Onward

Better now.

A day of eating chicken and orange juice and I’m back to baseline.

I think I’ve lost IQ points over the past month.  I just don’t think as well anymore.  I can’t string together sentences and organize thoughts into a cohesive pattern anymore.  I hope that comes back.

I guess I could talk about the supplements I’m using right now.

For adrenal fatigue issues I’m taking

To kill the nonsense in my gut:

To repair leaky gut:

For general nutrition and detoxification:

And then I’m still taking the following prescription medications:

  • Hydrochlorothiazide (for hypertension)
  • Methyldopa (for hypertension)
  • Hydrocortisone (to address symptoms of adrenal fatigue)

This supplement regimen has been pieced together over the last 2 years – these are the brands and doses that have worked well for me up to this point.

I’m thinking about adding in a calcium supplement and turmeric.

I keep track of everything with this gizmo:

pill box

16 thoughts on “Onward

  1. Brain Damage, it’s what’s for dinner.

    Yer supps look good. Does licorice root raise blood pressure tho? I thought I read that somewhere…but I could be wrong.

  2. @Meme, sunbathing: (quoting kresser)

    Vitamin D is really just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the benefits of sunlight. A recent 20-year study following 29,518 subjects found that those individuals avoiding sun exposure were twice as likely to die from all causes (21). While this study did not assess vitamin D levels, findings from other epidemiological studies suggest that this cannot be accounted for by the increase in vitamin D production alone.
    Indeed, humans make several important peptide and hormone “photoproducts” when our skin is exposed to the UVB wavelength of sunlight (22). These include:
    β-Endorphin: a natural opiate that induces relaxation and increases pain tolerance (23, 24)
    Calcitonin Gene-Related Peptide: a vasodilator that protects against hypertension, vascular inflammation, and oxidative stress (25)
    Substance P: a neuropeptide that promotes blood flow and regulates the immune system in response to acute stressors (26)
    Adrenocorticotropic Hormone: a polypeptide hormone that controls cortisol release by the adrenal glands, thus regulating the immune system and inflammation (27)
    Melanocyte-Stimulating Hormone: a polypeptide hormone that reduces appetite, increases libido, and is also responsible for increased skin pigmentation (27)
    Exposure to the UVA wavelength of sunlight has also been shown to have benefits, including increasing the release of nitric oxide from storage (28). Nitric oxide is a potent cellular signaling molecule that dilates the blood vessels and thus reduces blood pressure (29).
    In addition to the production of photoproducts and release of nitric oxide, sunlight also entrains circadian rhythms. Exposure to bright light during the day activates neurons in the suprachiasmatic nucleus of the hypothalamus, which sends signals to the pineal gland that regulate melatonin production. Disruption of circadian rhythm has been associated with mood disorders, cognitive deficits, and metabolic syndrome (30, 31).

  3. Hi SWOT….excellent info!!! I actually CRAVE sunshine….literally can’t live without it. I go outside as much as possible….haven’t used sunscreen for years and feel so much better for it.

    Interestingly enough, I spent my obese years avoiding the sun like the plague and naturally I felt positively awful.

    I’m fairly certain that I’m Solar Powered and so have worked extra hard these last few years to ensure I get sunshine during the winter. It’s absolutely critical, no two ways about it.

    http://www.businessinsider.com/11-reasons-you-should-go-outside-2014-4

    GO OUTSIDE!!!

  4. @SWOT…..Oh hell yes, I shave my legs outside on the patio because multitasking appeals to me:
    Getting me bronze on while de-hairing AND giving the neighbors something to talk about.

    This morning my fasting blood glucose was 86, I haven’t seen it that low in a long while. I even tested it three times with two different meters because I was skeptical. The ONLY changes I made were switching to a different magnesium supplement like three days ago, but yesterday I took a much higher dose based on Dr. Carolyn Dean’s recommendation and last night I added in an organic tart cherry juice concentrate.

    Cron-OCD has been telling me for years that I’m not getting enough magnesium through my diet, but since I notoriously confound every experiment I’m not sure iffin it was the high dose ionic magnesium or the 30ml of tart cherry concentrate…..to be continued.

  5. Ooops…I forgot this important tidbit: I also stopped taking my T3 like two weeks ago in preparation for lab work and also as part my eternal effort to see if I can actually make it through fall/winter without any.

    So now I’m wondering if that has any bearing on fasting blood sugar….Anyone know? Do thyroid meds raise blood sugar? I’ve never taste regularly enough to know if it makes a difference.

  6. @Meme, I’d think T3 would. Anything that increases SNS/catecholamines tends to increase blood sugar

  7. Re: Fall/Winter–light box+uv bed probably a good idea, especially if you are going to eat carbs.

    Low light/UV in fall signal body to fatten up for winter, so you get carb cravings and carbs (and especially fructose) are especially obsenigenic during the fall/winter as SNS drops. Think carb cravings in people with SAD.

    Alternatively, do LCHF in winter to avoid. Gets you out of “fat storage” fall mode and into ‘burn fat during the dark/cold all winter” mode. I think Jack Kruse is actually on to something doing Cold therapy during winter months since it creates a big glucose sink and is an SNS stimulate.

    Even Woo thinks so…
    http://itsthewooo.blogspot.co.il/2014/01/cold-therapy-there-is-actually.html#more

  8. I got a lot to learn about catecholamines, pretty sure it’s waaaay above my head…I googled T3 raising blood sugar and you’re right, T3 does raise blood sugar. Wow, I learn something new every day….I had NO idea.

    I do struggle every winter, in times past I would take a week vacation in some tropical place, but it was never enough. Last Fall/Winter I rented a house from a friend in Hawaii for TWO weeks in November. Then I built a infrared light sauna in December which I used through the rest of winter along with taking D3 as well, that has worked the best so far.

    This year I am planning to leave the dark dreary rainy pacific northwest altogether for at least three months, starting in November and road tripping to sunnier climes. We shall see what happens, it’s an experiment.

    It does seem reasonable that carbs from fructose would be drastically reduced if not downright unavailable in the fall/winter, especially for peeps born and raised at northerly latitudes (me)….and I kinda despise most canned/preserved food.

    In my mind it makes perfect sense that an animal or any organism should be eating what’s locally and readily available in their environment. We grow a lot of potatoes around here, but try as I might, I can’t do potatoes or other forms of stored starch (a la Stephan Guyenet) with any sort of regularity, not a chance.

    Have you noticed that humans have completely f*cked up our own food supply and environment? I’m appalled at what passes for “food” in the grocery store, I can’t/won’t eat 90% of it. I try to eat whole foods, but here I am drinkin’ tart cherry concentrate trying to supplement my way out of wheat/antibiotic/stress induced gut damage….wondering if it’s permanent?

    Nah, we can heal, right?

    At the same time, I can’t help but notice that humans seem to be the only animals that don’t know how to properly feed themselves.

    Hey Lanie, you did those Kruse ice baths, didn’t you? I read a book by Tim Ferriss years ago and tried to get used to the whole cold shower brown fat thing. I couldn’t keep up with it, my life was too stressful and I couldn’t take the extra stress at that time, but I recall them being quite invigorating initially.

    I think about stress a lot and how it affects people. Some stress is good, builds character and muscles…..but if other parts of your life are outta control, sometimes ya just gotta know when to say when.

    Running to read what woo says about cold therapy….

  9. @Meme,

    There is also epigenetics involved. Someone who has northern european ancestry has epigenetic switches more sensitive to things like starvation and seasonal variations, for example. Those switches are passed down to descendents. It’s probably easier for certain people to fatten up from fructose and CICO binges/starvation since certain populations were regularly subjected to seasonal famines, etc. Until the 1840’s, this was typical, before railroads were bringing foods all year round.

    I’ve done CT/ice baths myself. It’s as woo says, a nice glucose sink and SNS stimulant. It helped me bust through weight loss plateaus. It’s a great insulin lowering hack, especially if you don’t get much sunlight.

    Regarding turning WAT into BAT; while there are studies showing leaner people have more BAT, it’s only correlational. I’m not convinced of causation per se.

    Regarding the food supply, yes I agree, the processing of food, excess grains/PUFAs/refined carbs/fructose are terrible for a lot of people. People with different epigenetic switches respond differently, which is why some people are more obesity resistant to that garbage than others.

  10. @Meme,

    And I do agree with Kruse regarding artificial light at night and lack of sunlight/UV in the day. Those screwed up circadian rhythms tend to totally screw up cortisol and melatonin patterns and cause metabolic syndromes. E.G. There is ample research showing night shift workers are in worse metabolic health.

  11. @Meme, I’ve also been doing my n=1 with UV exposure. I’m fair skinned, any my mother use to warn me to stay out of the sun…melanoma and all, and cover up with suncreen.

    From the data…UVB exposure increases melanoma risk from 0.2% to 0.35%, yet lack of UV apparently doubles the risk of death from metabolic disease.

    Anyways, as I’ve been doing LCHF for the last month, I started doing UV-B every day for 15 minutes. I’ve done light exposure, but didn’t notice much (I waked up earlier, went to bed earlier), but not much change with appetite, etc.

    With my n=1 experiment regarding UV-B exposure, I’ve noticed my interest in carbs/sugar has gone from low (I could eat that, but no cravings) to non-existent or even repulsive.

    Ghrelin levels dropped a little (takes longer to get hungry). PYY/GLP-1 satiety hormones have really gone up. I’m feeling stuffed on about 25% fewer calories than before. I use to eat 1600-1800/kcal day and not feel hungry, but didn’t feel full very long, and I I needed 2400 to feel stuffed. Now I feel stuffed on 1600-1800.

    Sleep phases are even earlier. I’m tired and want to go to sleep at 9-10pm now and get up at 6am. I use to go to sleep at 11pm-12am and would rather sleep later if possible. Sleep is deeper/feels longer. Main appetite is shifting earlier in the day.

  12. Hi SWOT….Your UVB experiment sounds cool! Is your goal more fat loss or restoring circadian rhythm? Both?

    Are you concerned about lowering your metabolic rate with eating fewer calories long term? That’s one of my concerns because that’s what happened to me during my three years LCHF.

    My appetite has dropped substantially, probably due to cutting out the T3 and adding more fat to my diet.

  13. @Meme…both, but circadian rhythm isn’t terrible; just want it better.

    Metabolic rate lowers on LCHF because fat mass is less. Less fat = less leptin. Shrinking fat cells = less leptin. Less leptin = hypoleptinemia = lower T3, higher Rt3, among other things.

    I’m not surprised when people feel better eating carbs after experiencing hypoleptinemia. More carbs = more insulin = growing fat cells which produce leptin. Raises T3, but that’s because they’re getting fatter.

  14. Hi SWOT…I’ve been trying to address my circadian rhythm too. I just had a bunch of blood work done, everything is stellar. According to my thyroid panel I have completely CURED my “Hashimoto’s thyroid disease”.

    I’m still having a hard time wrapping my head around this. I’ve been on various forms of thyroid medication for 17 years. Every Endocrinologist I have ever seen said it was a lifelong condition. That does not appear to be the case and my doc won’t renew my prescription.

    I had already weaned myself off the meds because I felt I was getting too much (insomnia/disrupted circadian sleep cycle stuff/insane hunger). I had NO idea a thyroid gland could regenerate or be resurrected after so many years of exogenous hormones….never even heard of such a thing.

    I did get fatter (MUCH fatter) back when I added carbs back in to my diet after being LCHF/keto for so long, but I lost that fat two years ago and have been stable ever since. So far so good, even with no thyroid meds.

    I still want to lose 8 to 10 pounds, but I’m thinking that my wonky sleep for the last several months has something to do with being stuck.

    Ionic magnesium in mega doses (like 300 mg 3 times a day) is working wonders for deep sleep and muscle relaxation…..I’ve heard it takes months to replenish a magnesium deficiency, I’m hoping this is another major piece to the puzzle.

    According to many experts, most Americans are magnesium deficient. Do you find that to be true?

    I was never able to tolerate magnesium supplements until I got my gut issues fixed….I suspect that I’ve been deficient in this super important mineral for years due to gut infection and a lack of magnesium in the soil and food supply.

Leave a Reply

