Culturelle

I can honestly say that of all of the supplements I’ve taken over the last 5 years, none has had as dramatic and immediate an impact as Culturelle probiotics. That sounds like an ad.  But seriously – I’ll be rolling along fine, not great but fine, and I take one of these Culturelle probiotics and within a couple hours I feel ridiculously happy, calm, and alert.  I start walking around with a smile on my face for no reason, and it lasts for hours.  It’s that sort of blissful happy that I had after following the NBT plan for a couple months (2 years ago).  It’s been a very long time since I’ve felt this way, and it turned right on with Culturelle.  I’ve been taking it 3x a day – 1 capsule 15-20 minutes before each meal.

I can only assume this has something to do with my gut flora.  I think a good chunk of my mood problems have had to do with histamine being high, and the L. Rhamnosus GG (apparently the “GG” is the strain, which is important) in Culturelle is degrading some of that histamine in the gut.

Now, being of scientific mind, I have asked myself, “How do you know it’s the Culturelle having this effect, and not the fact that you’ve been following a lower-histamine diet for a week now?”  Well, here’s my answer to that.  On Monday night – 3 days ago – I went out to eat and had seafood and tomatoes in my meal.  There was very little on the menu that was low-histamine, and I didn’t have any of my DAO supplements on me at the time, so I just did the best I could.  At the end of the meal my nose was stuffed up, I was having more intense hot flashes, and I was feeling a little itchy.  So, clearly a histamine reaction.  The next morning I started taking Culturelle, and within an hour my mood was spectacular.  So I don’t think the mood was due to my meticulously following a low-histamine diet for the previous 3 or 4 days….because I hadn’t been.

When I bought the Culturelle (over the counter at the corner drugstore) they had 2 kinds:  Culturelle Health & Wellness Daily Immune Support Formula and Culturelle Pro Well 3 in 1 Complete Formula.  It was Buy 1 Get 1 50% off so I bought one of each.  I notice that the former – the Health & Wellness formula gives me that really happy feeling, and the other one doesn’t.  The latter is just neutral.  The Health & Wellness formula has 15 billion CFUs of priobiotic, vitamin C, and sodium (and of course other inactive ingredients).  The 3 in 1 formula has 10 billion CFUs, vitamin C, sodium, and fish oil – including 70mg Omega 3 oil.  Huh…well, I like the one without the fish oil.

Weight as of today, to 206.4 – That’s about 5 pounds down from a month ago when I was stopped taking hydrocortisone, and about 2 pounds down from a week ago when I started eating low-histamine.  I asked my doctor in December if hydrocortisone could cause weight gain. He said, “Yes, if you’re taking more than you need.”  So apparently 5mg 3x a day was more than I need.  I’m becoming very opposed to unnecessary medication at this point.  At least some of my health issues have been caused by trying to fix my other health issues. I’d like to point out that I’m not counting calories or macros.  This shift in weight is due to manipulating hormones.

Anyway….high histamine?  Try Culturelle.  It’s kind of awesome.

11 thoughts on “Culturelle

  1. I suspect the euphoria has more to do with the 5ht and endorphin boost from the gut flora.

  2. SWOT – Can you say more about that? Why would this probiotic in particular have that effect on 5HT and endorphins?

  3. In particular? I don’t think the research is really there yet in terms of which strains are better at making 5HT than others. That said, Histamine reactions raising cortisol–whether from specific bacteria or foods–would otherwise negate the 5HT effects produced from the good guys. Sounds like you found a good guy. If you want to test, without the probiotic, buy a 5-HTP supplement and see what happens.

  4. BTW, you might want to look at bitter melon supplements for lowering blood sugar. I’ve seen some really good anectdotes about it working even better than metformin.

  5. But you took Elixa, yeah? It has that probiotic, and excludes the ones you mentioned in a previous post that would increase histamine. Did Elixa give you the same effect?

  6. No, I felt nothing from Elixa, Prescript Assist, Primal Defense, VSL3, or any of the others I tried. Elixa has changed their formulation – I took version 1, and they’re now up to version 3. Not sure what was in there when I took it.

  7. Ok, I can’t link to it at the moment but it looks like the formulation I took contained L. Casei, which produces histamine, as well as a few others that have since been dropped.

Leave a Reply

