Done with HW

I started having heart palpitations again yesterday, despite a dietary intake of about 5000mg of potassium and 600mg magnesium.  I’m done with this.  I don’t like the idea of taking these stimulant laxatives any longer.  Turpentine is sounding more and more promising.  So I’m going to stop taking Humaworm.  After a few days of letting my GI system stabilize I may give the Turp a try.

Or maybe I’ll just stop all of this and be content that I can eat about 50% of the foods I want to eat, take some probiotics and call it a day.  Maybe it’s time to start working on my spiritual and emotional world.  I have neglected them in favor of this wild goose chase of physiology.  I’m not a doctor.  I don’t know what the hell I’m doing.  I’ve made very little progress, and the progress I have made has been undoing the damage I’ve done by trying to fix stuff.

Maybe it’s time for a break.

Or maybe I just need more sleep.  I haven’t slept well since HW.

Whatever.  I’ve been up since 2AM and it’s time for a nap.

2 thoughts on “Done with HW

  1. Hi Lanie….My opinion is that you need to be getting 900 mg. of magnesium (in an ionic non-gut irritating form) and at least 1500 mg. of calcium along with your potassium….DAILY.

    I realize you aren’t fond of salt, but I wonder if pushing a lot more salt would help shut down some of those stress hormones.

    From RP’s article Salt, Energy, Metabolic Rate and Longevity:
    “The increase of adrenalin caused by salt restriction has many harmful effects, including insomnia. Many old people have noticed that a low sodium diet disturbs their sleep, and that eating their usual amount of salt restores their ability to sleep. The activity of the sympathetic nervous system increases with aging, so salt restriction is exacerbating one of the basic problems of aging. Chronically increased activity of the sympathetic (adrenergic) nervous system contributes to capillary leakage, insulin resistance (with increased free fatty acids in the blood), and degenerative changes in the brain (Griffith and Sutin, 1996).

    The thermogenic effects of sodium can be seen in long-term studies, as well as short. A low-sodium diet accelerates the decrease in heat production that normally occurs with aging, lowering the metabolic rate of brown fat and body temperature, and increasing the fat content of the body, as well as the activity of the fat synthesizing enzyme (Xavier, et al., 2003).

    Activation of heat production and increased body temperature might account for some of the GABA-like sedative effects of increased sodium. Increasing GABA in the brain increases brown fat heat production (Horton, et al., 1988). Activation of heat production by brown fat increases slow wave sleep (Dewasmes, et al., 2003), the loss of which is characteristic of aging. (In adult humans, the skeletal muscles have heat-producing functions similar to brown fat.)”

    Senna might be irritating your intestine or other ingredients in HW. Peat says an irritated gut lining will raise serotonin and in susceptible people this can also cause brain issues (mood/sleep), but serotonin too affects the lining of your blood vessels causing them to contract.

    Too much fiber or the wrong kinds of fiber will cause issues, 95% of your serotonin (definitely NOT the happy hormone) is made in your intestines…..you already know this and everyone’s tolerance is different, but an irritated gut also happens to absorb less desperately needed nutrients.

  2. I think the problem was actually the activated charcoal – I think it was absorbing all my minerals. I’m trying the HW without the charcoal for a few days to see how it goes. I did forego the charcoal for one day and got moody but maybe that was a coincidence. BTW I love salt…LOVE IT. It just makes my blood pressure higher, and now that I’m not taking the HCTZ I’m trying to be careful with things that increase my BP.

    I don’t know if Peat is right about all that serotonin stuff.

Leave a Reply

