Yeast Free Day 20/ The Plan Day 1

It’s been 10 days since I last lost any fraction of a pound, and honestly I don’t feel any different since starting Diflucan 20 days ago.  I’ll continue to eat yeast free/sugar free/flavor free per doctor’s instructions for the sake of experimentation, but I’m not all that optimistic anymore that yeast alone is causing my problems.

I have noticed that when I eat certain things the scale is up the next day which made me dig out my copy of The Plan by Lyn-Genet Recitas.  Her hypothesis is that each person’s individual biochemistry determines which foods do and don’t work for them, and until you determine which ones those are you’re in a constant struggle against inflammation and weight gain.  She says this accelerates later in life (after age 35 in a much more pronounced way) because as we age our body produces fewer enzymes so digestion becomes impaired.

My own history supports this actually.  Last year I was using antimicrobials and following a diet largely comprised of animal products and vegetables, and I was cruising along losing lots of weight for a couple of months between March and April – In fact I lost 15 pounds in about 6 weeks time.  Then I added the Bionic Fibers recommended to me by the practitioner I was working with at the time.  I became depressed and weight loss stopped. Even when I stopped the fibers and went back to the previous diet and supplement regimen I was unable to lose any more weight.  I think inflammation was still too high.  It wasn’t the diet holding the reigns, or even the supplements – but the inflammation.  Interesting, right?  Over the next several months I regained the weight.

The Plan addresses this pattern by helping you identify which foods are inflammatory for YOU (or in this case for ME).  It starts with a 3 day “detox” eating only foods that are very unlikely to be reactive.  I find the idea behind the book to be pretty brilliant but I’m not sure about some of the details of it. For example, during the first few days she recommends flax granola – a very high fiber food.  If I eat a lot of fiber I become tired and depressed. Maybe I’m unusual that way.  So I’m creating my own path here, and starting with foods that I’m pretty sure are non-reactive for me, personally.

Starting The Plan principles today.

16 thoughts on “Yeast Free Day 20/ The Plan Day 1

  1. Creating your own path sounds very wise to me. That is what I do. Figuring out which foods work for you and don’t work for you is really all that matters at the end of the day.

  2. Russian proverb: “the fox that chases two rabbits doesn’t catch either one, the fox that chases many rabbits makes a fool of himself”. Certainly applies to me who has over-read all the confusing scientific literature and diet books…and experienced struggles like yourself. But if you read Mark Hyman “Eat Fat, Get Thin” and Jason Fung “The Obesity Code” and Robert Lustig “Fat Chance” you will find they all agree on a set of metabolic principles that put the sugar/processed carbohydrate fingerprints on the murder weapon and point out that many “scientific” beliefs about diet, food nutrition are promulgated by big food, big pharma and regulatory capture of AMA, ADA, USDA, NIH, etc.

  3. I guess you’re saying that I shouldn’t try to be yeast free while also testing foods to see which ones cause a reaction…? I don’t see them as incompatible. It’s true that there are lots of smarties that say sugar and processed carbs are problems – and they may be right! But I’ve been avoiding both for months. Why aren’t I feeling better? Why was my fasting blood sugar 141 this morning? Why are things not getting better yet, if these are the smoking guns?

  4. Losing weight while doing HIIT was impossible for me. HIIT raises growth hormone, IGF1 etc? So keto gets rid of insulin, but you still end up with plenty of other growth factors when you do HIIT. HIIT makes me feel great (gotta love the face lift you get from HGH, testosterone etc), but I always gain weight and/or stay at the same weight when I do it.

    5 min/day HIIT is still HIIT. What matters is the intensity not duration when it comes to secreting growth factors (I believe). I lifted heavy weights 12min/week for ~8 months with disastrous consequences for my weight. Same used to happen with sprinting.

  5. Your fasting insulin suggests your insulin is still too high even on a LCHF diet, which is not uncommon in T2D. Fung would say fasting would get your insulin down more, but you are afraid of hunger pains, so forget about fung. Fung ignores long term starvation rebound consequences like woo mentions here: http://itsthewooo.blogspot.co.il/2016/05/pt-1-gip-insulin-starvation-and-obesity.html

    Personally, I think you should just follow Lustig’s advice and forget about losing weight, and concentrate on being in the 20% obese without metabolic syndrome instead of the 80% who do.

  6. BTW, I also think your insulin is high because your producing too much cortisol on LCHF from HPA stress, which is why being able to transition to slow/safe carbs at maybe 100g/day would be better, but since you don’t tolerate fiber, for whatever reason, I don’t see that working till you figure out your gut issues regarding that.

  7. I’m going to be getting my fasting insulin tested next weekend, so we’ll see if it’s still high. Why would I accept being obese? I want to fix my health and my appearance. And they seem intertwined to me, which is why I often use my weight as a measure of progress (or lack thereof).

  8. I haven’t been doing HIIT as I said I would. So I guess that’s not playing a role here. Thanks though – I will keep this in mind. 🙂

  9. “Why would I accept being obese?” Because the long term reversal rates are dismal. Evern bariatric patients regain 50% of the 65% excess weight they lose on average within 5 years and 80% of that 65% by 10 years. It’s an uphill battle that requires a lifetime OCD personality to deal with.

  10. I guess what I meant is what is the advantage of accepting obesity? Would I change what I was doing in some way? I’d still be trying to lower inflammation and metabolic markers, which is what I’m trying to do now. I’m not sure my plan of action would change depending on my acceptance of obesity.

  11. It’s easier and less restrictive to eat a maintenance diet and reverse metabolic syndrome, than obesity.

    Take woo for example, she’s been eating the LCHF way you do for 14 years, more or less, but she likes that food I guess. I’ve noticed your complaints about the lack of variety over 1 month…which is more typical.

  12. SWOT you do know your stuff!!! I read from Lani’s posts that there is an underlying “fear of and experience of hunger” issue that she cannot deal with…so LCHF + IF doesn’t work for her. Especially the IF part. However, if you can find a period of not eating that doesn’t freak you out (for me its morning time when I am not hungry) then what has worked for me was to just adopt an 18/6 IF (dinner to next day lunch = 18 hrs) into my lifestyle…I have done this for months and experienced 22 lbs wt lost, normalization of A1c, fructosamine, blood panel readings.

  13. SWOT – I’m still not sure what you think I would do differently to reverse metabolic syndrome if I didn’t care about the obesity.

    Also, I didn’t have a problem with eating low carb or keto – it’s having to give up all nightshades (which includes most spicy foods) and all foods containing vinegar and yeast (which includes most zesty foods) that has become problematic. If I recall correctly Woo eats vinegar by the spoonful. Also, I was restricting dairy, which she is not. She and I are not following the same diet.

Leave a Reply

