Nystatin Not Enough

I restarted Nystatin on 6/17, and since then – for the last 4 days – I’ve been eating whatever I want, within reason.  Like, I’m not eating fast food or anything, but I am eating the same stuff my family eats – homemade foods with high quality ingredients but not necessarily limited in any other way.  Well, my weight has been trending up for 4 days.  So has my blood sugar.  I guess my Nystatin-Saves-The-World theory isn’t panning out.

I’ll go back to low-carb Paleo today, and stop eating salad dressing made with vinegar again.  For real this time.

25 thoughts on “Nystatin Not Enough

  1. “homemade foods with high quality ingredients”….does this include starch? What’s your level of carbohydrate intake on Low-Carb Paleo? Are you tracking calories?

    I’m not sure unlimited calories will result in miraculous fat loss….unless you’re taking thyroid medication.

    Also, I think it’s difficult to control blood sugar in the presence of excess energy intake, especially if the metabolic rate can’t burn through it and there is abdominal fat around the liver and pancreas…..I could be wrong though, but that was my experience.

    I cut all cow dairy for a couple weeks and felt much better for it. Then major cravings kicked in and I’ve since added goat milk and goat cheese, so far so good.

    I’m still trying to find my perfect level of carbohydrate intake.

  2. Meme – I had a few baby red potatoes a couple nights ago – that was really the only starch. I’m not tracking calories but I’m not stuffing myself or anything. I have no reason to think I have excess energy intake. Low carb, medium carb, high carb – I eat till I’m satisfied and then stop. If that results in weight gain, there’s something wrong. I don’t believe humans should be sitting around feeling hungry as a way of life. Glad you’re having some luck with the goat milk/cheese. The carb balance is definitely tricky. I don’t have any answers for either of us.

  3. @Lanie..That is how it is supposed to work, unless you have hyperinsuliiemia. That is to say, any given food causes any amount of insulin to be released. If insulin levels are relatively normal, it drops down, your brain sees the additional leptin from the increase in calories, and compensates by decreasing appetite by lowering ghrelin, increasing glp-1, pyy, etc, increasing sns levels so you fidget more, feel more “alive” and have a desire to be energetic. A person in this situation can pretty much eat whatever they want and their body compensates to prevent weight gain.

    When you have chronic hyperinsulimia, your brain doesn’t see your leptin like it does in a normal person. Therefore you are much more sensitive the effects of different foods and carb levels, and cortsiol levels. Which makes your set-point effectively governed by your chronic insulin levels. Which is why low carb lowers appetite in most people (assuming they don’t have some hypercortsiolism issue like you seem to have).

    The fact of the matter is these hormones are very sensitive and precise like an elaborate thermostat.. Think about it, to gain 1lb of fat a year like an older person typically will (usually from lower insulin sensitivity leading to higher insulin levels), they’d have to have a daily surplus of only 10 calories. That’s one extra potato chip a day. A person who doesn’t gain any weight is even more precise than that.

  4. SWOT – Right, I understand. I don’t think that’s true about one potato chip a day equaling a pound a year though. You’re not factoring in the body releasing energy as heat. I think gaining and losing weight has very little to do with calories. I mean, why is it I can eat 2000 calories of meat, fat, and kale soup and lose weight, but as soon as I add sauerkraut my weight loss stops? There’s something else going on here.

  5. Because the sauerkraut causes inflammation for whatever unknown reason–probably the bacteria it breeds is causing your immune system to go crazy. The inflammation causes your body to release cortisol. The cortisol causes your blood sugar to go up more than it otherwise would. The excess blood sugar causes your insulin to go higher. The higher insulin blocks your leptin leading to energy conservation/starvation response. The cortisol also blocks your thyroid hormones and affects your aldosterone causing water weight gain too.

  6. The potato chip example is in reference to someone without the inflammatory type issues you are experiencing.

  7. I agree that calories alone aren’t the answer, some calories are far more nutritious than others.

    I kind of have a hard time believing that drowning food in olive oil or mayonnaise for the sake of ketosis is deeply nutritious viable long-term strategy. I ate a very high-fat/low-carb diet for years and I ended up being seriously depleted in many nutrients. I lacked energy, stress levels were through the roof, thyroid tanked, no libido, terrible insomnia, guts were completely effed up, sh*tty moods etc. Perhaps I did my ketogenic diet wrong.

    At any rate, I swung from one extreme to the other and ate a high-carb/low-fat diet. Adding carbs back in did fix many issues. But ultimately eating a lot of sugar “to raise my metabolism” wasn’t Awesome for me either.

    I totally agree with SWOT here, some foods are VERY INFLAMMATORY to some people. I think gut flora has a lot to do with this.

    For me, keeping my intestines free from certain microbes definitely helps to keep inflammation down, which absolutely helps with cravings, blood sugar and moods. I had terrific success with the Raw Garlic Shock & Awe for SIBO, that was a real turning point for me. Later on I had to take antibiotics for other reasons and it triggered a massive yeast overgrowth much lower in my colon (I don’t have an appendix which I think kinda matters for keeping things in balance). The high dose Nystatin for 90 days was amazingly helpful in many ways. I’ve since moved on to other herbal anti-microbials and have learned that staying ahead of any bacterial/fungal overgrowth is absolutely crucial for my health.

    I wished I would have tracked things when I was on a ketogenic diet, I would love to have that data compared to how I’m currently eating. I’ve also weaned myself off of all T4 meds.

    I track everything now as I’m trying to understand what foods/ratios work best for me. I’ve been eating intuitively for about a year or so, eating what I feel like having and eating until I’m satisfied. I find that no matter what I “try” to tweak I have a tendency to compensate over the next few days.

    For instance, if I consciously try to eat lower fat then cravings will kick in after a few days and I will eat a ton of fat. Same with carbs and protein too. Recently I tried to eat only 80 grams of protein per day (normally I eat right around 100), I lasted all of two days and then I became insanely hungry for protein and had a couple days of eating 135-150 grams.

    Seems no matter what I try my brain/body overrides. I wish I had better knowledge of all the interacting hormones.

    Lanie, have you tried any anti-inflammatory herbs like curcumin?

    SWOT, can you point me to a site/article where I might learn?….preferably one that is written for normal folks, not excessively scientific.

    Apologies for my wordiness 😉

  8. @Meme, they’re all over the place in bits and pieces but I don’t know of one specific article that shows the whole picture. If you study it enough, you can connect the dots.

    LCHF works great in some people. They usually don’t have food inflammation problems so their cortisol is normal. In myself, I can lose weight great on LCHF since it tends to get rid of the sugar *and* the wheat/gluten which I strongly react too. I don’t react to nuts, legumes, dairy, so my inflammation drops. Which is why some lose a ton of weight and do great on it.. Others are like Lanie. Which is why a one size fits all approach is bologna. LCHF destroys gut bacteria in some people. Others thrive on it. Call it genetic/epigenetic and environmental variations. If I eat carbs, without sugar and gluten/wheat, I maintain weight, but don’t lose it. As soon as I throw wheat or fructose in, up goes the scale.

  9. @Meme…here’s lustig explaining hormones and leptin etc…but it’s not the full picture..

    In short…Things that tend increase insulin in people (anyone may have some or all)

    1.Fatty Liver from (excessive) Fructose, Alcohol, BCAAs (mainly in Grain fed meat–mainly affects sedentary people ), Trans-fats. glucose/starch being converted to fructose via the polyol pathway (mainly in insulin resistance/T2D people)

    2. Peripheral Insulin resistance from bad o3:o6 ratios, lack of muscle insulin sensitivity (no exercise), aging (mitochondrial die-off) leading to poor carbohydrate (glucose/starch) tolerance leading to T2D, often typical when consumed without fiber chronically (processed).

    3. High Cortisol from inflammation/allergies/leaky-gut, lack of sleep. lack of exercise, stress/anxiety, illness/pathogens, tumors.

    Then there are a ton of other Hormones involved…Leptin (master hormone), adenopectin, short term digestive hormones like ghrelin, glp1, PYY (satiety), GIP, CCK,

    Energy hormones like Epinephrine, Norepinephrine from leptin’s effect (or lack of) on the neuroendocrine system

    Brain Hormones like Dopamine (sugar cravings related), serotonin, NYY (carb cravings related),

    But many of those tend to be submissive to leptin doing its job.

    For leptin to do it’s job you need

    1. Adequate leptin (decreases exponentially from starvation/dieting/fat loss)
    2. Low Insulin levels (which are raised from 1,2, and 3 above).–Insulin blocks leptin.

  10. @Meme…my list isn’t exhaustive..Other things can screw up insulin sensitivity like vitamin D deficiency, Magnesium, other micro-nutrientsetc–just showing some of the big ones.

  11. SWOT….thanks for your reply. Do you mind sharing your age and gender?

    I’m trying to figure out how many carbs are right for weight loss as a middle-aged woman (hate that term, middle aged :-(). I only want to lose 10 or 15 pounds max.

    I’ve tried changing up the TYPE of carbs, potatoes/yams vs. fruit/OJ and it doesn’t seem to make a difference. I very rarely eat grains. So, I’m guessing it’s the AMOUNT of carbs…..

    Like you, I also react strongly to wheat/gluten. I cut it out completely in 2011 and saw HUGE improvements. Since then I’ve tested wheat several times, same thing happens each time. The most recent occasion was this past Father’s Day. It was the typical family gathering and I usually avoid the chips-n-dip, rolls and other crap with ease, but this time peeps brought me a pink frosted CAKE (cuz I’m turning 50 in mere days). The social pressure got the best of me and I ate the effin cake…and I even had seconds and thirds later that evening (figuring I might as well blow the entire day). NO bueno….PUFA frosted refined wheat flour is just as sh*tty as it ever was.

    Joint pain, puffy face, guts kinda ache, scale jumped nearly three pounds….jeez man, the cake didn’t taste THAT good.

    Nuts trigger cold sores for me, so I have to limit them (hard to do once I get started) and carefully supplement with Lysine.

    Goat/sheep dairy is proving to be better for me than commercial cow dairy. Although I’ve made kefir from a local raw Guernsey milk that doesn’t seem to cause problems…they are certified A2 animals and now I wonder if that may be a real factor for me.

    It’s beginning to look like eating the amount of fat that I prefer to eat in the presence of (too many) carbs is a hindrance. I hate admitting this.

    I cannot go back to eating low fat.

  12. @Meme..Male/40.

    It can be the type of carbs…since peripheral insulin resistance and insulin curbs are affected by quantity of carbs and quality. By quality, I mean glycemic load and fiber content.. I can go into ketosis eating legumes/lentils (not a ton, but some) quite easily since they are very slow to go through. Rice on the other had keeps my weight steady.

    If you want a more clear picture, you can always get blood work showing insulin curves after meals, blood tests/ultrasounds for fatty liver, o6/o3 ratios, ALT, cortisol etc to pin down the problem.

  13. @Meme…I tend to eat treats only once a weekend, and I do damage control…I’ll usually only use oat flour, and I’ll make a chocolate or pound cake out of it using dextrose (glucose) instead of surcorse, or I might have some baked apples with cinnamon and a small bit of honey. Keeps me sane. Rest of the week, I modulate types and quantity of carbs. Still, I’ve screwed up…e.g. had a celebratory weekend lately, so I used real sugar for the cakes. On top of getting fructose intolerance reactions, my appetite went through the roof and I gained a few pounds.

  14. I hear ya on the appetite thing….mine goes sky high from eating all these carbs…. I rarely eat junk food, but I do use honey in my coffee, fruit and OJ daily.

    The one thing I loved about my stint with a ketogenic diet was the lack of hunger. No cravings was nice, but if I ate so much as a half a cup of blueberries or some dark chocolate all the carb cravings came back with a vengeance. That was a real drag and seemed so unbalanced.

    Oddly enough, I am exactly the same weight now as I was back then when eating NO carbs. I couldn’t lose weight if my life depended on it, no matter how much IF I did. I was down to eating once per day thanks to ZERO hunger, but the scale wouldn’t budge. I was freezing cold, bitchy as hell and not remotely interested in sex. FUN TIMES.

    I do walk for an hour most days. Try to get as much sun as I can. I have no real stress to speak of…other than I still cannot lose this last bit of fat…and my skin is still not ideal. I was thinking perhaps my skin issues (acne) and inability to lose fat was due to poor blood sugar regulation.

    I had an ultrasound done a year ago, no fatty liver. ALT was fine and my hsCRP was under one, so I figured inflammation wasn’t too bad….that was March of 2015.

    I did a home A1C test a month ago, it was 5.0….not sure how accurate those are.

    I’m sure my O6/O3 ratios are off since I eat very little PUFA except what is naturally occurring in foods. I eat a TON of oysters. I recently added sardines (packed in olive oil) hoping that would help….we’ll see.

    I wonder if getting back to ketosis and then cycling carbs once per week would alleviate the sleep/bitchiness issues I had with low-carbing??? I’d probably just be a sleepless wench all week until Carb Day, lol….but perhaps I’d be a Skinny Sleepless Wench.

    I guess I need MORE exercise….exercise makes me RAVENOUS….and the cycle continues.

    Sorry Lanie. I’m profoundly unhelpful.

  15. @Meme…fructose in OJ, honey all goes to the liver. Above a certain amount, usually 30-40g a day, it overloads it increasing liver fat driving up insulin. Also, fructose doesn’t raise insulin since it either get’s converted to liver glycogen (if stores are low) or liver fat if stores are not low. The ratio varies depending on individual, fructokinase enzymes, etc, so some people can tolerate a little more or less before problems start. Exercise also can increase tolerance. Consumed, with fiber in fruit, the flux is less so the liver can process it before it causes problems. The flux effect is the analogy of drinking one drink per hour over four hours vs 4 drinks in one hour. Also, insulin from glucose can signal the brain to shut off appetite in the near term. It’s when it stays high too long from hyperglycemia (high insulin/low sensitivity), or causes postprandial blood crashes (High insulin/high sensitivity) that problems happen.

    See http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/25941364 — for me fructose/sugar raises appetite, not starch so much. (as long as it’s not from wheat/gluten)

    The carb cravings are from dopamine and seratonin changes. Physical hunger is low on LCHF, but cravings don’t necessarily get fixed.

    Short term fasting can lower leptin. Low leptin = hungry, tired, cold, no libido, low T3, etc. Still it’s good for T2D near term since it’s the only way I’ve seen that clears out pancreatic fat blocking insulin release T2D patients have other than gastric bypass. I can’t do more than 24 hour fasting since I get gallstones from it, but I’m fine on LCHF.

    Exercise increases appetite..leptin drops, hunger increases to compensate. Not necessarily in someone with high cortisol though. A walk in the forest, meditation, prayer, etc. lower it too.

    HIIT probably doesn’t burn enough calories to drop leptin to increase appetite but raises insulin sensitivity. Weightlifting does too.

    You’re probably at your set-point where any more fat-loss will lower leptin. Sounds like the only thing left to try is either drugs or hacks like cyclical keto. Cyclical keto combined with weightlifting works well too…lift heavy weights to build muscle 2/days week with carbs, LCHF the other 5 days. When you eat carbs after heavy weights/HIIT, the glycogen gets shunted muscles. Then you can benefit from the improved feel-good serotonin effects from the carbs without them being shunted to fat storage.

  16. Very very informative, thank you SO MUCH SWOT….Cron-O is telling me that on average I’m eating 34 grams of fructose per day. My problem seems to be an All or Nothing situation….cuz a little is just a tease.

    I tend to eat more potatoes and squashes in the fall and winter, but I’m also MUCH more sedentary. Spring and summer I naturally turn to more eating fruit which gives me more energy and makes me want to get out and walk/do yard work etc….that’s been my cycle. Weight hasn’t budged for two years.

    I was technically diabetic three years ago, things have been very stable since I did my protein sparing modified fast. I had very high cortisol several years ago (saliva tests showed very high several times), so I’m familiar with what that feels like. Although I have not retested since, I’m pretty sure it’s way down. My sleep is much better….actually everything is much better.

    I’m gonna look into the cyclical carb thing and weight lifting. It might just be that I’m old, have lost muscle mass and need to build some shiny new mitochondria.

    Thanks again!!!

  17. I like black beans very much and lentils too…I don’t eat them very often as I had read there are lectins/phytates or some sort of plant anti-nutrients in them. I’m too lazy at the moment to do all that soaking for proper prep….Plus I had many years of terrible digestive issues, so while I do feel better with more fiber in my diet, I have to be careful. I don’t think I could eat them daily which is a bummer cuz I really do like beans…..I’d love to be able to eat them regularly, they’re so CHEAP! Thanks for the links!

  18. Hmmm….upon studying the Insulinogenic Foods chart from the link above, I see that beans score right up there with potatoes and are MORE insulinogenic that fruit, who knew? Maybe I’ll hold off on the beans.

  19. SWOT…I despise baked beans, especially from a can, they’re positively nauseating.

    I’ve wondered if the phytate thing is exaggerated. Black beans seem so nutritious…

    I heard a podcast with a doctor, some sort of cardiothoracic surgeon (I forget his name)…at any rate, he made it sound like beans were safe if properly cooked and he recommended a PRESSURE COOKER. I think pressure cooking would make means safer and it also appeals to my lazy self.

    Have you heard of this? Pressure cooking to reduce lectins and stuff??? I’ll go read your link…thanks!

  20. Well, the studies show the lectins are killed by heat. So do a full boil for at least 5 minutes, and you should be ok. I don’t think its necessary to use a pressure cooker.

    These are areas where I don’t like paleo so much…I don’t feel all grains are necessarily bad. Porridge, for example, is very low GI/high fiber and people don’t get blood sugar/insulin spikes as one example. It’s true, people tend to lose a lot of weight on paleo, but in general, it’s generally much lower insulin and inflammatory than SAD, so it works.

    I’m more interested in the science than the dogma of why it works.

    Phytates can be dealt with too…soaking,fermenting beans does the job. I won’t disregard a potentially useful food if it can be dealt with. I love red lentils and I actually find my energy levels goes up and I don’t get sleepy after carbs for a few days when I have them.

Leave a Reply

