High Carb Low Fat – Day 5

Fasting blood sugar this morning was 128 – not as low as I’d like to see.  Maybe 55g of fat a day (my average the last few days) is too much to make a difference with blood sugar?  Last time I attempted to reduce fasting blood sugar by cutting fat (with success) I was averaging a little lower – like 48g.  That’s not a big difference…hard to say. Without eating starches it’s difficult to keep fat low.  I have to eat frequently because the stuff I’m eating just seems to burn up quickly, leaving me hungry otherwise.  All in the name of science.  I’ll just continue for now.

Here was my diet and macros today:

crono

Did ok…maybe too much white sugar rather than fruit…Carbs to protein was 2:1.  Calcium to phosphorus was a little short of 1:1 (1724mg to 2048mg).  I seem to consistently fall short 300mg.  Fat was 21.6% of total calories.  One question I seem to get a lot is how come I’m not eating more vegetables?  My answer to that is why would I?  I like veggies if they’re bathed in butter and cheese…otherwise not so much.  And nutritionally it’s not hard to get the nutrients in vegetables from other sources.  As an example, here is the nutritional breakdown of what I ate today:

nutrients

See all those orange bars that are completely filled up?  Those are nutrients that I have consumed enough of today.  Less than 5 grams of PUFA (usually I shoot for even less than that).  All amino acids.  I fell short with folate (only had 92%), iron (lower iron is a good thing), manganese (I’m not actually sure where you get manganese), and potassium (only 92%).  And to be fair, I am supplementing several of the fat-soluble vitamins (A, D, K, and E).  I’m not that worried about it though because I eat liver once a week and stock up on all of these things.  So…why eat veggies unless you really like them?  I guess they might fill me up a little…but fruit actually fills me up just as well and keeps my energy level high too.

It’s no accident that the foods I’m eating are high in nutrition. That’s why Ray Peat recommends them.  My diet is by no means a perfect Peat diet – he probably wouldn’t be in favor of chicken or ham (both animals are fed soy and corn and are therefore relatively high in PUFA) but I do eat the lowest fat organic versions of these items.  I’m not sure how he’d feel about the 3 Musketeers bar.  I was out flying kites with my daughter and that’s all there was to eat nearby.  Again with needing to plan better.  Still, could have been much worse.

I increased niacinamide to 250mg 3x a day yesterday, and since yesterday I’ve been having hot flashes.  I’m familiar with the feeling – I had them when I was taking fertility drugs to get pregnant, and again after quitting the Wiley Protocol, when my estrogen levels dropped.  I wonder if its having some effect on my estrogen?  Then again, this is niacin – even in the form that doesn’t cause a “flushing” reaction, I suppose it could be warming me up. I’ve been putting on and taking off my sweater about 10 times a day.  We’ll see if it continues.  It’s not completely unpleasant…just something I’m noticing.

Overall I feel great.

Update: I got hungry before bed and ate more after posting this.  I won’t be obsessive and update all of my new totals, but I will say my new carb:protein ratio is now a little better than 2:1, my calcium:phosphorous ratio is slightly improved, total calories is 2367, and 22% of calories came from fat.

3 thoughts on “High Carb Low Fat – Day 5

  1. I’m so glad that you posted a nutritional breakdown! Yes, I am a geek. 🙂

    Anyway, I was going to mention earlier to watch out for Manganese, because it’s commonly low on a Peat-inspired diets. I think pinepapple juice and blueberries are good sources, but I need to double check.

    Here is one study mentioning the connection between manganese and diabetes, but there are many:
    Association of blood manganese level with diabetes and renal dysfunction: a cross-sectional study of the Korean general population.
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24606630

    Also, your high triglyceride level might be a sign that you are curing yourself of fatty liver disease, based on some posts I recall reading by Chris Masterjohn. (I will try to dig them up and post the links). He’s a WAP guy, but imo, very open minded and independent, and I think he’s been influenced by Peat. (Peat has apparently mentioned Masterjohn’s work as well).

    Anyway, great post!

  2. I should say that I wonder if your high triglyceride level is linked to that….I’m sorry if I came across as presumptuous. I am definitely just thinking aloud.

  3. Cool – thanks Karin – I’ve never heard of a manganese/diabetes connection, and will definitely look into that. If you have time to dig up links, I’d appreciate it greatly! I like Chris Masterjohn’s stuff, at least what I’ve read – I’ll see if I can find more about that. Would fatty liver disease show up in labs? My liver enzymes were in range. Anyway, very interesting – thanks again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

