Supplements

I’ve decided that one of the best things I can do for myself is to start limiting unnecessary supplements and medications.  The calcium channel blocker that my doctor was about to use next for me is on the list of medications that increase histamine release and/or block DAO (enzyme) production, leading to overall higher histamine.  By not taking it I’m avoiding that.  Got me thinking….of my current supplement/medication regimen, what else don’t I need?

I probably don’t need the biotin anymore.  I started taking that when my hair was falling out 18 months ago after 6 months of very low carb dieting.  Now, hair not falling out.  Is it because I’m no longer eating low carb?  Or is it because of the biotin?  I’m guessing the former.  Some of my Peat-friends banter about the benefits of biotin – I’ve seen some say that it can be helpful for reducing insulin resistance.  I haven’t personally had that experience.  Maybe it’s time to remove that one.

The other thing I’m not sure about is the CoQ10.  I hate to remove that one because my doctor and the rest of the world all seem to think it’s beneficial for heart health and general wellness.  I just haven’t noticed anything one way or the other since I’ve started taking it.  I’m currently taking a semi-cruddy brand, but even back when I was spending a dollar a pill on CoQ10 I didn’t notice anything.  Maybe I’ll finish off the bottle.

I added Culturelle probiotics yesterday (h/t to Christe).  Culturelle is L. Rhamnosus GG  – one of the strains of probiotic bacteria that is suppose to help degrade histamine produced in the gut.  Other probiotics that do this are B. Infantis, B. Longum, and L. Plantarum.  (Probiotics that create histamine and therefore should be avoided are L casei, L reuteri and L bulgaricus.)  (Sorry, no time to dig up links at the moment to make this more credible.)

2 thoughts on “Supplements

  1. Thanks, Toni – Looking forward to checking these out. Verapamil is the medication my doc was about to put me on.

Leave a Reply

