and low energy go hand in hand. Stop the dairy and add calcium to compensate. Once energy levels come up you may be able to add dairy back in. Also getting more protein as gelatin would help. Carrots and well cooked greens are pretty filling. I cant imagine adding more vegetables to the mix. But do what works for you.

  2. I do add gelatin to various drinks, broth, and sauces. I have to add non-starchy vegetables – They fill me up and have almost no impact on my blood sugar, and everyone in the world except Ray Peat says they’re beneficial. Dairy and juice are out. Fruit is ok in moderation as far as blood sugar goes, but it just makes me hungry and I don’t particularly like it so I don’t eat it much now. Meat and seafood apparently raise serotonin and/or contain PUFA and should be limited. Grains/nuts/seeds/legumes are out. Potatoes seem to be ok in small amounts. I’m running out of options. Everything is different when you have blood sugar problems.

  3. Hi

    I read your comments on ray peat forum. I have similar issues like you; high blood glucose levels, cholesterol, TGL and low testosterone.

    I summarized my history here

    https://docs.google.com/document/d/1DZk4n-dVbfU6rE1jIOSuZV4mFyMEtSlZmf2lPESylyY/edit?usp=sharing

    Like you I am also running out of options. I was wondering if you looked into Insulin resistance. Dr Reaven’s explanation is that Insulin resistance is the underlying cause of BG regulation and it can can through other hormones out of regular ranges?

    It is really hard on Peat’s boards to get a sympathy for BG problems. They all seems to have opposite problem.

    “I’ve started supplementing with DIM and milk thistle, and have ordered calcium D-glucarate” what do mean by DIM in this sentence?

  4. Hi Javed –

    That’s why I spoke up on the forum – they weren’t getting it and I wanted to support you. And I know your blood sugars were in range because you’ve learned how to manage it – not because it’s not a problem. DIM is a substance in cruciferous vegetables that helps with estrogen metabolism and elimination. Here’s some information:

    http://www.healthandherbs.co.nz/health-library/general-health/dim—natural-oestrogen-management

    It’s available in supplement form:

    http://www.amazon.com/Source-Naturals-Diindolylmethane-100mg-Tablets/dp/B000GFPCZ2/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1388298872&sr=8-3&keywords=dim

    Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

Leave a Reply

