11 Days

It’s been 11 days of eating stuff that inflames my body, makes me gain weight, and makes me tired.

I’m not binge eating, overeating, or consuming past full.  But I am eating whatever looks good.  Like an average person. And I feel pretty not great.  So I’ll stop it now.

When I was younger I binge ate, so I know a little about this.  I no longer feel like binge eating, but I do have trouble sticking with very restrictive diets – those that involve cutting out necessary macronutrients (protein or fat) or micronutrients for long periods of time, or when my diet is completely devoid of flavor.  The last part applied to my time on The Plan.

I wrote a few days ago about my plan to start an Autoimmune Paleo (AIP) diet, even though I’m not yet autoimmune.  the rationale behind this was that such a diet would be absent things that tend to cause inflammation in people who are very sensitive.  However, as I was looking over the things that would be available to me on such a plan (example here) I became discouraged because I can’t even eat all of those things without problems.  I can’t have the wide range of vegetables, fermented foods, and resistant starch-containing foods that appear to be recommended. Sarah Ballentyne says about insoluble fiber, “I can’t find a single reason why insoluble fiber should be limited.”  I’ll give you one – it makes me desperately depressed.

I’ve decided to go back to a version of The Plan.  I felt great on it and although I didn’t trust the process completely, I felt like I was getting most of my nutritional needs met.  This time I’m going to stop adding salt to food to see if I can better control the scale for the purpose of measuring daily reactions to food.  It’s going to be difficult because salt is sort of the last flavor I was allowing myself.  Yes, this is a restrictive process – especially when it seems I react to almost everything.  At least I know it led to feeling good so there’s something to look forward to.

There were a few foods added at the end that I was not confident were actually “friendly foods”, including macadamia nuts and mozzarella cheese with vinegar as an ingredient, so at some point I’ll retest those but will not be including those to start off.

Regarding exercise, I have not done any.  I keep forgetting.  Actually my 11 days made me tired and unwilling to put forth the effort.  I’ll be interested to see how long it takes to feel better again.  I’ll hold off on exercise for now anyway, until I have a greater base of foods from which to choose on a daily basis.  At that point – maybe a couple weeks? – I’ll be feeling better and can add it in.  I know diet alone isn’t enough to reduce insulin and therefore hunger.

2 thoughts on “11 Days

  1. It seems like many people in other countries all pretty much eat the same way, the same foods, and seem to do well on them. Wouldn’t you love to be in that situation? I know I would. I suppose one reason we are much more challenged in the USA is because so many of our foods are poisoned with chemicals and processing. Plus we have been given so much misinformation over the past few decades about which foods are healthy and which ones are not. I feel like I am walking around in a minefield when I go to the grocery store! And of course as we get older, it becomes ever more challenging to try to keep our body in balance. Sorry, I know I am preaching to the choir. I just wanted to vent and let you know I share your frustrations and challenges. My kitchen feels more like a lab than a kitchen some days.

Leave a Reply

