Two Steps Back

I’ve been struggling a bit eating Peat style.  I think this would be a great way of eating if weight loss isn’t a goal.  The food is delicious and makes me feel great.  Only problem is I’ve been gaining weight.  I’m now up to 209.4 – almost 8 pounds over my previous unacceptable weight prior to learning about Dr. Peat.

It has to stop.  I simply cannot continue to gain weight.  My clothes don’t fit.  I avoid mirrors.  I’m discouraged.  I’ve tried to count calories, and I find it impossible to stay on a low-calorie diet while eating sugar.  There’s one woman on my Ray Peat Facebook group who has been losing weight, and she has generously shared her eating plan with us.  I’ve tried to follow it, and I just can’t.  I feel too hungry.  I guess my body is just not healthy enough yet to metabolize sugar effectively.  I think a lot of the sugar I’m eating is being wasted, my liver not effective at storing glycogen.

I’m considering doing a lower-carbohydrate version of Peat’s principles for a couple of months (and yes, I realize “a lower carb Peat plan” is an oxymoron) – just long enough to get some of the weight off.  I think my low-carb diet didn’t result in weight loss before because I was eating too much meat and no dairy. Also I was eating lots of PUFAs in daily consumption of dark-meat chicken and conventional eggs.  Now that I see how damaging those things are, of course I would continue to avoid them.

I don’t know all the answers.  I just need to do something else. I can’t continue to gain weight.

8 thoughts on “Two Steps Back

  1. Hello, Just wanted to say that I empathize with your frustration. Although weight is not an issue at the moment (my issues are terrible IBS, strange allergies and hormonal imbalances), I know what it is like to try so many things become discouraged. after about 10 years of different diets for the gut I have recently found Peat and have tried to incorporate more sugar and dairy (only goat cheese at the moment) after thinking both were unhealthy. The other night I broke out in rashes and was itching all over. I have suspected a salicylate or histamine intolerance but hoped it would not matter if I was supporting my thyroid. So no more OJ or citrus – and two steps back for me too! I am not giving up on the approach but I am not able to jump into as I would like to it right now. Best.

  2. Hi AC – thanks for your comment. I have a lot of respect for Ray Peat and I think his way is the right way. It’s just not without lots of stumbling blocks on the way there. I want to share with you the experience my daughter and I have had with dairy – maybe it’ll be useful to you. If you read my entire blog (yeah, right) you’d see that when my daughter has dairy in her diet her skin breaks out – particularly on her face around her mouth, but she also gets patches of psoriasis-like rash in small spots around her body. I’ve learned through trial and error that when I feed her more vitamin A-rich foods her skin doesn’t react this way. This suggests to me that dairy increases her need for Vit. A (probably by increasing her overall metabolism). On days she doesn’t get liver or other high-A foods I might giver her drop of Nutrisorb A. Have to be careful though not to exceed upper recommended doses though, as A can be toxic if chronically overused. However, if I dose just enough to avoid skin problems I doubt she’s getting too much.

    I had chronic low-grade problems with dairy at first in the form of asthma symptoms. Since I stopped eating lots of PUFAs my symptoms are 95% gone – some days completely gone. If I do eat PUFAs again along with dairy I’m wheezing and coughing again, so I’m pretty sure that’s the important variable for me. So the lessons I’ve learned regarding skin problems is make sure you’re getting enough Vit A (in the form of retinol, which is from animal prodcuts – especially liver) and regarding allergy symptoms, make sure your PUFA consumption is as low as possible. Don’t eat fatty chicken. That was my downfall. LOL.

    I hope you’ll continue to share your experiences with me. 🙂

  3. Low fat cheese perhaps to reduce overall calories. Maybe sip on OJ throughout the day than drink it in one go? I find the OJ cheese combo particularly thermogenic just like coconut oil. Maybe some long walks to burn some off. I am not sure if you are able to do any body weight exercises to build muscle. More cooked greens perhaps. I find those very filling along with carrots. Maybe drain the fat from the beef. I posted a link here a while ago for that.

  4. Thanks. I do know how to lower calories in my diet. My problem is a seemingly insatiable appetite due to hunger cues that never turn off, a direct result of eating carbohydrates for me. I think something in me is broken. I can be full and still feel driven to eat more. Whatever mechanism causes this is absent when I eat a low carb diet. I think that’s why I’ve relied on low carb off and on for much of my adult life. It’s a relief from this insanity.

  5. I have the same problem on Peatish diet as you.

    I spend three months ( jan-march 2013) reading about Peat at this forumhttp://www.raypeatforum.com/forum/portal.php and Dr Peat’s articles, I tried the diet since then with a break in October and November 2013 when I went back to low carb and then back to Peatish again.

    So far within one year I have gained 11lb and my A1C went from 5.4 to 6.1 I do feel better on Peatish diet but these numbers don’t look good compared to when I was on low carb and lots of walking. I felt bad but all numbers were good like these

    weight 115lb
    HDL 73
    A1C 5.4
    triglyceride 105

    Therefore, I am in the same predicament as you. I like the conceptual approach of Dr Peat but on bio markers it fails. It does improve feeling of overall well being.

    I am not sure how can one avoid the stress response and lose weight at the same time. A person who is fat adapted will burn fat but the need for glucose will be met through gluconeogenesis under stress hormones. There is no way to avoid that feeling of being wired under stress hormones while losing weight. At least I haven’t figured that out yet.

    It is not healthy to stay under stress for long time. It messes up all the other hormones. The low carb community never likes to talk about the hormones. Any time I raise the issue it gets ignored.

    Let me know if you find a solution to this dilemma.

  6. Indeed I will. Believe me, if I find a solution it will be written about here in ALL CAPS. haha. Thanks for letting me know your story. I’m sorry you’re struggling with these things, but it’s nice to know I’m not alone.

  7. I don’t really have an explanation for you, but I also had insatiable hunger for a few months starting peat. I also gained 10% more body weight(muscle and water mostly). It’s been something like 9 months now and I’m back at the same weight since before starting and my hunger is reasonable. My calories have only increased but I have switched my macro-nutrient ratio around multiple times so far.

  8. That’s interesting. Just in the last week or so I’ve noticed my hunger is giving it a rest. It’s a nice relief. I’m sure there’s some good reason for all this – maybe my body was starved for…well, forever…and got really excited about getting real food for a change. Anyway, nice to know there’s probably and end to it.

Leave a Reply

