Sigh

A bit of a struggle right now.

I’ve stopped all vitamin supplements, effective 2 or 3 days ago.  The hot flashes continue.

I started to wonder if maybe there was something wrong with my bottle of Progest E – maybe a bad batch?  I started the latest bottle a few days before the hot flashes started.  To test this theory, I opened another bottle – I happened to have 2 backups in the refrigerator.  That’s how I roll when I find a supplement that makes THAT MUCH of a difference for me.   So I switched to this new bottle a couple days ago, and doubled my dosing to get caught up in case something was lacking with the previous bottle.  Still with the hot flashes.  Fewer today – only like 3 or 4 – but I would think a couple days of 40mg/day would at help more than that if a falling progesterone level was the problem.

Diet-wise I’m sort of in a free fall.  Eating starches and telling myself that since my body doesn’t handle sugar then surely now it’ll handle potatoes.  And that went well for the first 1.5 days.  Then tonight, a wave of depression that made itself known to me as I was hollering at my child, and then 45 minutes later as I was unable to sing her a bedtime song because I was crying.

I’m sick of my body.

I’m going to come up with a plan.  I’ll let you know when I have one.  I may do a course of probiotics.  Money is tight.

In Limbo.

5 thoughts on “Sigh

  1. sometimes the hot flashes i can get seem to come from a high histamine/tyramine/salicylate load. eat from the low-histamine food list for a few day, perhaps, and see if it helps you? good luck in sorting things out!

  2. There’s a new idea – I hadn’t considered that at all. In fact I don’t know what foods are high/low in those substances. I’ll investigate – thank you.

  3. I’m not sure if I’ve just gotten through the hot flashes FINALLY after so many years, or if my diet is making a difference, but I can tell you it seems to be that when I eat lots of good, natural fats I have no hot flashes, and when I stray and have fewer fats (yes, that usually means too many carbs, but not always) I have hot flashes. Just a casual observation on my part, but an easy one to test.

Leave a Reply

