Updates

Some updates on all things me:

1.  Started weight training.  I really like it – it’s the first time I’ve lifted weights with an actual program designed by an actual professional trainer – usually I just go to the gym and meander around the circuit training area.  I’m lifting 3 days a week for about an hour each time, and I’m already getting stronger – after only a full week.  I’ve had to bump up the weights on several of the machines I’m using.  I didn’t think I’d care about getting stronger – I mean, if I can pick up my kid how much stronger do I need to be?  Turns out it makes a big difference.  Like, already I notice it’s easier for me to physically get out of bed – I need to do a sit-up motion to get up, which used to be hard.  Now it’s getting easier.  I know, pretty weak, right?  It’s been about 24 years since I’ve lifted weights.

So my trainer asks me, “Are you sore?” to gauge how hard I’ve been working.  I want to tell her yes, but the truth is, my muscles are not sore.  They’re fatigued and I’m working my ass off at the gym, but for some reason my muscles aren’t that sore.  When I’ve done resistance training in the past my muscles were sore for days, so I’m not sure what’s different now.  I’m supplementing aspirin when I can remember, but not every day…maybe muscle soreness is the result of something I currently don’t have in my diet?

2.  I decided to tell the trainer that I’m not going to follow her stupid diet.  She gave me a diet that recommended starches for breakfast and lunch and no carbs after 4:30PM.  Wow.  I tried that for a couple of days.  My mood was terrible after eating oatmeal for breakfast, and I was too tired to do anything but lie down.  Also, no carb after 4:30 and my heart was pounding with adrenaline by 9:30 at night.  Not going to work.  Also, she wants me to have less than 1500 calories per day.  That just wasn’t enough food.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned lately, it’s that nothing is more important than feeling alive and happy every day.  I have that now.  It’s the direct result of eating simple sugars (fruit and honey), lean protein (I just don’t like gelatin, but I’ll try again at some point), saturated fats, eggs, salt, dairy, liver, seafood – a nutrient dense diet low in PUFAs.  Oh, and of course my progesterone.

3.  My weight is oddly stable. For the last 9 days, it doesn’t matter how much I eat, how much I drink, how much I work out, my morning weight is always exactly 208.8 lbs (94.7 kg).  Exactly.  To the tenth of a pound.  Isn’t that weird?  My whole life my weight has been up and down a pound or two a day….but now it’s so stable it’s freaking me out.  I’ve eaten 1600 calories one day and 3000 the next…doesn’t matter.   One day I made homemade gluten-free bread for my daughter and husband (well, homemade from a mix) that was so good I ate like 4 slices of it with butter.  Completely defied my no-starches rule.  I was really full.  The next day?  208.8.  Well, at least I’ve stopped gaining.

I am interested in losing weight, of course…and I think I’m going to try to accomplish this by drinking skim milk rather than eating cheese.  Also, I’m going to trade out heavy cream for skim milk in my coffee.  Those two things account for a lot of my daily fat.  I don’t want to count calories anymore.  I did that for a week for my trainer, and it made me feel like eating a pizza.  It’s more important to be emotionally healthy around food than to track every calorie.  I don’t want to be obsessed with this stuff.  It’s only a PART of my life.

Did I mention that I feel really good almost every day now?  Now if my mood is low or I feel tired I can usually directly attribute it to something I did differently than usual, like eating starches or experimenting with a new supplement.  Before Peat-ing I was tired, depressed, and anxious most days.  I never felt “happy”.  Then after adopting some of Peat’s recommendations I started feeling better in the mornings – not every morning, but a lot of them, and in the afternoon I’d go back to feeling low-energy.  Now almost every morning is delightful and a few times a week I feel great all day long.

I had some labs drawn last week….getting Peat-inspired labs is kind of a hassle.  I ordered labs for serotonin, parathyroid hormone, hs-CRP, and prolactin from Life Extension.  Went to the lab with my requisition, and the tech tells me that to test serotonin they need a “special tube” and that I’d have to go over to the “main lab” 12 miles away for that draw.  Ok…so I went to that lab instead. Then a few days later I got a call from Life Extension – they told me that the blood they drew to test my parathyroid hormone didn’t contain enough plasma…so I’d have to go back to have it retested.  Huh?  Not enough plasma?  Where’s all my plasma?  I haven’t had the retest done yet.  Anyway, they promise results in 10-14 days – I’ll update with results when I get them.

I’ve got my husband eating less PUFA, using red lights, taking aspirin and vitamins K, D, E, and A, and eating liver.  He keeps walking around saying he feels great and doesn’t know why.  haha.

4 thoughts on “Updates

  1. “She gave me a diet that recommended starches for breakfast and lunch and no carbs after 4:30PM. Wow. I tried that for a couple of days. My mood was terrible after eating oatmeal for breakfast, and I was too tired to do anything but lie down. Also, no carb after 4:30 and my heart was pounding with adrenaline by 9:30 at night. Not going to work. Also, she wants me to have less than 1500 calories per day. That just wasn’t enough food.”

    I am wondering why you even bothered trying that. Seems like you are on the right track. I think the serotonin PTH etc will give you further clues going forward. Wish these labs were cheaper and more accessible. You could say do a serotonin/estrogen before and after oatmeal to see whats really going on!

  2. In my profession I get a lot of people telling me things are impossible without actually trying what I’m telling them to do. I didn’t want to be one of those people – so I gave it a shot. Anyway, yeah…I feel like I’m in a pretty good place. Who knew oatmeal was so dangerous!

Leave a Reply

