Low Fat/High Carb, Day 6

I’ve been eating a low fat high carbohydrate diet, with no restrictions at all on sugar.  I’m on day 6 of this and so far I’ve lost 2 pounds and my blood sugars, which were trending up recently on moderate fat/moderate carb, have again dropped to pre-diabetic levels.  I feel better eating this way.  When I’ve attempted high-carb/low fat in the past I was using only sugar as the carbohydrate, in either fruit, juice, or granulated form.  This was unpalatable and unsustainable for me.  This time around I’m also eating a lot of white rice which is more satiating for me than sugar, and I’m finding it very easy to stick to.

Here’s my Cronometer from yesterday:

crono

I need to add some more greens to round out the nutrients, but this is basically what I’ve been doing for the past week.  Also making lots of oxtail broth.  I guess I may have stepped back into Ray Peat land.

My family is breaking up.  I’m really sad about it, but I know I’ve done the best I could do.  My poor health played a role, but my husband’s lack of commitment played a bigger one.  I guess this is just life.  Anyone have a good resource for keeping kids sane when their parents break up?

3 thoughts on “Low Fat/High Carb, Day 6

  1. I came from a “broken home” myself and it’s a legacy I swore that I would never leave to my kids. Obviously I was SO wrong on that. Having been on both sides of it, I can say for certain that if a person isn’t truly happy in the relationship then they will never commit enough of themselves to actually make things work. It’s okay, we all survive it….thrive even AND ARE BETTER OFF FOR IT. You will be too. I don’t have a resource for keeping kids sane, per se. Just a few thoughts based on my personal experience:

    1) Be as civil as possible throughout the breakup, I made a commitment to myself to never utter unkind words regarding their father nor demonstrate bitterness especially in front of my children. Venting with a girlfriend is perfectly acceptable, but NEVER within earshot of your child.

    2) I spent as much time as humanly possible with my kids, deemed myself the Smother Mother. QUANTITY, I think, pays off immensely. As they grew in to teens I knew exactly who their friends were and also insisted on meeting their parents. I made my home the place where they wanted to hang out so I could keep a watchful eye/ear. This was enormously inconvenient as my home is tiny, but so worth it!

    3) Take the best care of yourself. Feed yourself and your child deeply nutritious food, stress from a break up will rapidly deplete nutrients so it’s good to go above and beyond. When they get to be teens they do their own thing food-wise, so your window of influence shrinks quickly.

    4) Getting outside for a walk every day, rain or shine, whether you feel like it or not. We went to parks, the library, a pond to feed the ducks, or just around the neighborhood…every day.

    5) Someday, when you’re ready to date again, DON’T introduce men to your child. Save your dating for the weekends when your daughter is at her dad’s. At all costs, shield her from that.

    6) The BEST thing that you can do for your kid NOW is to give her responsibilities, little jobs to keep her busy and give a sense of helping out. I had a list of chores that needed to be done cuz I COULD NOT do it all. I paid a quarter or 50 cents for each household job, depending on what it was. I paid up at the end of the week, that was their allowance, they had to EARN it. I taught them to do their own laundry (age 10) and help with cooking too. When it came time to learn to drive they had to get a part-time job to pay for their own insurance/gas, but by then they were used to working/saving money and paying for some of their own stuff. At age 18 my oldest was attending college AND managing the local pizza place where he’d worked since he was 15. My youngest put himself through a vocational program while saving every dime he ever earned. He bought himself his own home at age 21. Both flew the nest by age 20.

    My point is my kids were waaay too busy to get in to trouble because I gave them freedom AND the responsibility that goes with it from a very young age. EMPOWER your child to make good decisions for herself while you demonstrate the very same….consistently. I feel so strongly about this that it bears repeating: The power/responsibility to make good decisions for themselves is what keeps kids safe and sane.

    7) Lots of communities have divorce care groups, those might be helpful….or useless, I dunno.

    Hang in there Lanie, the BEST IS YET TO COME!!!

  2. Meme, I want to be just like you when I grow up. You’re awesome. Thank you for the wonderful advice. How old were your kids when you split up? Also, do you think I could email you?

  3. Yes most certainly you can email me….or call me on the phone (cuz I’m a slow typer) or I’ve Skyped once and found that to be fun…xoxo

Leave a Reply

