Keto – 1 Month Review

About a week and a half ago – 3 weeks into eating a LCHF diet – I added high intensity interval training (HIIT), as often as time permits, which isn’t much – I think I’ve had 4 sessions since I started.  I do 30 seconds of running uphill (5.5 mph, 6% incline), and then 4 minutes of slow walking (2 mph, 0 incline).  Repeat 4 more times.  So really I’m doing only about 5 minutes of hard work per week.  Since I started this I’ve lost 5 pounds and my fasting blood sugar has dropped from around 114, where it’s been stuck for 3 weeks, to about 102.  Post-prandial blood sugar (at 2 hours) is usually in the 80s.

I’m sleeping better, I have more energy, my mood is better than when I was eating carbs every day.

My usual diet:

  • Breakfast: eggs (1 whole egg plus 2 egg yolks cooked in coconut oil) and 1/2 of an avocado.  Sometimes a couple ounces of meat if I’m particularly hungry, but I notice ketones drop quickly if I eat too much protein.
  • Snack (because I can’t make it the 6 hours till lunch without one): bulletproof coffee (16 oz coffee with 2 Tbs unsalted grassfed butter and 2 Tbs MCT oil.  Yes, I’m using the actual, authentic mycotoxin-free upgraded coffee from Mr. Bulletproof himself).
  • Lunch: 1/2 avocado, 1-2 Tbs. homemade mayo, about 4 oz of chicken/fish/steak, a bunch of kalamata olives.
  • Snack – whatever coffee is still in my thermos, maybe some macadamia nuts
  • Dinner – a small-medium portion of whatever my family eats – last night it was cod cooked in butter.  I have been avoiding the veggies to see if it makes a difference one way or the other.

I’m hungriest in the morning, and have been eating till I’m not hungry anymore.  I might experiment with getting rid of that last egg white, and see if that reduces hunger by reducing impact on insulin levels.

Current supplements:

Medications:

  • Hydrochlorothiazide – 25mg/day (for hypertension)
  • Methyldopa – 250mg 3x/day (for hypertension)

I quit taking the Metformin.  It made my breasts stupid big and really sore and after 3 weeks it just wasn’t going away.  I figured I could manage without it eating Keto anyway.  So it’s gone.  Now, a couple weeks later, my bras still don’t quite fit.  Hot flashes are starting to come back as hormone levels return to baseline.

Marriage update:  Things are on cruise control.  It’s a real pain in the ass to split up.  For now, we’re just getting through the day to day, no movements in that direction.  He doesn’t want to split up and I’m not sure my life would be better if we did.  We get along well so it’s not painful.  Not the marriage I thought I had, but many things in my life are wonderful, so this is fine for now.

A request was made for my extremely easy homemade mayo recipe.  I have to admit it’s not MINE, exactly, because I got it from here.  I did tweak it a little so I’ll share the recipe as I make it:

Coconut Oil Mayonnaise

Equipment:

  • 1 glass jar with a mouth wide enough to accommodate a stick blender. I’ve used Vlasic dill pickle jars and 16-oz wide mouth Mason jars.  Both are great.
  • A stick blender (I use this one).

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup of fractionated coconut oil (the kind that is liquid).  I use Carrington Farms, which is available at Walmart.
  • 1 Tbs lemon juice (more if you like it a little more sour)
  • 1/4 tsp salt

Instructions:

  • Put everything in the jar.
  • Get the stick blender and put it in the jar, resting it on the bottom of the jar.
  • Hold on to the jar.  (<– Once I didn’t do this and the jar spun right off the counter onto the floor.  A serious waste of good ingredients).
  • Turn on the blender for 20-30 seconds, moving it up and down a little to incorporate all of the liquid into the emulsified mayo.
  • Done!  Refrigerate for up to 2 weeks.

Some info about fractionated coconut oil is here.  Apparently it is liquid at room temperature because the long-chain fatty acids are removed, along with some of the health benefits of coconut oil.  I made the mistake of trying this recipe with regular (melted) coconut oil once and found myself with an unacceptably solid final product.  The fractionated oil works well for this recipe, and still has the health benefits associated with MCT oil, without the PUFAs found in other liquid oils.

I’ve tried this recipe with other oils.  Olive oil (“extra light”) tasted good but even good olive oil is 12% PUFA.  The same is true for avocado oil, though I never tried that one.  I tried it once with regular olive oil (not the “extra light”), and it tasted way too strong.  I tried making it in a bowl once, rather than in a glass jar…it didn’t emulsify.  It needs to be in the narrower container to come together.  I already mentioned my foibles with using regular coconut oil and letting the jar spin out of control….Ok, I guess that’s it. The recipe and instructions above has never let me down.

Oh and speaking of PUFA…check this out.  Michael Eades, a long-time leader in the low-carb community seems to be turning his attention away from blaming sugar and towards the evils of PUFA.  Very interesting.  And score one for Ray Peat.

11 thoughts on “Keto – 1 Month Review

  1. “Basically, the lower the FADH2:NADH ratio is, the lower the insulin resistance is. Conversely, the higher the FADH2:NADH ratio, the higher the insulin resistance.
    Carbs generate a low FADH2:NAHD ratio, which means carbs end up generating fewer free radicals and, consequently, lowering insulin resistance. ”

    Seems like hes saying its not the carbs but the PUFA that is a problem. Am I missing something here?

  2. Don’t forget, PUFA in its natural container (seeds/nuts) contains the vitamins/minerals/antioxidants/phytochemicals that are stripped away as oil pressed out into a jar, so expect the negative effect to mitigated when eaten as such…the poison comes with the antidote.

  3. Regarding Eades turning away, I blame both, and I bet seed oils + fructose is worse than either by itself.

  4. N2P – That’s how I read it too. Interesting, no? Aside from the Peat camp, there’s almost 0 outrage to the negative effects of PUFAs. Sugar is everyone’s scapegoat. I thought it was a step in the right direction for someone with a big microphone like Eades to start speaking out on the seriously detrimental effects of PUFA on public health.

  5. SWOT – And that right there accounts for most of the ingredients in typical processed food. Even Trader Joes, known for being a poor man’s Whole Foods, is full of these 2 ingredients. Personally, I think the anti-sugar campaign is off the mark a bit – but the dose makes the poison. With PUFA the dose can be very small and still be a poison.

  6. SWOT – Sure, there are many studies showing the benefits of omega 3’s…but in most cases (including the study linked above) they’re not controlling for Omega 6 intake. In a diet with reduce Omega 6, the Omega 3 is no longer so impressive. In fact, the Omega 3s seem to have a positive effect only because they suppress the immune system, so symptoms lessen. Suppressed immune system = more vulnerable to infection. See this study:

    http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23405155

    …and this write up on it:

    http://gutcritters.com/ulcerative-colitis-and-dietary-pufas/

  7. Agreed…Dose makes the poison. Lustig got grilled in his 2009 youtube video for not saying fructose is “a dose dependent hepatoxin” which he is much more careful to state these days.

    Richard Johnson’s work shows that the amount of fructose absorbed also varies.. Obese absorb pretty much all of it, lean people don’t and they can detect the gasses metabolized by gut bacteria when it travels further down the gut in the lean.

    More fructose exposure upregulates fructokinase in the liver so you can process it quicker. That = more DeNovoLiopgeneis. Lean people typically get 5-10% DNL, Obese typically are 30%.

    Same goes with w3:w6. Too much w3 causes w6 deficiency and you can get the problems you suggest. Udo Erasmus was writing about that back in the early 90’s in his “fat’s that heal, fat’s that kill book”

  8. OTOH, My problem with anti-carb crowd is they don’t realize “it depends”. There are plenty of groups like kitivans and asian rice eaters without metabolic syndrome. Mix in some fructose and PUFAs, and they’ll get it.

    Getting out of it is much more difficult. For an IR/T2D, a LCHF might be needed. Some people just need to cut fructose, and they spontaneously lose weight. Some lower the GI, and it’s enough.

    One size fit’s all doesn’t work.

  9. Well, I’m pretty sure there is some genetic variation in how much seed oils, fructose, High GI, etc., anyone can tolerate before problems start.

    Even in racial groups. Asians tend to develop metabolic syndrome around a BMI of 25, Caucasians around 30, and Africans around 35.

Leave a Reply

