Beginnings and Endings

My time for writing has become very limited.  I apologize to anyone who has emailed me for not responding quickly.  I’m fatigued and not feeling well, and most hours of of my day are spoken for.  I work full time and then play Mommy for 4-5 hours every night.  At that point I’m usually ready for bed.  The only time I have for myself is [ok, seriously?  As I was typing this my daughter woke up, came out of her room, and climbed onto my lap.  Apparently the only time I have for myself is never!].

So we’ll have to get to the point.  No time for dilly dally.

Bye bye Ray Peat.  My high blood sugar, high blood pressure, high cholesterol, high triglycerides, low energy and low libido are just not that into you anymore. Thanks for the progesterone and the anti-PUFA information.  I’ll take that with me.  My body doesn’t handle all these carbohydrates well, and it’s about time I faced that.  I’m dealing with constant bloating and fatigue whenever I eat any dense source of carbohydrate now.  I can’t say that eating a Peat-inspired plan caused this, but it didn’t prevent it or fix it.  I suspect Peat is right about a lot of things, but I don’t think he addresses gut health adequately.  No carrot salad is going to clear this up (I’ve tried it).

I’ve moved on to something else. I’ve found a functional medicine practitioner to work with (or rather, she found me).  I’ve started working with Amelia Luker through Nourish Balance Thrive.  She’s an RN who studied the Kalish Method, which is apparently a respected functional medicine approach.  I’ve already had my initial consultation with Amelia and my nutrition coaching session with Julie Kelly, and testing supplies are on the way.  They routinely do the testing I’ve wanted to do for a while, but money got in the way, as well as my inexperience with interpreting results.  I have the money now, and these guys seem to be good at the second part.

So far I’ve been very impressed with the Nourish Balance Thrive team.  They’re professional and tech savvy, they seem very personable and competent in their areas of expertise, and everyone’s on time.  When they say they’ll call me at noon, they call me at noon.

Anyway, I’m back to a low-carb nutrient dense diet, avoiding everything that bothers me, which is most carbs.  In the meantime I’ll be getting tested with an Adrenal Stress Profile, an Organic Acids Urine Test (to test for nutrient deficiencies), and stool problems.  Amelia and Julie will help me develop a diet and supplement protocol based on the results.  So far I feel good low carbing again.  Blood sugar swings have lessened considerably.  I’m not constantly needing to eat.  Appetite is dropping.

I’ll report as things go on.

Unrelated but interesting.  My daughter suddenly decided she doesn’t want to drink milk anymore.  So she’s been off milk for a week.  Suddenly the constipation she’s had since she started drinking milk a year ago is gone.  Amazing.  She’s eating cheese with no problem, which suggests to me that it’s the lactose in the milk (as opposed to the casein) that’s the problem for her.  I ordered some Lactase drops in case she wants milk again.  I’m reluctant to discontinue dairy completely because a) she loves cheese, and b) it’s got lots of calcium, and I don’t think I can get her to eat enough dark leafy greens to make up for it.  So this is the plan for now.  The Peat folks always like to say try different kinds of milk till you find one that works for you – Well, we’ve tried many different kinds and never found one that didn’t constipate her.  Conventional, organic, grass fed, lactose-free, goats milk.  We don’t have access to raw milk and I’m not sure I’d give that to her anyway.  I guess it’s weird that lactose-free milk didn’t seem to make a difference.  Anyway, we never found an acceptable milk and she never developed the appropriate enzymes to deal with drinking milk (if that is, indeed, the problem).  Probably because there’s a gut issue that’s unaddressed.

I’m rambling now. Time to go be Mommy.

15 thoughts on “Beginnings and Endings

  1. Cheese is a great way to get milk into your daughter. Frozen yogurt? Ice creams? Kids love those.

    https://www.gdx.net/product/organix-dysbiosis-test-urine

    Are they doing something like this? Would like to see the numbers on D-lactate and others. Hope your insurance will cover these when you get it. You are missing bifido. Not sure if the probiotic capsules you tried are designed to to be acid resistant. Plus they need something to munch on something which you are unable to handle at present.

    So far no success with lowering serotonin by carrot salads. But Peating definitely better than dumping supplements that dont seem to make a difference. Easiest way I know to fix adrenal fatigue for sure. The change in labs there are remarkable. Thyroid does wonders for lowering LDL for sure. TG do go up with carb intake. I think your liver is overloaded with endotoxin to deal with the daily metabolic needs efficiently. The need to eat often is a lack of liver glycogen stores. Keep your carbs to at least PHD levels so you dont step into another VLC trap. Niacinamide seems to work somewhat.

  2. ^ I agree.
    Your path sounds familiar. I, too, have gone full circle, passing through Peat as well. My sugar and cholesterol went sky high as well, which I was told was a natural defense response. My nervous system also became hyper reactive, which was my worst symptom, driving cortisol/adrenaline high, disrupting sleep and making me generally an anxiety ridden train wreck. My second worst symptom class included low energy and complete stress intolerance, including exercise intolerance. I learned the hard way after experiencing severe “crashes”, landing me in bed for days. I’m working with a DO naturopath in Ann Arbor: Tony Boggess. I had a mountain of testing done already but was missing a comprehensive interpretation and plan for recovery. At my worst, the carb count of a carrot launched my adrenaline, making it impossible to follow PHD. Dr. Boggess prefers to not needlessly label conditions, but said if he were to label mine, it was Neuro immune dysfunction syndrome. Basically, about every body system becomes whacky and unstable, making the condition very difficult to sift through. Many of these so called syndromes are just describing the same constellation of multi system problems. Instead, he hits the problems in a particular hierarchy, one layer at a time. After checking for deficiencies, gut, whole blood testing, and running genetics we treated 1. Glycemic control first 2. Neurotransmitters 3. Gut biome 4. Mitochondrial ATP support. I’ve had HUGE improvement over four months. Next up he’ll begin 5. methylation correction and will finally address 6. environmental toxins, neither of which cart can be placed before the horse. I’m not well yet, but I now sleep adequately, mood has stabilized, food reactivity has minimized and energy has improved, sugar is normal and cholesterol down 70 points to 200. I have yet to resume exercise and must vigilantly watch my “energy envelope” capacity (as per the chronic fatigue layer of my syndrome). Finding someone you trust, lifting the recovery burden from your hourly mind, will be an immense relief in and of itself.

  3. I’m pretty sure they do a GI Effects Microbial Ecology Profile (here: http://www.nourishbalancethrive.com/product/genova-2205-gi-pathogen-screen/) and a GI Pathogen Screen (here: http://www.nourishbalancethrive.com/product/biohealth-401h-gi-pathogen-screen/). I don’t know if insurance would cover it but I’m doing it now, so probably not. It’s ok, It’s worth it to me to get this ball rolling now. I’m very tired of feeling bad.

    I’m no longer sure about all this serotonin stuff. My dad has Parkinson’s and when he started taking Carbadopa to increase dopamine he became very depressed. It seems to me the increase in dopamine resulted in a decrease in serotonin, hence the depression. I’m just not convinced anymore that high serotonin is a problem. I think my depression was a direct result of the endotoxin produced by some strain of bacteria. I’m not sure serotonin has anything to do with it. I could be wrong, but I’m not seeing much evidence to support Peat’s ideas that high serotonin = depression.

    I disagree that the need to eat is about glycogen stores. When I was eating sugar all day long my appetite was always high. I’m not trying to keep my carbs up right now. I’m very concerned about my high blood sugar that has resulted from eating sugar. I’m making a U-turn. I don’t see options right now. My health is of grave concern and getting worse eating sugar.

  4. What a find with that practitioner! A DO Naturopath – the best of both worlds. I want to go read your other comments now and see the progression. 🙂 Glad things are turning around for you – those results are awesome! I think it’s possible Peat is right about many things, but I can’t ignore the evidence that is being presented to me every day – I just don’t feel good. And I couldn’t have said it any better about finding someone to trust and not having to do all the figuring out myself. I’ve devoted myself to following Amelia’s instructions because I’m so tired of trying to fix myself. It’s already a relief, and we haven’t even done much yet. Thanks for the update on you.

  5. Well you could substitute endotoxin instead. Same thing I suppose. Endotoxin is definitely the cause of obesity and inflammation. I think the serum serotonin is just a number that tells you your intestines are unhappy. I am not sure how that related to the brain levels. That could be different. Interesting post on sugar on FTA today 🙂
    http://freetheanimal.com/2015/01/hormesis-afraid-unrefined.html

  6. Slowly been increasing starches in various forms trying to bump up RS3 intake. So far so good.

  7. Hi Lanie – found your blog via Exceptionally Brash – only had time for quick skim today but will definitely be back to read more! I’ve been on the thyroid roller-coaster myself (having lost my thyroid to carcinoma almost 25.5 yrs ago)… Frustrated w/advice of my endocrinologist that this is “as good as it gets”, I have likewise consulted w/naturopaths, chiropractors, & others to optimize my energy & fight creeping obesity.
    Susie, wish you had a blog bcz “we’re all in this together”, ain’t we??!!??

  8. Hey Val – welcome! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It means a lot to me to have you and others reading this rag. haha. We can all learn from each other.

  9. Im sorry to hear of your problems. I just want to throw my thoughts into the mix. I am unclear as to why many folks seem to think Dr. Peat recommends a high carb diet across the board. Never seen that as a blanket recommendation. In fact I’ve heard him say a 33/33/33 pro/fat/carb ratio is a good place to start. By most peramters, that’s a low carb diet. I believe Peat’s main recommendations are where you get your macros/calories from, rather than specific amounts. Carbs from sucrose, rather than starch, all fats saturated, and a balanced amino acid profile for proteins. Avoiding contaminants and endotoxins as diligently as needed for a persons current state of health. If your blood glucose, blood pressure, and triglycerides are high, you may just be tlong in too much energy in general for your current metabolism.

  10. Hey VJ – That’s a good point about the 33/33/33 – I don’t know if he does or doesn’t recommend high carb for everyone, but I do know that I can handle absolutely NO SUGAR right now. If I drink orange juice, milk, eat sucrose, fructose, or any other -ose my tongue swells, my gut bloats, and I feel terribly fatigued. Ray Peat is brilliant and I’ll always take with me the things you mentioned (except I think he recommends fructose from juice/fruit far more than he recommends sucrose). However, while following a Peat-inspired diet I managed to find my blood sugar escalating, triglycerides soaring, and blood pressure remaining high, all while not gaining weight (except an initial 5-6 pounds in the very beginning), so I’m not sure about your theory that I’m just eating too much. Not only that but I’ve now got gut problems that may not have been CAUSED by my diet but weren’t prevented or treated by it. I think Peat is great for those who are healthy, to help them remain healthy. I’m not healing on a Peat diet. Thanks for visiting. 🙂

  11. I came across the work of Ray Peat two years ago. In that time, I have gone off and on the “Peat” lifestyle about 10 times, lol. I kept coming back to it, because it makes sense.

    It took a long time for me to get the diet down. I too suffered with crippling anxiety and high cholesterol as a result of the diet. But I realized that was just a result of doing things wrong.

    Don’t blame the carbs. Carbs are our preferred fuel source. Anyone who tells you fat and protein are, clearly don’t pay attention to the mounds of documents of evidence against it. Most proteins are extremely inflammatory, and create liver and kidney stress to some extent, as well as compromise intestinal health.

    I would love to hear your typical day on the “Peat Diet”. There are so many interpretations of it, and most are wrong.

    A day for me may go like this:
    Breakfast:
    A bowl of Organic red grapes, with a nice chunk of rennet cheese.
    Snack: 16 ounces of OJ, with 2 TBSP beef gelatin powder or beef liver powder.
    Lunch: shrimp, coffee with cream and simple syrup (I don’t use straight sugar, since sugar is a dissachirde and can cause gut issues. Making simple syrup turns table sugar into a monosaccharide).
    Snack: 16 oz whole milk, simple sugar
    Dinner: oysters, well cooked broccoli, hash browns cooked in coconut oil.
    Snack: 16 oz milk with simple syrup.

    This is my far the healthiest diet I have ever been on.

    I take an occasional aspirin tablet, dissolved in hot water (not drinking the starch). I take vitamin E, and coral calcium as well. That’s it.

    The reason I use whole milk is for caloric purposes only. I lose too much weight when I drink fat free or 1% milk.

  12. Hi Susan – I wrote this almost 2 years ago, and since then I’ve reintroduced dairy and seem to tolerate it fine. Thank you though!

  13. I’m aware of the date of your post. I dunno if you watched the other video I commented, because I didn’t follow that post and I don’t know which one it was. But I hope you did watch it. Eating animals and their byproducts is very bad for your health. I’m not saying it will help your digestive issues, but certainly your diabetes (and the planet, watch Cowspiracy on Netflix if you haven’t). http://www.forksoverknives.com/obesity-its-not-about-the-carbs/

    I found your blog because I was diagnosed with hydrogen dominant SIBO (I’ve had severe diarrhea for years, since I had food poisoning in 2008. And a vegan diet hasn’t helped my gut issues at all, but it would certainly help with your weight/diabetes and blood pressure and stuff. Plus the bonus of helping the planet, and not contributing to animal suffering through what you choose to eat.

  14. I have nothing against a vegetarian or even a vegan diet – and in fact, I’ve tried them periodically, including during the time I’ve had this blog. However, I can’t tolerate eating fiber or starch right now because I have an allergic reaction to the serotonin produced in the gut when I eat them. Animal products are some of the only things I can eat without my tongue swelling, my frontal lobe becoming impaired, and my becoming depressed because of this autoimmune reaction I’m having to serotonin. I’ve started taking a serotonin antigen that helps somewhat, but it’s not a cure and I still have to avoid most fiber and starch. If I didn’t have this problem I would have no problem at all trying what you suggest.

Leave a Reply

