Physics

I’ve been known to say that for every diet, there’s an equal and opposite binge.  At least, that’s always been my experience.  When I dieted down to a size 10 for my wedding 7 or 8 years ago, the regain began as soon as my honeymoon.  Within 4 months I was back up 35 pounds to my previous weight – about half the time it took me to lose it.

Anyway, I think the same can be said of the stomach flu.  Every stomach flu has an equal and opposite refeed to return the body to a state of homeostasis.  I am just not stable right now – I’ve had serious cravings for salt, starches, and protein.  It’s been impossible the last 2 days for me to eat all the sweetened milk and coffee I’d been living on for weeks prior.  So what I’m going to do is indulge my cravings for a few days and wait till they die down again.  At that point I’ll give low-fat a go again.  In the meantime I’m going to keep tracking everything so I can attempt to draw conclusions as to which factors in my diet are at the root of my hyperglycemia.

Oddly, this morning my blood sugar was 100.  That’s after 119 grams of fat yesterday (about 2x as much as I was shooting for).  So, things are not clear right now at all.  I can only conclude there’s an equal and opposite reaction going on as my body recovers from being sick.

Next post: How I feed my kid.

2 thoughts on “Physics

  1. More aspirin and more red light will help you feel better when sick. Also warm you up. I would rather stick to a fat level thats tolerable long term than try a really low fat one you cannot maintain.

  2. I did some red light yesterday and that felt great. Aspirin I took while I was sick but I don’t think I was absorbing much of anything, honestly. A waste of good aspirin. I’ll resume it today. My temps are good – I’ve been waking up at 97.8 or higher every day for weeks. And I agree, it would ultimately be good to find something I can maintain. My intention is to keep fat very low for a relatively short period of time (weeks) to see a quick and noticeable impact on blood sugar. It’s science!

Leave a Reply

