Not Done. (And labs).

Yeah, I’ve decided to come out of retirement.

That last bout of depression was the worst I’ve experienced.  Not the longest, but the most severe.  I don’t know what’s going on with me.  Things are a bit better now.  Just milldly depressed. Thanks to friends who commented or emailed…I appreciate your support.  I really don’t mean to be this drama mama.  In real life I don’t seek the spotlight at all – I’m content for no one to notice me in the room.  I’m really not all that dramatic.  The blog is a reflection of what’s in my head though…it’s a side of me that no one in my real life gets to see. I guess there’s depression drama in my head.

I have a doctor’s appointment on Monday.  She’ll be checking the labs she ordered and seeing how this beta blocker is doing for my blood pressure.  I’ll also be talking to her about whatever the fuck it is in my abdomen that’s pushing against my ribcage for the last few months.  This might result in more (and expensive) tests, and that’s just going to have to be ok.

So how did I do?  Metabolic panel first:

metabolic panel 7-1-14

The diet I’m currently following is 95% starch free – I’d say most days I eat none, every few days I might have a bite or two of something with starch in it.  Also, it’s 95% free of glucose and fructose.  Very little juice, fruit, or table sugar.  I’m eating mostly protein, fat, and vegetables, leaning harder on the vegetables and bone-broth based soups than I used to when low-carbing.  I’m getting most of my carbohydrate calories from milk (lactose) and vegetables, around 100g of carb a day.  My diet when I had these labs done was about 50% fat, and the rest split between carbohydrate and protein.  When I became severely depressed, I had eaten a couple of bananas (they’re high in potassium, trying to bring down blood pressure).  No more bananas. Stupid starch.

Ok, let’s see what’s changed over the last couple of months:

Blood sugar and Hb-A1C are a bit improved but still high.  Not high enough to be considered diabetic though (diabetic = 126 on the fasting glucose, and 6.5 on the Hb-A1C, according to the values that came with the labs).  The far right column on the chart is the current lab “normal” ranges, which vary a bit from the previous lab I used.  The doc ordered these, so I used their lab.

Carbon Dioxide (CO2) is better now, at 26.  I attribute this to bag breathing.  I haven’t done a lot of it, but for a week or so I did it once or twice a day, while trying to normalize my blood pressure. It didn’t help my blood pressure, but seems to have made a difference in CO2 level.  I’ll continue that once a day.  Traditionally people breathe into paper bags when they are hyperventilating – I’ve been using plastic gallon-sized “food and bread bags” from my local supermarket.  Not as noisy as paper, and not as rigid as Ziploc bags.  You just make a seal over your mouth and nose with the bag and breathe normally, in through the nose, out through the mouth, until it becomes a little difficult to breathe – at that point the oxygen is about depleted, and it’s time to stop.

BUN/Creatinine ratio is slowly dropping, probably because I don’t eat as much meat as I used to.  I still eat it every day, but it used to be every meal.  Now a lot of my protein comes from dairy and bone/oxtail broths and soups.

Everything else is unremarkable.

Ok, now for the lipid panel:

lipids

Again, this is about a month into eating 100-120g of carbohydrate daily, with very little fructose/glucose or starch in my diet.

  • Total cholesterol dropped almost 50 points.
  • Triglycerides almost halved.
  • HDL up from 30 to 42.
  • LDL able to be computed now.

I guess I don’t handle carbohydrates well.  More veggies, less carbs. When I eat this way I feel good.

The recent depression has been related to eating starches, as usual.  They’re off my plate permanently now.  Or until I can figure out why that happens and fix it.

6 thoughts on “Not Done. (And labs).

  1. Liking your co2 now. Step in the right direction. Fasting sugar is still high even with minimal carbs so obviously its not from dietary source. The hormones that can raise your sugar would be catecholamines, cortisol, GH. Hard to make sugar out of fat so it will have to come from protein. So keep that up. Else it will come from your muscles. Total cholesterol in within reason. A little thyroid would lower the LDL but you wont be able to take thyroid with this little carb intake.

    Liking the dairy, bone broths/oxtails etc. Should be rich in minerals and low in serotonin. Greek yogurt instead of dairy would drop the tryptophan even more. Taking some magnesium glycinate also? The gelatin and broths should be soothing to your intestines. Not sure about vegetables. Root vegetables should be safer.

  2. I do take mag glycinate – 400 mg per day right now. Root vegetables like what? I eat carrots, potatoes are out (starch)…beets? parsnips?

  3. Makes sense. When you eat starches they are there to ferment it and cause trouble also raising serotonin. Just because you are not symptomatic when not eating starches doesnt mean they are gone.

Leave a Reply

