My Boy’s Wicked Smart

Research I’ve done in the last 24 hours as well as a couple more emails exchanged with Dr. Peat have resulted in me completely understanding everything Peat does.  It kind of crashed over my head like a big wave today.  I want to write it all down so I don’t forget it, but my head is swimming so I’m pretty sure it would just be in bits and pieces anyway.

One thing I love about Ray Peat is that he’s just so…smart.  I mean, if his IQ was an animal it would be a whale.  If it was an international conflict, it would be the Middle East.  If it was a baby it’s mother would have had gestational diabetes.  He’s like this:

 

“My boy’s wicked smaaht.”

Anyway, what I like is how when you write to Peat, you tell him why your writing, of course, maybe give a little context.  And he’s no fool – he knows that he can’t just go ahead and give medical advice over the internet – the liability would be too great, plus he doesn’t really know much about the person on the other end, so doing so would be irresponsible.  So what does he do?  First of all, he completely ignores the question you ask, because inevitably, unless you’ve been at this a LONG TIME, you’re probably asking the wrong question.  Instead, he tells you what you need to hear.  And he’s REALLY GOOD at determining what it is you need to hear from these few sentences of context you’ve given him.  But HOW he tells you is pretty brilliant too.  He doesn’t just say, “You should really take some aspirin.”  No, he states what he knows about physiology (as it pertains to your issue) and then cites a bunch of research that tells you what he thinks you should do, without overtly saying it in so many words.  In other words you have to do your own work and draw your own conclusions, but he makes it clear what direction he thinks you should look.

Brilliant.

Anyway, what I’m looking at now is reducing cortisol.  Here’s what Ray said to me in an email today.

Free unsaturated fatty acids turn on the stress hormones, and cortisol blocks oxidation of sugar and turns it into fatty acids and triglycerides. Keeping cortisol and stress low is the main thing. Keeping a high ratio of calcium to phosphate helps to oppose the stress metabolism.

And he listed a bunch of research on high cortisol causing metabolic problems, and on the use of niacinamide for reducing triglycerides.

Ray Medina would say that my gut health – specifically reducing gut leakiness – is key for reducing cortisol.  Peat seems to be leaning toward PUFAs causing high cortisol.  In any case, mine is high, and I’m going to do everything I can to lower it.  More red light, more sugar, more sleep, better macronutrient balance at meals.

Today I ate 4 meals, and each had protein/fat/carbohydrates.  In most cases the carbs were fruit or OJ – at dinner I had some rice.  I also took niacinamide and aspirin, 100mg of each, 3 times throughout the day.  Lastly I took a couple mcg of T3 at 2 different times today.  I felt really good all day – good energy, good mood, good blood sugar control.  I even felt really happy for a while there.

This way of eating and supplementing feels right and I’m going to continue it.

4 thoughts on “My Boy’s Wicked Smart

  1. Apparently if you let the rice cool after cooking it increases the RS. Already seems like your gut flora changed enough?

  2. ….and I’m being told that my high catecholamines are directly the result of turned on genes, specifically 2 homozygous COMT snp’s, out of a total of ten, in my methylation cycle. I was Peating and T3’ing in the spring, to warm up and improve thyroid ratios. I was energetic, feeling better until I “crashed” my adrenals and was bedridden for three days with raging catecholamines. I haven’t been the same since. Who to believe…Ray, Ray or epigeneticists? They’re likely all intricately integrated.
    Can you share his email address? I haven’t located it anywhere.

  3. Well interesting you say that….I tried eating some cooked at cooled potatoes a couple days ago and felt fine mood-wise but it definitely increased gas and bloating. The RS proponents think that’s fine, but Ray Medina says having lots of gas all the time can lead to diverticulitis. Plus it’s obnoxious. It seems there are ways to feed beneficial bacteria in the colon without RS.

    Coffee, for example: https://attachment.fbsbx.com/file_download.php?id=551633651609147&eid=ASs-5PfvQFPMaIAQgZZgiLsCPWWcu-h8s5IXT3a9OqxekkTF6uzSHQ9ndvJ8Kx4JCl8&inline=1&ext=1406297836&hash=ASv7CvIOnZTJaXlH

    Also, garlic contains inulin, a prebiotic. Taking inulin in supplement form hasn’t caused any intestinal gas/bloating for me either. So I’m not sure I see the benefit to intentionally adding resistant starch in food, supplement, or otherwise.

    My gut flora has definitely changed. Mood problems are gone – not even close anymore. I don’t think the problem was serotonin – I think it was endotoxin. The garlic was really effective for reducing the problem to imperceptible levels.

  4. raypeat at gmail dot com.

    It is hard to know which way to look when there’s lots of conflicting information. You probably know this, but RP seems to believe environment far outweighs genetics. Still, he may have some insight for you.

Leave a Reply

