HbA1C and Prolactin

I had some lab work done – still waiting for some of it, but here’s what I have so far:

HbA1C Feb 2015 Dec 2015 May 2017
6.7 6.4 5.9

In February 2015 I had a routine HbA1C test done – essentially a summary of my blood sugar over the previous 3 months.  With a result of 6.7, that test earned me a diagnosis of Type 2 diabetes, and the doctor prescribed me Metformin.  I took it for like a week, didn’t like the side effects, and stopped taking it, determined to control my blood sugar with diet instead.  And I did for a while there, with low carb.  However, as soon as I stopped low-carbing my blood sugar shot back up again (and I had to stop low-carbing because I started feeling like crap eating that way long term).  Over the last 4 months I’ve been eating high carb, low fat.   My blood sugar has been well-controlled on this plan, and my fasting blood glucose is routinely in the 80s now.  Here’s a graph of my fasting blood sugar since January:

fbg

For a minute there I thought the steroid I was taking for Lichen Sclerosus was helping my blood sugar somehow, but it was already trending down before I started that.

Anyway, good news – my A1C is below the diabetic range now (which is generally considered a A1C of 6.5 or higher), and I’m firmly in the PRE diabetic range.  I expect that to be a thing of the past too, the next time I test.

So isn’t this interesting?  It’s almost as if carbohydrates don’t actually cause diabetes.  Poor carbs…always getting blamed for everything these days.

Here’s what I’ve learned about myself – I can eat high carb/low fat and my blood sugar will be well-controlled.  I can low carb/high fat and my blood sugar will be well controlled.  What I CAN’T do is eat high carb/high fat.  When I do that my blood sugar trends up and suddenly I’m diabetic again.

Ray Peat talks about the Randle Cycle, and I’ve referenced it in this blog before.  Here it is again:

The antagonism between fat and sugar that Randle described can involve the suppression of sugar oxidation when the concentration of fats in the bloodstream is increased by eating fatty food, or by releasing fats from the tissues by lipolysis, but it can also involve the suppression of fat oxidation by inhibiting the release of fatty acids from the tissues, when a sufficient amount of sugar is eaten.

Readers Digest version: Sugar and fat compete.  Choose one and go with it.

I choose sugar.

So…is my improvement in blood glucose due to eating low fat?  or is it due to improving my gut microbiome with Culturelle Probiotics?  I changed both variables in January….so it’s hard to say.

Last thing – I tested my prolactin, to evaluate whether or not that may have increased since starting Verapamil for high blood pressure, and if so, whether that may be contributing to autoimmunity, as I described here.

Prolactin in March 2014 – 5.4 (range 4.8-23.3)

Prolactin in May 2017 – 5.9 (range 4.8-23.3)

So not much change there.  Can’t really blame prolactin for tipping me over into autoimmunity.

Tomorrow:  A snapshot of exactly what I’m eating these days.

6 thoughts on “HbA1C and Prolactin

  1. I’d say ii has more to do with your weight loss. Chronic positive energy balance will worsen metabolic syndrome, and negative energy balance will lessen it regardless of macro ratios. However fat+carbs are more insulinogenic than either by themselves, so if cortisol and insulin levels drop, leptin sensitivity improves, appetite drops, you enter negative balance lose weight and metabolic markers improve.

  2. Low carbing also messes up your thyroid and then you need the steroids… LDL climbs. Keeping thyroid high would utilize LDL to make the steroids. Long term use of corticosteroids can be disastrous. Try progestE locally? Prolactin is good. Sugars seem way better. Whew 🙂

  3. SWOT – That could be the case, that the negative energy balance is causing the improvement in blood sugar. So I’ve changed 3 things now – new probiotic, lost weight, and changed diet to low fat. Regarding Peat not writing anything new….The Randle Cycle isn’t his idea in the first place – that’s him referencing someone else’s idea. So, agreed. 🙂

  4. N2P – I’ve been thinking about Progest E locally. I’m a little scared what will happen if I don’t follow the doctor’s recommendations. I think there’s already been “structural” damage from this disease – I don’t want it to progress. Currently I’m weaning way down on the dose of the steroids. Maybe as I wean off I’ll ramp up on the progesterone. I truly hate treating symptoms, and the steroid ointment is causing some side effects to surrounding healthy skin. Thanks for the comment – haven’t heard from you in a while!

  5. @new2paleo, you need to cite sources that differentiate that low carb causes dropped thyroid vs. the cause being the weight loss itself. All the evidence suggests association/correlation, not direct causation. All weight loss causes leptin insufficiency, which causes T3 levels to tank, it’s just people often can diet longer on a low carb and reach a lower weight before hunger sets in, so it can be demonstrated the T3 drop has more to do with the success of the diet causing greater weight loss over a longer period of time. I’d like you show some direct evidence that low carb causes thyroid independent of the fat/weight loss.

    Regarding sugar, I’m sure peat can find plenty of studies peddling it being benign, but if you dig deeper, you’ll find they’re usually the ones sponsored by the food industry.

Leave a Reply

