Recovery

I feel like I’ve taken a giant leap toward recovery.  My depression is gone.  I ate an apple yesterday with no negative mood consequences!  A month ago I ate a small slice of an apple and was irritable and tired 3 hours later.  Yesterday I felt great all day.

I feel like it’s important to nurture my new L. Rhamnosus GG bacteria by giving them something to eat, so I’m adding fiber right away.  I’ve been dying for this!  I can actually eat healthy food now.  I’m so tired of eating meat all day long, and my body isn’t happy about it either.  I think meat can be a PART of a healthy diet, but a standalone – substituting for everything else?  I don’t think so.  Yesterday I had eggs and gluten-free toast for breakfast (first slice of toast in about a year), and then soup and an apple for lunch…and then I didn’t eat again for 4 hours.  4 glorious hours….I couldn’t believe I could go so long without my blood sugar crashing and making me desperate to eat.   Then I realized…that’s the power of fiber!  It actually keeps you from having to eat every 2 hours.  Maybe my perpetual hunger will drop now.

As much as I’d like to sit around and celebrate right now, I do have other work to do.   Recent issues:

  • I had to go on a third blood pressure medication last week….and still my b/p isn’t awesome.  It went up when I gained weight, and I haven’t managed to lose the weight again yet.
  • Went to the dentist a week ago.  No cavities, thankfully, but my gums were in worse shape than the previous visit.  I asked what the hell happened.  The dentist said, “Well, you’re likely to see more of this when you have Diabetes.”  Really?
  • Had an eye infection last week…went to the optometrist, who gave me antibiotic drops.  He said, “This kind of thing becomes more common when you have Diabetes.”  Huh.

My fasting blood sugar has been in the 160s a lot lately.   Too high, but I haven’t had a lot of options lately.  Because I couldn’t eat starches or fiber, it was eat meat all day long and suffer blood sugar crashes every 2 hours, or add sugar to my diet (which I did).  I’m not sure what I’m going to do now that I can eat fiber….maybe a Terry Wahls-type diet?  Is my gut ready for 9 servings of colorful fruits and vegetables?  Or how about the potato diet?  If I can get my weight down at least one of the above problems will improve – maybe more.  Exercise is a possibility now too, without the fatigue that came with the depression.

So many options.  I couldn’t be more grateful.

4 thoughts on “Recovery

  1. I am so happy the Culturelle is working! I’m still not 100% but the Culturelle has made a huge difference and I’ll take that over how I was feeling before.

  2. Christe – I know – I’m still off in the ditch with my health but my mood is stellar now! I am so grateful to you for your recommendation. I love the commenters on this blog – you all have helped me so much.

Leave a Reply

