Yeast Free Day 24 / The Plan Day 5

Yesterday I chickened out and didn’t add anything new to my diet.  Ok, I added a cup of dandelion tea, which is recommended by the author of The Plan for liver support.  Other than that I stuck with foods already established as “friendly”.  I really wanted to see if the scale would dip below 197, because that has been my lowest weight so far in 2016.  The results:

  • Yesterday’s weight: 197.5
  • Today’s weight: 196.4
  • Difference: -1.1  lbs.

So it appears to be working – sticking with friendly foods is resulting in weight loss.  Some possible confounders though:

  • My diet is so limited right now that sometimes there’s nothing nearby to eat and I have to wait, when otherwise I might eat something when the impulse strikes.  So overall energy intake may be lower.  I tracked my macros on Cronometer and it looks like yesterday I ate in the neighborhood of 1600 calories, which is light compared to my usual 2300 or so.
  • I took some ibuprofen yesterday.  If the hypothesis behind The Plan is that inflammation drives weight gain, then taking an anti-inflammatory drug might result in weight loss, all other things being equal.
  • The Diflucan I’ve been taking has resulted in some constipation in the last week or two – I’m not sure how this would or wouldn’t affect my weight, but it is a variable.

It’s true The Plan isn’t very scientific, and small fluctuations in weight are typical.  Here’s why I thought The Plan might be worth trying.  When I find a diet combination that works for me I tend to eat it every day for months.  When I was eating a Peat-inspired diet I would eat the same 12-15 foods every day – for months – and my weight was very consistently the same every day, to the tenth of a pound.  I talked about it here actually.  I have had the same experience with low carb eating more recently too – If I stick with the same foods my weight doesn’t change from day to day.  That has always seemed so strange to me, because I’m prone to using a lot of salt or drinking a lot of water some days.  Apparently my body stabilizes over night though.  The times that my weight goes up or goes down are when I change something – add a new food, avoid a food for a while.  I’ve sort of noticed this but didn’t think much about why that would be, because everyone talks about how “normal” it is for weight to fluctuate.

And yet, here I am having a very difficult time losing weight, despite months of LCHF, eating only when hungry and only to satiety.  Maybe this really has something to do with barely perceptible poor reactions to foods causing inflammation.

Anyway, what to test today…I have a bunch of mixed greens that no one else in my home will eat.  The Plan book says that spinach and arugula are low on the reactivity scale unless you have thyroid problems, in which case they’re “much higher”.  I guess we’re about to find out if I have thyroid problems.

7 thoughts on “Yeast Free Day 24 / The Plan Day 5

  1. Inflammation is more likely to elevate cortisol. Cortisol, causes water retention near term. Long term, increases insulin. I still think the near-term weight loss you are experiencing is mostly water loss, but if your cortisol goes down, your insulin levels should also drop leading to fat loss over longer periods as well.

  2. I suspect this is the mechanism some people, for example, lose a lot of weight dropping wheat, like those who follow Davis’ wheat belly protocol even though they eat other carbs; as wheat, being inflammatory in a lot of people, myself included, causes elevated coritsol, which increases insulin, blocks leptin resulting in increased appetite.

  3. SWOT – Good explanation – thank you. If it is water weight being lost I would expect that to slow down pretty soon.

  4. My mother use to comment how puffy, swollen my face would get when I’d eat wheat. Basically, I’d get severe stomach upset/indigestion when I was very young. Eventually, I “outgrew” the wheat allergy in that I could eat it and not get stomach problems. However, I’d still get the puffy edema in face, legs, etc, that my mother noticed when I’d eat wheat, so the inflammation never really went away from it. Lately, I tested my allergy again, and for some reason, doing intermittent fasting put it in overdrive in that I got severe stomach pains 8-12 hours after consuming wheat. I can eat spelt with no problem though.

    I even got teased on this scene in high school if I ate wheat:

  5. Regarding water weight, if you have edema from food reactions, you could loose quite a bit of water weight from their absence.

  6. I have a scale that measures water weight, lean mass, body fat weight – I’m sure it’s not super accurate because it’s a $30 scale, but it might be interesting to watch over time.

Leave a Reply

