Better

I stopped all supplements except for a few that I feel are important and which I’m pretty sure are not causing problems.  The ones I’m still taking:

  • Progesterone (Progest E)
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin E
  • Vitamin K

The one’s I’ve stopped taking, for now:

  • Aspirin
  • Niacinamide
  • Magnesium Glycinate
  • L-Theanine
  • B vitamins (was recently experimenting with B1 and B2)
  • Thyroid (was recently experimenting with T3 and T3/T4)

Last night I slept 8 solid hours for the first time in a long time.  Also blood in stools is gone.

Still have heartburn at stupid times, like after eating anything at all…but I notice a couple of raw carrots stop it.

I have no idea what to eat anymore.  I’ve about given up on feeling happy.  I just don’t want to have a stroke or heart attack and be a burden to my family.  Seriously, these are the thoughts I have.

5 thoughts on “Better

  1. What is wrong with just a simple back-to-basics diet, a non-controversial, non-fad, plain old “healthy” diet, non-vegan, non-vegetarian, non-everything, just eating a significant percentage of calories from fresh ripe organic fruits and vegetables, plus modest amounts of various other foods such as dairy, eggs, fish, nuts & seeds, and occasional consumption of liver, oysters, and grass-fed beef? Nothing too extreme. With respect to the nuts & seeds, eat them raw and preferably soaked (to deactivate lectins & phytates), not roasted (which damages the fats), or eat only hemp seeds, macademia nuts, and ground flax & chia seeds within the nut & seed category, since none of those need to be soaked. Everything in moderation, except eat as much fruits (only ripe ones) and vegetables as you like. Avoid only grains, processed foods, and conventionally-farmed animal foods. Why not just follow that approach? Or any other approach that has been shown to work successfully for millions of people for centuries across continents?

  2. So, are you continuing K for its clotting factor, as it shortens clotting time? With concerns of stroke, perhaps you’d rather not increase clotting potential. Just a thought. I feel your frustration. I’m on this aggravating, mystery train ride too. It often just plain sucks. I’ve also dropped the mountain of supplements. I’m paired down, currently, to antioxidants to address elevated lipid peroxidation, adrenal support, and neurotransmitter support. My serotonin and GABA were low, not elevated. Niacinimide had me in a depressive tailspin. Oh, and my biggie has been the newfound understanding that our good ol gelatin can wreak havoc on the brain due to the glutamic acid (think MSG). I was experiencing terrifying dementia like symptoms until I was directed to drop the gelatin! Glutamate does some amazing things but for some with impaired uptake, in excess it causes major problems. Scroll halfway through this article for the nitty gritty (I know, it’s only Wicki….but Dr. Amy Yasko is on to this problem in her work with autism). Anyway….I, too, just don’t know who to believe any more. Peating revved me up, crashed my adrenals like never before, and messed with my sanity. I’m improving since backing off and shifting my focus to sugar regulation and easing into methylation issues based on my genetic profile. He is right about one thing: everything in context. We are unique.
    http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Glutamic_acid

  3. Thanks, Susie – I’ll take a look!

    I’m most interested in vitamin K for the bone and teeth health, and also to avoid calcification of soft tissues (and arteries). Weston A. Price logic, I guess. I know K is necessary for clotting, but I’m not sure extra K means more clotting.

  4. Sounds good to me, Martin. I never liked nuts and seeds much anyway so I don’t mind omitting those, but everything else sounds good. Haven’t seen you around the Peat board as much…are you straying off? 🙂 I think sticking too closely to any one paradigm is dangerous, so I’m in favor or keeping one’s eyes wide open. If this bus isn’t getting me where I want to go I’ll get on another!

Leave a Reply

