Next Steps

My husband keeps looking at me strangely and saying, “What have you done with my wife?”

I guess my personality is more….I don’t know…pleasant or something since I got my serotonin neutralization drops.  He says I seem happier.  I do feel like I have cleared a major hurdle.  Like a mountain-sized hurdle.

Moving on to my next challenges…my hypertension, high blood sugar, and obesity.  And hot flashes.

My doc suggested L-Arginine, in addition to CoQ10 and magnesium, to address the hypertension. I’ve taken magnesium glycinate for months, and CoQ10 off and on, so I didn’t think those two by themselves would make much of a difference, but I decided to try the L-Arginine this weekend.  L-Arginine increases nitric oxide (NO), which acts as a vasodilator.  I was hesitant to try it because one of my ongoing issues is hot flashes, which Ray Peat says occur relative to the effects of NO:

When doctors are talking about diseases of the heart and circulatory system, it’s common for them to say that estrogen is protective, because it causes blood vessels to relax and dilate, improving circulation and preventing hypertension. The fact that estrogen increases the formation of nitric oxide, a vasodilator, is often mentioned as one of its beneficial effects. But in the case of hot flashes, dilation of the blood vessels is exactly the problem, and estrogen is commonly prescribed to prevent the episodic dilation of blood vessels that constitutes the hot flash. Nitric oxide increases in women in association with the menopause (Watanabe, et al., 2000), and it is increased by inflammation, and hot flushes are associated with various mediators of inflammation, but, as far as I can tell, no one has measured the production of nitric oxide during a hot flash. Inhibitors of nitric oxide formation reduce vasodilation during hot flushes (Hubing, et al., 2010).

So I tried the L-Arginine, knowing full well it would increase NO, but still wanting to try.  Well, it made my hot flashes worse and more frequent.  So, done with that experiment. Currently my blood pressure is hovering around 140/90.  Not good enough, but probably not going to kill me today.

Peat advocates maintaining higher blood sugar and using progesterone to address hot flashes.  Still having a bottle of Progest E in my refrigerator, I decided maybe we should try this again.  So I took a few drops before bed (10mg).

 

6 thoughts on “Next Steps

  1. SWOT – Where does Woo get her information? Peat may not be perfect but at least he cites a bunch of sources at the end of his rants. I didn’t read all of this – I couldn’t get past all the stuff about progesterone being bad for embryos. After several years of trying to conceive and dealing with infertility I finally got pregnant in 2009 using artificial insemination. Beginning at the moment of conception I was prescribed 600mg of progesterone per day by my reproductive endocrinologist – the guy who spends all day every day helping infertile women get and stay pregnant. Woo is wrong.

  2. Jack Kruse cites too. Do you follow him? And Peat goes against virtually every other sane source regarding things like fructose.

    Woo is showing anecdotal observations the E is high at the beginning which stops appetite and causes morning sickness to prevent the embryo from being exposed to toxins in food when it is more susceptible to external toxins. She’s right that high hcg is how those women don’t stay hungry on 500kcal a day on the hcg from hcg suppressing appetite from high E and low P. Once the placenta develops, there is protection on the fetus and E drop, P goes up and you get a high insulin and cortisol constant assault in you turning into a ravenous feeding machine to support the growing fetus.

    She wasn’t giving fertility advice.

    I know someone on a Mirena IUD, which is just a constant P drip. They of slowly fatter and their T2d got worse and worse.

  3. Notice P doesn’t start climbing much till HCG drops around week 9. Before that, you might get morning sickness.

    P is anabolic.

  4. SWOT – Sometimes I talk in a direct manner that comes off sounding argumentative in text. I hope I didn’t do that in this case, but if I did I apologize. I didn’t mean to sound argumentative. I appreciate Woo’s blog a lot – she’s very bright and bold and entertaining. I just don’t think she knows more about progesterone than Ray Peat, a Ph.D. biologist who has studied reproductive hormones since the 1960s. I know you’re not a fan of Peat, and I don’t think he’s right about everything, but I think he’s right about a lot of things.

    Mirena IUD has progestins – they are not biologically identical to progesterone. I don’t know much about it but I did use progestin-only birth control (Depo Provera) at one point in my life, got fatter, felt bad, and my period never stopped till I got off it a few months later. Bad shit. I have not had that experience with natural progesterone.

    You probably know I don’t have a lot of respect for Jack Kruse – he cites in a sloppy manner, at times copying and pasting someone’s entire curriculum vitae and calling that his “cites” section. The fact that Kruse cites poorly does not mean that no one needs to cite their sources if they want to be taken seriously. I have a problem with Ray Peat on this subject too, who provides citations but not always within the body of his writing. The whole purpose of providing citations is to make it clear which ideas are backed by science or other reputable sources, and which are one’s own ideas.

    For what it’s worth, Paul Jaminet does a nice job of citing sources. But I can’t eat his diet.

Leave a Reply

