Labs

Some updated labs this week.  First, some background information, for those not following along….In February 2015 I adopted a low carb Paleo diet as well as lots of supplements recommended by my advisers at Nourish Balance Thrive.  I felt great for a while but after a while started to have a lot of sugar cravings and my hair began falling out at an accelerated rate.  I also started feeling tired and stopped losing weight.  In September I started eating carbs again, and in the middle of December (about 10 days prior to these labs) I dropped fat way down to about 25g/day and kept carbs high at about 250-300g/day.

So how are things going?

Let’s take a look at the basic metabolic panel first (click to enlarge):

Metabolic Panel

Notable items:

  • HbA1C: 6.4 (high)
  • BUN/Creatinine Ratio 28 (high, but improved)
  • Carbon Dioxide – 28 (much improved)
  • ALT (liver enzymes) – 39 (worse)

Fasting blood sugar somewhat improved (honestly I’m happy if it’s under 110).  HbA1C would have been in the 5’s if I would have tested it during low carb, but currently it’s high (6.4).  Considering that it reflects an average blood sugar over the last 3 months I’m not surprised by this.  During one of the last 3 months I was eating relatively high fat and high carb and the same time and my blood sugars were trending up.  This was improving over the last several weeks when I eliminated most fat.  Still, it’s not good and is still in the diabetic range.   BUN/Creatinine ratio tends to go up when I’m eating a lot of meat, and meat has been my biggest source of protein these days.  CO2 – better, and important in Peat world.  ALT – worse.  Fatty liver caused by….the tablespoon of honey I’ve been putting in my tea?  The tablespoon of sugar I’m sprinkling over out-of-season berries?  High carbs?  Dunno.

Next – Lipid Panel:

Lipid Panel

AAAAAAaaaand here’s where we run into some more serious trouble:

Notable elements: everything.

Cholesterol still high but much improved over my low-carb labs.  Triglycerides.  Seriously?  Look that that monster.  477.  I haven’t been eating that much sugar – most of my carbs come from white rice.  So I’m pretty confused at this point what is actually causing my trigs to be that high.  I know sugar can do that but I didn’t know glucose did that.  Any biochemists out there care to enlighten me?  With high triglycerides seems to come a dropping of HDL cholesterol and imminent death.  If I don’t come back you’ll know why.

And finally, thyroid.  I only had TSH tested because that’s all my doc would order and thus all my insurance would pay for:

Thyroid

Hey look – my TSH is the best ever in the history of me.  Thank you for that, carbs.

So to summarize, I can’t continue on this way.  I eat low carb high fat and my thyroid suffers.  I eat high carb, low fat and my triglycerides skyrocket. High fat/high carb and I’ve got blood sugar problems.  High fiber causes depression via endotoxin poisoning (see here and here for just two of the many examples of this).

Perhaps the answer isn’t in my diet.

My doc called me the morning after these labs were processed and told me she wanted to make an appointment to discuss my labs. I feel like I’ve been called to the principal’s office.  My appointment is later today. I’m sure she’ll be pushing the Lipitor and the Metformin.  I’ve been giving a lot of thought over the last few days as to how I’ll be handling this.  I think what I’m going to do is start exercising daily and stop thinking so much about food.  I’ll do the best I can to follow a nutrient dense diet and let the macros take care of themselves – probably fewer carbs early in the day and more later in the day – while getting at least 45 minutes per day of exercise – a combination of walking/cardio and strength training.

I know the first week or two is the hardest.  I was an athlete the first half of my life, and a gym rat until about 8 years ago.  I just need to get over the initial resistance until it starts feeling good again.  No nazi trainers this time.  I’m just going to do it.

I’ve been phasing out the supplements I’ve been taking, and making more of an effort to get nutrition through food.  I’ll be continuing this.

My personal life is still a bit of a mess, but things are stable at the moment.  Stable enough to start taking better care of myself and start remembering who I am and what I’ve given up over the years.

22 thoughts on “Labs

  1. The low carb caused physiological insulin resistance–especially in the muscles as the body tried to conserve glucose–HIIT or heavy weight training while low carbing probably would have made that go away. It probably explains the higher blood glucose and probably too much gluconeogenesis…probably from too much protein. less protein, more fat could have made a difference then as well.) The increased Trig/ALT show hepatic insulin resistance / fatty liverfrom your high carb diet. 20% of starch and 100% of fructose goes straight to the liver. If glycogen reserves are full, it pumps it out as triglycerides trying to get rid of it.

    In any event, expecting good glucose control while going through the stress of divorce and pumping out cortsol isn’t realistic. Get the stress down. Do Exercise, HIIT/heavy resistance training, meditate, laugh, do stuff you enjoy, get to sleep on time, sleep in, etc

  2. BTW, to answer your question, your’re insulin resistant. Even though it’s 20%, technically in your case it’s higher,since the muscles and fat aren’t accepting the carbs since they are “closed for business” due to insulin resistance, more of that glucose floats around and puts more pressure on your liver to deal with it instead which it does by converting it to triglycerides and sending it out that way.

    Exercise (especially heavy weight lifting and HIIT) will open your muscles for business to accept more glucose. Losing weight opens the fat cells for business as well since as their fat storage decreases, they become more insulin sensitive.

  3. “In any event, expecting good glucose control while going through the stress of divorce and pumping out cortsol isn’t realistic.”

    LOL. I guess not. Thanks for explaining this all to me, SWOT.

  4. Wow…wordpress really has messed up message threads. Thanks for your analysis on the insulin resistance thing. I think you’re right and I’ll focus on HIIT and weights.

  5. Only if you think lower HDL, and higher ALT, Triglycerides pointing to worserning hepatic insulin resistance and NAFLD and improvement. I think Peat is a bigger quack than Kruse.

  6. I would be more worried about a rising LDL. Isnt yours now 142 from 230? While your thyroid function improved?

  7. Ah. Look on the bright side! Co2 is way higher than it was. A high HDL is just another marker of stress not necessarily a good sign. LDL is way down which means more precursors for steroids and bye bye adrenal fatigue. TSH is down which is great. Fasting sugars have come down which means insulin resistance is likely lower. ALT in the 30’s is not a danger sign. All in all much better numbers considering the stress shes on right now.

  8. You might like the following video. Wife has adrenal fatigue, husband has T2DM. Doctor fixes them up.

  9. Hey – some really good ideas in there. I liked the beginner level HIIT and the accupuncture for hot flashes. I’ll be trying both of these. Thanks for the link – great show. 🙂

  10. I just don’t understand why they call what looks like powerwalking “HIIT”. When I do HIIT, I’ll do 8-15 second sprints at maximum capacity. Starting out with 4 or so and work your way up from there.

  11. I actually started meditating on a daily basis a week ago. I probably won’t get around to the accupuncture right away, so we’ll see if this helps.

Leave a Reply

