Low-Histamine Life Day 4

Happy New Year.  I’m looking forward to 2017.  I’m approaching 5 years with this blog.  My health isn’t better yet, but I think it would be worse if I hadn’t embarked on this journey with you guys.  My resolutions this year: More dancing, more traveling, and more laughing.

I started a low-histamine diet on 12/29, making today Day 4. I’ve been keeping a log of the things I eat and the reactions I have to them.  I suppose here is as good a place as any to keep track of my findings.  One thing I’ve learned is that triggers for high histamine vary a bit from person to person, so there’s value in figuring out what does and doesn’t work for you personally. Also – and I don’t know if other people have this experience – I notice that some high-histamine foods cause certain symptoms while others cause different symptoms.  Like, pork that is leftover from a previous day will make my throat itch, while bacon (even uncured) makes my inner ears itch. Smoked ham makes my girl parts itch while aged cheese makes my face itch.  Reliably!  Isn’t that interesting?  What the hell is going on there?  Don’t know…just avoiding all of it at this point.  My tongue still swells sometimes too – haven’t figured out the trigger for that yet.

I had a grass-fed steak from Trader Joe’s a couple days ago, thawed from frozen, and it made me feel terrible afterward – itchy, tired, irritable.  I had to go lie down and nap.  I guess I have no idea how long it was sitting around before it was frozen.  When I woke up I had some vanilla Haagen Dasz ice cream, which made me feel great again.  Friggen food.  The power it has over me is ridiculous.  Fortunately I’ve been off work this week so I’ve had time to experiment.

So my approach right now is not to eat low-carb, keto, Paleo, Peaty, or in accordance with any other particular paradigm.  It is ONLY to eat low-histamine.  Yes, I still have high blood sugar – I’m not dealing with that at the moment, except indirectly by trying to lower overall inflammation via histamine limitation.  Wouldn’t it be interesting to see if my blood sugar lowers without changing anything else?  Fasting blood glucose was 165 today.

And wouldn’t it be fun if eating a low-histamine whole-food diet resulted in lower physiological stress, lowered cortisol/adrenal/HPA output because of less inflammatory compounds being released into the system?  And wouldn’t it be great if that meant less hunger, lowered appetite, weight loss?  Lofty goals, but I think it’s possible.  Weight today was 207.9 – a few pounds down from my all-time high of 211.1.

Foods I’m currently tolerating with no symptoms: fresh cooked chicken (so far leftover 1 day after cooking is ok), fresh cheese (with no vinegar as an ingredient), commercial broth (organic), cooked vegetables including kale, onions, garlic, mushrooms, carrots; vanilla Haagen Dasz ice cream, egg yolks, white sugar

Foods that clearly cause symptoms (itching, mood disturbance, tachycardia, fatigue): Meat purchased frozen, aged cheese, cheese containing vinegar, chocolate, all smoked/processed meats (even “uncured” and “no nitrates” varieties),  avocado, some fresh cooked/purchased meat

Supplements I’m currently taking (I won’t change these for a while)

  • Multivitamin – 2x/day – For bioavailable B vitamins and overall health
  • Vitamin D (5000IU) – For bones/teeth and overall health
  • Vitamin K (1mg) – For bones/teeth and overall health
  • Vitamin A (5000IU) – For hormones/bones/teeth and overall health
  • CoQ10 (100mg) – For heart health, blood pressure
  • Colostrum (5-10g/day) – For gut health
  • Potassium (1000mg/day) – For blood pressure, overall health
  • Milk Thistle (150mg) – For liver health
  • Biotin (5mg) – to address hair loss
  • Magnesium Glycinate (600mg) – For overall health

Prescription Medications (for hypertension):

  • Hydrocholothiazide (25mg)
  • Methyldopa (250mg 3x/day)

It’s possible I’ll be adding a third medication for hypertension, depending on how my blood pressure looks over the next few days. To manage blood pressure I’m taking additional potassium and using no added salt.  Current blood pressure is 139/88 on the above meds, 4 days after stopping Irbesartan. It’s been hard for me to get enough potassium after eliminating histamine-causing foods like avocado, tomato juice, and OJ.  I’ve resorted to supplementation for now.

10 thoughts on “Low-Histamine Life Day 4

  1. Have you investigated selenium for MC activation? Here is one study
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23784732
    My doctor told me that the person who founded Allergy Research Group lived on the CA beach because everything bothered him and he found through his studies that selenium was what he was missing. I ordered the liquid version and put it in a dropper bottle and started taking it 3 X daily. I do not have to take that much now, but I do think it has made a difference for me.

  2. Yes, yes, yes! This is me! At one point I was having horrible MCAS symptoms from foods that I reacted to. I would have immediate diarrhea, facial flushing and heart palpitations. I’ve healed myself about 90% and here is what has worked for me:

    Culturelle probiotics- l. Rhamnosus GG- 2 pills before every meal. Out of all my supplements this one has helped me the most! It has really helped my body to stop reacting to foods. It must be this specific strain of Lactobacillus rhamnosus. Other strains don’t work as well. I have been able to cut back to 1-2 pills per day as my body has calmed down.

    George’s Aloe- 1-2 ounces daily. It must be this specific brand as a lot of aloe vera juices have a lot of unwanted ingredients that aren’t good to take long term. I know that at one point you had thought you might have problems with polysaccharides but you might buy a small bottle of this and give it a try. But first you might need to take the culturelle for a few weeks to get your body to calm down and then take the aloe.

    Quercetin- 1000-2000mg per day. This helped a lot! It made me not so reactiive.

    It’s getting late and I need to sleep so I can go into more detail later if you want to know more. Good luck!

  3. Toni – What a great link. Thank you! I’m learning more about glutathione now. Interesting about the selenium. I’ve been taking a trace minerals supplement until very recently (Thorne Pic Mins) so I don’t think I’m deficient in selenium, but an interesting thought.

  4. Christe – Thank you so much for sharing this. Maybe Culturelle is the way to go. I’ve seen from several sources that l. rhamnosis is effective against histamine. I would definitely try Quercitin but it’s not advised for people with high blood pressure. So maybe down the line. Regarding Aloe, I’m just not ready to risk that yet! The depression risk is too high. Thank you again. 🙂

  5. I would second the Georges Aloe, this has been helpful for me also. Some people do not get enough of these type sugars…polysaccharides.

  6. @SWOT – Good link – thank you. I was sorry to see her say that histamine-producing bacteria in the colon feed on proteins. If it would have been fibers I would have figured out the reason for my fiber-related mood problems. Good list of foods to avoid though.

  7. Hi, Lanie. Came across your blog researching SIBO for someone. I’ve also had SIBO myself. Do you work with a functional medicine or naturopathic doctor? If you can get access to one (each state has an association of naturopathic doctor and varying restrictions on their ability to accept insurance), you should be able to get some help nutrition as well as supplement-wise. I see one here in Virginia and am feeling a lot better.

    Also, if I may suggest a general rule of thumb, try to make sure you are well hydrated by drinking around half your body weight in ounces. So, a 100lb person would drink about 50 oz every day, etc., etc. I would also recommend cutting back on caffeine if you consume it. I was never much of a coffee drinker, but would regularly drink green and black teas and not very much plain water. Caffeine can be very dehydrating! I’ve since stopped tea except for some herbal, naturally caffeine free teas. It was a process getting to caffeine free and drinking more water, but I got there! Best of luck to you!

Leave a Reply

