Recovery

I’m almost done being sick.  Eye infection is retreating.

I tried something different yesterday.  I went out to eat at a restaurant that has amazing bread.  I decided to give it a try, having eaten only non-serotonin-producing foods the rest of the day.  So I had a couple pieces of bread.  This time, instead of waiting until I felt an immune system reaction I just went ahead and took a PN serotonin drop at about an hour after the meal, and then another 5 minutes later.  I then had no perceptible immune response.  No swollen/sore tongue.  Today no mood symptoms.

So maybe the best way to use these is to catch the immune system response while it is still imperceptible but likely to be occurring.

I’ve been wondering for a long time why Ray Peat’s ideas about serotonin conflict with the those of rest of the world.  Peat says serotonin is bad.  World says it’s good.  Is it possible Peat himself has a poor response to serotonin the way I do?  Maybe – like so many other things (e.g., bacteria, pollen, dairy) the substance is neutral but the body of the individual organism interprets it or reacts to it differently causing responses that are good or bad.  “Eating starches and getting depressed?  That’s because serotonin is bad.”  Well, unless what’s actually happening is the immune system is launching an attack on the serotonin so there isn’t enough of it left to support normal cognitive function. It’s pretty easy to find studies that support whatever case you want to make.  In my case it seems the serotonin is OK.  My immune system is bad.  Well, confused anyway.

I have been perplexed by my own response to starches/fiber while watching my husband and daughter eat these things with no problem at all – no mood disturbance, no digestive trouble.  How can that be, if serotonin is the bad guy?  It had to be something inside of me that was causing the problem – hence my recent love affair with antimicrobials of all sorts.  I don’t know if that was misguided or not, but I do know it didn’t fix this particular problem.  Maybe it fixed the underlying problem that caused the immune system dysfunction…?  I can only hope.

I feel like a big piece of this puzzle has been solved for me.  As far as my next steps – the ones that bring me closer to health and further from metabolic syndrome – those are yet to be uncovered and implemented.  The take-away message for me is that there is no one right way.  Depression has many causes, and people tend to diagnose and treat through the lens of their own perception and history.  It would be ridiculous for me to go around telling everyone with depression that their immune system is attacking their serotonin.  Similarly, it seems ridiculous for others to assume serotonin is the bad guy for everyone.  Or carbs.  Or sugar. In most cases whatever is being vilified by the media as “bad” is indeed bad in some contexts…and great in others.

Still figuring this out.  I hope this is helpful for someone.

3 thoughts on “Recovery

  1. It just makes me suspect an underlying infection (Lyme would be my first guess), because that is the primary trigger for causing the immune system to become disregulated and launching some form of autoimmune attack, whether on thyroid, gut lining, or in your case, serotonin response. But again, standard insurance approved Lyme tests are woefully useless, producing false negatives, so don’t waste your time unless you have a skilled naturopath that knows his way around the Lyme landscape.

  2. Susie – Did your Naturopath use applied kinesiology to determine what was going on with you? I wish I could tag you like on Facebook so you would see this. LOL.

Leave a Reply

