Bah

Well, things turned to shit in the last couple of days.  Too much resistant starch, probably, and I became irritable and depressed, like so many times before.  I had about 3 tablespoons of cooked and cooled rice per day for a couple days – 1 TBS with each meal – and that put me over the edge.  I’ve been more depressed than this, so it could be worse, but I was really hoping the good Elixa bugs would crowd out this gram negative monster in my gut.  So far, not crowding.  That mother is alive and well.

I received my VSL3 probiotic in the mail yesterday.  I’m feeling deflated at this point.  If 3 trillion probiotics in 6 days can’t make a dent I’m just not optimistic.

I guess I could just accept that I can’t eat starches.  Ever.  And that if I do choose to eat other things with fiber – say, whole fruits or vegetables – I’m just not going to feel great.  Part of what bothers me about all this is that it’s really expensive to eat nothing but meat.  I want to be able to fill up on rice like my husband, kid, and all of Asia.  I know I’m whining right now, but I don’t care.  I’m just so sick of this.

Zero carb all day every day is gross after a few months.  I really like meat and eggs and they’re simple – no waste, not much appetite, no blood sugar fluctuation, but also no calcium, too much phosphorus, high BUN/Creatinine ratio and metabolic acidosis.  I don’t really know what to do anymore.  I guess I could cut back to one teaspoon of cooked and cooled rice per day and gradually work up.  Then I’ll only feel slightly shitty every day.

I stopped with the rice today, and the tears have again dried up.  Still irritable though.

4 thoughts on “Bah

  1. Hi Lanie. I don’t know if this will help you at all, but I thought it might be worth mentioning. I reduced my starch consumption a lot during the summer which meant I ate more meat. I just did not feel well eating that way. I did eat more veggies to make up for the lack of starch but that tore up my gut pretty badly.

    Then I was reading how Ray Peat recommends gelatin as a way of reducing tryptophan in our diet and he writes a lot about the inflammatory effects of tryptophan and that diabetics particularly tend to convert tryptophan to serotonin. Of course, the irony is that he recommends a high-protein diet which is full of tryptophan. I don’t do well with gelatin so loading up on that for protein is not an option for me.

    So, as an experiment, for the last few weeks I have been eating less protein in order to lower my tryptophan. I have also added more starch back into my diet. I am mostly eating whole foods, like rice, potatoes, oatmeal, as opposed to bread or pasta. I avoid gluten .

    Before, I used to slather cheese or sour cream on all kinds of things in order to increase my protein and dairy consumption. And I would usually have a large serving of meat at least once a day, and two or three eggs with breakfast. Adding it all up, I realized I was consuming a ton of tryptophan each day!

    Now I am consuming smaller portions of meat, which is OK since I have a baked potato along with it or rice. Before I go adding cheese or sour cream to something, I think about how much tryptophan I am consuming in that particular meal and act accordingly.

    This seems to be working quite well for me. I am losing weight steadily, about half a pound a day, it has greatly reduced my appetite. My psoriasis is improving. It seems to be lowering my stress hormones. And my blood sugar is also improving significantly.

    I think for diabetics, tryptophan is something we need to limit. Just thought I would pass this on to you!

  2. I could try more gelatin – thanks for reminding me that this is an option. I tend to feel really good eating meat, so I’m not convinced that the trypophan theory is the case for me, but I appreciate your perspective on this! Thank you, Cathy.

  3. My experience has been similar. I think probiotics have a long way to go. They dont really have the strains we need. I am not really convinced about “good bacteria” at this time. Feel free to prove me wrong.

Leave a Reply

