High Sugar Low Fat Diabetes Experiment – Day 1

Maybe I should give that an abbreviation…something catchy like HSLFDE – Day 1.

Tracked my food today in Cronometer (as I will every day for the next 21 or more days).  Here was my macro breakdown for the day:

  • Calories: 2148
  • Protein: 183.9 (36.3%)
  • Carbs: 287.1 (51.1%)
  • Fat: 30.6 (12.6%)

See that?? Under 13% of my calories were from fat.  This isn’t so hard after all!  I did eat too much protein though, in the form of meat and dairy – probably more of that should have been carbs.  I’ll work on it.  Damn sugar phobia.

Anyway, I think I’m going to shoot for 15% or less fat going forward – this wasn’t easy, but it’ll get easier as I make it a habit.  Interestingly when I was white-knuckling it, trying to skimp on calories, I only saved myself 300-400 calories a day, compared to eating to hunger and satiation.  Completely not worth it.  That’s only 1/2 a pound a week, assuming calories-in-calories-out has any validity, which is questionable in the first place.  Not only that but every day of calorie restriction feels like a week.  No more.  The feeling of freedom is like the difference between being a kid and being a grown-up.  I choose to live like a grown up and eat whenever I’m hungry.

I’ve decided to stop my Vitamin B6 supplementation experiment, since I have another project going (you know, the HSLFDE).  I can report that the first 2 days of my B6 experiment left me with sore breasts, which I haven’t had in months.  No fun.  Anyway, that’s on hold till I’m bored again.

Till tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “High Sugar Low Fat Diabetes Experiment – Day 1

  1. I so agree about eating when you are hungry. I’ve restricted calories my ENTIRE life since I was in third grade. Any day that I actually satisfied my hunger was considered a failure. This madness only ended when I discovered Peat’s work a few months ago. I’ve always felt like a child of poverty peeking into stores where SANITY lined the shelves. Now that I actually eat until I am no longer hungry, I finally feel like I understand what it means to OWN sanity (or at least borrow it). And it is so worth the 3 pounds or so of fat that I’ve gained.

    I believe that I’ve also gained about 2 pounds of muscle, by the way, and I really feel that the focus on building my body rather than making it smaller is making me healthier and more confident. Sometimes I feel myself strut around the gym like a bodybuilder. Of course, that might be the pregnenolone. 🙂

    FWIW, here are a few studies that I’ve found that have encouraged me to embrace sugar a little, especially honey:

    Oligosaccharides might contribute to the antidiabetic effect of honey: a review of the literature
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22205091

    Honey–a novel antidiabetic agent
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22811614

    Effect of honey in diabetes mellitus: matters arising
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24476150

  2. Thank you for these. And, awesome because I eat a lot of honey – more than fruit actually. Not sure that balance is really appropriate, but it’s working for me at the moment. And yeah, me too with the calorie restriction my entire life. It used to “work” – I managed to starve myself down to a size 8 or so for my wedding. My only rule was that I had to go to bed a little hungry. How miserable is that?! I was that size for all of the first week of my honeymoon. I started gaining it back in week 2. So much for a “successful diet”. I’ve only been trying it again recently because none of my clothes fit and I don’t want to buy new clothes. I thought maybe…just maybe…I could starve off a few pounds at least…but no. It doesn’t even work anymore. My weight stays the same nowadays whether I restrict calories or not. So might as well be comfortable.

Leave a Reply

