Low-Histamine Life – Day 5

Macadamia nuts are out.  It’s been several days since I’ve had abdominal bloating.  I had it yesterday after eating macadamia nuts.

Some low-histamine lists say nuts are fine.  Others say things like “pecans and walnuts…no.  Other nuts…yes.”  Some say all nuts are a no.  It can all be very confusing if you expect the internet to provide a road map.  I’m learning the only way to find answers is to eat one food at a time and then observe.  Macadamia bloating hit me within 15 minutes of eating them.  Apparently nuts contain Tyramine, which in excess has a similar response to excess histamine.  Whatever.  No more nuts.

Yesterday I had some fresh ribeye steak from the supermarket.  Not frozen, and I cooked it within 24 hours of purchase.  Within 30 minutes I was fatigued, itchy, and my nose was stuffed up.  I went back and looked at the sell-by date – it was January 1st.  So I had bought “fresh” meat that had been sitting in the store cooler for probably a week.  Mental note – check the “sell by” date next time and buy fresher.

I’m avoiding all condiments.  There’s very little in the way of vinegar-free or non-aged condiments anyway…but even salt is off the menu for me right now due to hypertension (and, sorry Peat-heads and Paleo friends – some people ARE salt-sensitive when it comes to blood pressure and I’m one of them).  I do miss salt.  I could eat straight salt every day of my life and never get tired of it.  But this isn’t about my preferences anymore.  Blood pressure just now: 131/82.  It seems to be working!  I don’t think I’ll be adding that calcium channel blocker.

One of the main questions I have is this….Does this histamine issue have any relation at all to the depression/irritability that I get when I eat starches and fibers?  It feels the same when my histamine is high as it does when I’ve eaten fiber.  I get angry and start yelling at people.  My tongue swells.  My spleen swells. Here’s a stretch…maybe when I eat fiber I’m stirring up the mast cells somehow, which are then dumping serotonin, cytokines, and other inflammatory compounds into my system?  Increasing cortisol and screwing with my hormones and well-being?

Maybe gut bacteria is playing a role here.  There are gut bugs that produce histamine – maybe I have a bunch of them in my gut and they feed on fiber?  What if I caused this with all of my probiotic supplementation over the last 2 years?  I know Lactobacillus casei is in the probiotic I’ve used most over the past 2 years, but so is Lactobacillus rhamnosis, which is supposed to counter histamine.  Whatever – I’ve stopped taking it.  I’m considering adding a single-strain supplement at this point, targeted for the purpose of reducing histamine and histamine-producing bacteria (such as Lactobacillus rhamnosus, Bifidobacterium infantis, Bifidobacterium longum, Lactobacillus plantarum).

Thank you so much for the comments on the last post – those have really helped as far as giving me some ideas, directions to look for treating this nonsense.

8 thoughts on “Low-Histamine Life – Day 5

  1. I found for the Culturelle to be effective I had to take two capsules 20 minutes before a meal. Basically I was flooding my body with it. I’m now fine with 1or 2 capsules a day. I’ve also branched out to other low histamine probiotics like you mention.

  2. Re..Cortisol is what counteracts, shuts down the immune response. More histamine leads to more cortisol to counteract it. More cortisol = more insulin resistance, more insulin, more metabolic syndrome, less endorphin and serotonin.

  3. BTW, I agree with the idea there is an “overflow” limit that sets off histamine response. When I eat wheat, I get histamine responses to it. Last spring, I had the worst hay fever since childhood thanks to my wheat indulgence. Absent wheat, I don’t react to other allergens. Wheat’s cousin, spelt, doesn’t affect me at all.

  4. SWOT – Thanks for the link – good stuff.

    Christe – I started taking Culturelle yesterday. Mood was great, for the first time in weeks. Coincidence?

  5. Thats great! Culturelle has been a godsend for me. I had taken it a few years ago but only one cap a day and didn’t notice a difference. So when I got serious and started taking 2caps before each meal is when I really noticed a big difference!

  6. I took 1 capsule before each meal yesterday and so far today. And both days my mood is amazing! I’m going to stay at 1 cap 3x/day for now – I hate to mess with something that’s working!

Leave a Reply

