Topical Steroid for LS – Week 2

It’s been two weeks since I started using Halobetasol, a topical steroid ointment, to treat Lichen Sclerosus (LS).   I was told by my gynecologist to use it twice a day for 1 month, then once a day for a month, then every other day, and eventually twice a week for the rest of my life.  I’ve been learning a lot more about LS over the past week.  This video by Andrew Goldstein, M.D. is excellent (but be aware it contains pictures of female anatomy and surgery, which are not appropriate for all audiences):

Lichen Sclerosus: The Unspoken Pain from Charles Runels, MD on Vimeo.

This doc seems to specialize in LS – or at least knows a lot about it – and says that before applying the steroid ointment you should be soaking the area in water for 15-20 minutes to soften the top layer of the skin so the medication can penetrate to the lower layers that actually need it.  So just yesterday I started twice-daily baths.  A little inconvenient, but we do what we have to do.

My overall health continues to improve.  I’ve now lost 22 pounds since the end of January.  Yesterday I ate a hot dog (nitrate free) and some potato chips (Boulder Canyon, made with coconut oil) – and still down a pound today, which would not have been the case before taking the steroid.  Take a look at my fasting blood sugar:

fbg

It seems to be recovering much more quickly since starting the steroid.  It’s now in the 90s, down from 150s and 160s in January.  Looks like walking lots of steps didn’t do me any favors, at least not with regard to fasting blood glucose – maybe it helped with post-prandial glucose, but I wasn’t testing that.

All of this leads me to believe that inflammation is at the root of my obesity and diabetes.  Not “food reward”.  Not gluttony.  Not laziness.  Inflammation.  Brought on by an autoimmune disease I had never heard of a month ago.   And what brought that on?  That is still to be determined.

So stop picking on fat people, world!  Fat is not a character flaw.  It’s a symptom.

Just checked my blood pressure – 131/80.  Not bad, but not good enough to get off another medication yet.

Leave a Reply

