Coffee

I just have to take a moment and talk about coffee.

I didn’t drink much coffee for a long time, even though I love the smell, the taste, and the energy boost it gives me.  I avoided it because it made me really hungry.  I never knew why….until I heard Ray Peat say that it can cause hypoglycemia if not taken with sugar…and of course if you’re going to be eating sugar it’s a good idea to add some cream to slow down the absorption a bit.  My whole adult life I’ve been drinking black coffee (I was just that kind of person – too cool for cream and sugar, I guess) and then getting hungry.

Now that I’ve learned how to enjoy coffee without being super hungry, I have a whole ritual around it. I have a small coffee maker with a pot that holds 24oz. Every morning I take a heaping tablespoon of Dunkin’ Donuts grounds and make a sort-of weak automatic drip coffee – not too overpowering.  I pour the entire 24oz of coffee into this massive mug, add 2 tablespoons of raw honey (a little more sometimes), 1 tablespoon of heavy whipping cream, and 1/2 teaspoon plus one pinch of kosher salt (bigger granules than iodized salt).  It comes out tasting like salted caramel.  I sip on it all morning.  Here’s the nutritional breakdown:

  • Calories: 187
  • Protein: 1.3g
  • Fat: 5.7g
  • Carbs: 35g

Nutrients (% of recommended daily intake), according to Cronometer:

  • B1: 9%
  • B2: 52%
  • B5: 37%
  • Vitamin A: 9%
  • Magnesium: 7%
  • Manganese: 11%
  • Potassium: 8%

…plus a few other trace nutrients.  Don’t let anyone tell you coffee isn’t good for you.

Now, I could make this MUCH more nutritious by substituting 8oz of milk for some of the coffee or adding gelatin to it (for protein).  I’ve tried it many ways, but the above recipe is my favorite.

Yeah.  It pretty much makes me feel like a rock star.

2 thoughts on “Coffee

  1. Didnt have any problem with tea or coffee when low carb. Once started on the Peat plan I wasnt able to handle coffee for a while. Now I am able to.

Leave a Reply

