RS + Probiotics – Day 3

I thought I’d give a quick update.

I started with a small little teaspoon of potato starch 2 days ago, combined with probiotics, once a day.  So far so good – no change in anything perceptible, which is a good thing considering the negative effects I’ve had in the past.  I think I’ll give it a few more days of this and then maybe try to increase, either to one teaspoon of RS 2x a day or one larger dose.  That’s when all hell broke loose last time though so I hesitate.  Maybe I won’t do that.  I’ve now talked myself out of it.  This is how I am.

I stopped eating *so much* sugar.  I still eat some – like, yesterday I ate half a bag of M&Ms and one of my daughter’s Rice Krispie bars (poor planning, eating found-in-the-car-food), and a couple of Hershey’s kisses throughout the day, plus a glass of OJ.  Other than that I’ve been eating like a “normal” person – little planning, eating what feels right.  Still not eating things like wheat, corn, legumes, PUFAs, or other things that just seem bad for me for one reason or another, but not obsessing over it.  It’s kind of a relief from the dietary micromanagement.

My fasting blood sugar the last 2 days as been 113 and 116.  Rarely in recent history is it that low.  I attribute it to not eating so much sugar.

Since I wrote my last post about my new RS + Probiotics experiment I’ve gotten a few emails/messages from some concerned readers.  What about the risk of SIBO?  Or the risk of increased lactic acid caused by certain strains of bacteria?  These are good questions.  I don’t know the answers.  I can say that after weighing my options, this seemed like the best one.  If I screw up my health further I’ll look back on this and know I was doing the best I could.

Interestingly, I’ve been eating some potatoes and rice and my mood has been fine the last few days.  I doubt the probiotics have had an effect yet, but I’m wondering if maybe certain starches like these are fine for me and more processed starches (g/f bread, g/f pasta) are the problem.  Not sure why that would be – I seem to be doing ok the last 4-5 days as long as I avoid those.  Not exactly smiling for no reason or anything….there’s some anxiety, but no depression.  I can live with it.

I’ve been reading about Paul Jaminet’s Perfect Health Diet.  First impressions from his website are that he’s a really decent person, willing to share his knowledge and really trying to help people. I know earnestness doesn’t fix diabetes, but it’s nice to spend time at his site….gives me the warm and fuzzies.  I’ll be reading more.  He seems to have one foot in the resistant starch camp, but is firmly in the pro-digestible starch camp along with intermittent fasting.  Some of his ideas seem to be summed up here, specifically with regard to weight loss:

I prefer to train people in proportions and amounts. Proportions — try in your mind dividing your plate until four equal quadrants containing (1) meat/fish/egg, (2) sugary starch like potato, (3) sugary in-ground vegetables (beet, carrot), fruits, berries, and (4) low-calorie vegetables (mushrooms, spinach, tomatoes, onions, celery, asparagus, kimchi, etc). Then flavor things with a sauce combining fat (eg butter, sour cream, coconut milk), acid (vinegar, pickle juice, etc). Use less fat if you’re trying to lose weight. Eat enough to avoid any significant hunger while fasting 16 hours per day.

He seems to generally favor a diet that is 30% carbohydrate, 15% protein, and 55% fat.  More research is in order, on my part.

I’m getting my bike prepared for daily exercise (weather permitting). (<–Listening to you, Karin).  Hope to start as soon as it stops raining.  I do love my bike.

13 thoughts on “RS + Probiotics – Day 3

  1. I think it’s hard to go really wrong with Paul Jaminet. It would be great if you would do some resistance work for your upper body/abs on any day that you don’t bike. Good for you on the blood sugar. 🙂

  2. I’m reading the PHD book right now – lots of overlap with Peat in some ways, but some things don’t make sense to me (like, yes to yogurt, butter, cream, and kefir but no to milk?). And he talks about how bad Omega 3s are but still says you should eat them? Oh well…I’ll plug away and see. Overall I really like what he has to say.

  3. Yeah, I think you should keep checking his blog, because he seems to be ever-evolving. The only thing is, I wonder if he would ever be able to do a complete turnaround, even in the face of better evidence, considering that his “brand” is all about having figured out how to best achieve “perfect” health.

    I don’t buy that any of these guys, as determined and smart as they are, have it all completely figured out, yet.

    I think that Ray Peat makes a decent case against PUFAs, but I looked into his links and they didn’t strike me as definitive proof that all PUFAs are toxic. There is a lot of research that seems to suggest otherwise. So I’m very uncertain about Omega 3/6 fatty acids, but I have a hunch that PERHAPS a VERY small amount are indeed essential, as Masterjohn thinks. I’ve cut back about 90%, and I’m mostly abstaining for myself, (because I was still overdoing the Omega 3s as of January) but I occasionally have the kids eat a moderate amount of nuts, sardines or some wild salmon “just in case”.

  4. yadayadayada I didn’t mean to sound so cynical. I’m not really, and I really respect Jaminet more than I’ve let on here. I just think that the science is still young and perhaps still not conducted/analyzed with perfect clarity.

  5. I completely agree with you Karin. I was sort of following the PHD in 2011 and then found Peat about 6 months ago (before PHD I was very low carb/starch). Now I’m back to PHD but being careful and trying to figure out what my body really wants/needs. It’s hard when you have been listening to others (in desperation for improved health) for soooo long and seem to be developing more problems. But I do like Jaminet’s approach and he is very knowledgeable.

    I find I don’t do well with a lot of fat (saturated or PUFA) and PHD is heavy on the fat….

  6. To Lanie and Marie (and anyone else who may be listening), 🙂

    I know you guys have moved on from Peat, but this is a video lecture that I found thought- provoking and charming….especially beginning about the 37:00 minute mark. It’s the first time I’ve seen him in this sort of context.

    Perhaps someone here might find some of it interesting. I think there’s a lot to be gained from his ideas even if they aren’t fully applied.

  7. You didn’t sound cynical – And regarding the O6/O3 thing, I think there’s a lot of reason to believe O6s should be avoided to a large extent. Both Peat and Jaminet agree that a tiny bit is needed, but that amount is easy acquired in food without adding any extra. Omega 3s seem to protect against O6 damage, so they’re particularly important if you have a lot of O6 in the diet, but given that O6 is so hard to avoid and is in our tissues as well as in our diet O3 is likely to be helpful. O3 toxicity is a real thing though too – Jaminet talks about this in his book. This all has really caught my attention because it’s one of the Peat things that I didn’t really understand. I’ll go into greater detail at some point on my blog, or check out the PHD book.

  8. Marie – what made you go to Peat and then go back to PHD? Curious because I’m circling both of them right now. 🙂

  9. Great video – thanks for sharing it! I haven’t moved on from Peat at all – I think health is too broad a topic for any one person, and we have to find what works for us. Sometimes Peat gets very specific and it’s easy to think he’s saying “this applies to everyone,” but really he’s just commenting on something interesting. For example, in various interviews and articles he’s talked about how just adding salt, or adding vitamin K, or adding protein can lower blood pressure. None of these worked for me. I don’t blame Peat and call him wrong though, because there are probably 50 reasons for high blood pressure, and he’s just highlighting a few interesting fixes he’s found. I guess everyone is different and has their own set of issues – Peat has helped me with many of mine and I’m not done with him yet. 🙂

  10. I must say that every time I visit your blog and see that the exquisite images of eggs, honey, coffee, oranges, and cheese are still there, it makes me a little bit happy.

    Of course, I’m sure that potatoes and rice and bone broth can be absolutely beautiful too. 🙂

  11. Lanie,

    Well in my case, I believe my ratios might be skewed in favor of Omega 3’s due to all of the sockeye salmon/sardines/greens, krill oil, that I had been gulping down since quitting veganism. And I don’t think that’s a good thing, partly because I didn’t supplement with any antioxidants to handle all of it.

    On the other hand, my blood lipids all look good, but I attribute that mostly to the chocolate. 🙂

    As far a O3 toxicity is concerned, the dose makes the poison according to Jaminet. Peat, however, believes that Omega 3’s/6’s are toxic at ANY dose, but that a healthy body can handle a smalls amount of toxins.

    I still don’t believe that anyone’s got it all figured out. At the risk of making your head spin, I’m going to ask you to read this article by Brian Peskin. He is a big believer in Parent Essential Oils, both 6 AND 3, and thinks that the overconsumption of their derivatives (particularly when oxidized) are the big problem. I’m not saying that I agree with all of his conclusions -Again, I haven’t drawn conclusions at this point. But I don’t think one can make an adequate for case any of this without at least hearing him out.

    Why Fish Oil Fails: A Comprehensive 21st Century Lipids-Based Physiologic Analysis
    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3914521/

    “Spontaneous autooxidation of blood glucose is a significant cause of diabetic patients’ elevated increased risk of CVD, and marine oils increase plasma glucose levels. Both fish oil supplements and even “oily fish” itself are highly problematic for diabetics. In 2011, researchers looked at the effects on Type II diabetic patients consuming more fish. Only from nonfatty fish, containing more Parent omega-6 and much less EPA/DHA, did the experiment show significantly decreased blood sugar (good outcome). Further, those who ate “fatty” fish saw a decreased insulin output of 21% (bad outcome) compared to those not eating “fatty” fish [67].”

  12. Holy Crikey, this is long! haha.

    Just reading the abstract, they reference “fish oil” over and over….I’d have to read the whole thing to be sure (and I will at some point) but I’d have to guess they’re using fish oil supplements to control the dose – the oil in supplement form is likely to be rancid, unlike the oil in fresh-fish form. So there’s a huge confounding variable, in my opinion, with these fish-oil experiments. Also this is the first time I’ve heard that O6 is better on blood sugar than O3 fats. It’s been my experience that only removing/lowering ALL fats has an effect on blood sugar. But that’s just me, and I couldn’t stick with the diet long enough to get statistically significant data. So we’ll never know…

    Thanks for the article – very interesting stuff.

Leave a Reply

