Yeast Free Day 26 / The Plan Day 7

Tested avocado yesterday.  The results:

  • Yesterday’s weight: 195.1
  • Today’s weight: 195.1
  • Difference: 0 lbs.

The Plan says that if you maintain or gain weight you should consider the tested food to be reactive.  This appears to be the case here.  Although the probability that avocado will be reactive is low, according to the book, I’m not really surprised.  There is some reason I’ve been unable to lose weight even strictly following an LCHF diet – and avocados have been a daily staple while I’ve been eating low carb due to their high potassium content.  If avocados are indeed causing an inflammatory response this could explain my lack of progress. Ham – the other food I’ve reacted to since starting The Plan – was also something I ate almost daily.  Maybe I’ve found the problems.

What I’ve learned so far:

  • Friendly foods: chicken, beef, unrefined coconut oil, cooked vegetables (kale, carrots, onions, garlic, celery), fresh mozzarella cheese, dandelion tea, raw mixed greens, lemon juice
  • Reactive foods: ham, avocado

Going back to only friendly foods today.

3 thoughts on “Yeast Free Day 26 / The Plan Day 7

  1. Like yourself, I did a LCHF diet for many months and could not lose weight. After three months of LCHF + IF (dinner to next day lunch = 18 hrs FAST) and “bright line” no munchies in that time space I lost 22 lbs, normalized A1C, total cholesterol 160 mg/dl, A1c 5.5, Bad LDL low end of good, Good HDL high end of good…Here is a Science Digest article you should read:
    https://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2011/04/110403090259.htm
    Note: iI think it is the increase of human growth hormone (somatotrophin) that was the key for me ….BUT…IT REQUIRES INTERMITTENT FASTING.
    In any case, good luck with your project

  2. One more thing: I read and enjoy your posts and I note that hunger is an issue with respect to success … everyone is different and fortunate for me is the fact that I was never hungry when I woke up in the morning BUT ate breakfast because as we have been brainwashed “breakfast is the most important meal of the day” … I did do some research awhile back and could not find any scientific data or studies that support this myth. So, for me, breakfast was a very easy habit to lose … plus I have all this extra time that breakfast used to take. Plus, in the morning after drinking coffee there is kind of a focused “high” that I learned is probably a result of ketosis that is, according to a neurologist, a healthy, inexpensive …”rush”. Here is a great TED talk video by Dr. Mark Mattson, John Hopkins Univeresity.

  3. Thanks John – I’m glad you’ve found what works for you! I’m hungry in the morning, and become emotionally and cognitively debilitated when I don’t eat. I’m listening to my body, and I believe what works for one person doesn’t necessarily work for everyone. Still, your links may help others who wander over here. 🙂

Leave a Reply

